Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another encouraging book by Laura V. Hilton
Laura does a great job not only in details of the story line to bring a book to life, but in the characters relating to real life. We all want to follow our hearts in the gifts God has given to us, just like Shanna did in this book, but can she find a way to use her gifts in her Amish faith, or does she have to leave behind all she knows and her family?

I...
Published on August 23, 2011 by adoptive mommy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars simple story
Nice young people with mild dialogue. I don't often read these so seemed simplistic. Maybe it's for preteens. That's it!
Published 8 months ago by Philip Bergstresser


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another encouraging book by Laura V. Hilton, August 23, 2011
This review is from: Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour) (Paperback)
Laura does a great job not only in details of the story line to bring a book to life, but in the characters relating to real life. We all want to follow our hearts in the gifts God has given to us, just like Shanna did in this book, but can she find a way to use her gifts in her Amish faith, or does she have to leave behind all she knows and her family?

I really loved this book! Shanna's feelings towards her family, Matthew and even her Amish faith will draw you in! I could not put this book down!

I was provided with a copy of this book for my review, but was not required to give a positive review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story with a different sort of message, November 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour) (Paperback)
I read this book so quickly because I couldn't put it down. This is book two of The Amish of Seymour series.
Matthew Yoder moves from Pennsylvania to Missouri in a swap of men to introduce new men into the community. He stays with a family who's daughter, Shanna left into the English world to pursue a nursing degree and career but returns home for the summer. Her father is stubborn and harsh and has doubts that Shanna will stay. Matthew works hard to give Shanna a reason to stay but she's worked too hard for her dream to just walk away and stay. She decides after an emergency she couldn't possibly stay and while trying to run away runs into Matthew and the bishop and is forced to make a decision between her two worlds that she thought she already made.

Normally, the bishops in the Amish books don't understand, won't tolerate, and are unmoving ,everything is either black or white. This bishop gave options and at first was the typical bishop I'm used to in these stories but he showed he was human which allowed Shanna to grow in her faith whether she stayed or left the community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done, Laura, September 1, 2011
This review is from: Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour) (Paperback)
just finished reading Harvest of Hearts by Laura V. Hilton and found it to be a fast-paced follow-up to her debut, Patchwork Dreams. In this delightful second of the series, kindhearted Matthew Yoder participates in a swap of Amish men. He leaves the farmland of Lancaster County behind for new opportunities awaiting him in Missouri. But meeting Shanna, a nursing student home on summer vacation, offers more complications than he bargained for. Shanna left her Old Order Amish community during rumschpringe, vowing never to return. Still strong-minded and independent, Shanna plans only to save money and return to college in the fall. But her love of family and faith in God inexorably draws her back into the fold. Laura Hilton has created characters that leap off the page. Her scenes offer vivid imagery, allowing us to escape into the wholesome world of the Amish. I thoroughly enjoyed Harvest of Hearts, and look forward to book three in Hilton's Amish of Seymour series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harvest of Hearts, August 27, 2011
This review is from: Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour) (Paperback)
In reading this story the reader gets to know two unique characters and their journey in finding themselves and what they want in life. The obstacles they go through seem real and make the ending even more gratifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can a rumspringer jump the fence back into Amish life?, October 17, 2014
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Laura V. Hilton's 5-star success with recent novels, including "White Christmas in Webster County", inspired readers like me to visit her earlier works. Seymour Amish were neighbors of those in her Webster County series. Fortunately, Hilton is accomplished enough in her writing that it is not a problem to back-track and pick up older books by this author. Warning: once started, expect to have a Laura V. Hilton section on your bookshelf &/or e-reader. Amish family friendly, ain't so?

I am glad I have the entire series, and did not have to wait for months to read book two of The Amish of Seymour. "A Harvest of Hearts" offers a protagonist male, Matthew, a friend of Jacob in book #1, both from Lancaster Co. PA, who also arrived for the purpose of a planned boy-trade among Amish districts. New male blood in the districts; young men looking for love, a frau, & a family beginning. Matthew is immediately smitten with Shanna. She's fated to return to her Amish home for a summer after jumping the fence for an Englischer college education as yet incomplete. Their relationship is like a collision. She staggers hot to cold, like a tea kettle unattended. Will she jump back across the fence into the slow-paced life after her taste of Englischer luxury? Can she convince Matthew he'll grow better blueberries as a Mennonite?

She has another option of permanent association with the widower Amos (one of many characters introduced in book 1), daed of 7 sons from 3 deceased fraus. Is he a beater, a killer, or simply a man in need? Shanna's beholden to him after wrecking his buggy with her car. And who put the Cappuccino in chocolate chip cookies?
Ach, conflict everywhere lips go.
Plus there is Annie, & Nate, & Ruth, & Ach!
Wunderbarr gut believable closing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping Dreams Alive!, January 6, 2012
This review is from: Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour) (Paperback)
Matthew Yoder came to Missouri from Lancaster County, Pennsylvania in a swap of Amish men. His desire to come to Missouri is to start a fresh life. Matthew is taken in by the Stoltzfus family until he is able to acquire a place of his own. He works for Levi Stoltzfus in Levi's furniture business.

Shanna Stoltzfus's dream is to become a nurse. She knew that her Amish upbringing would not allow her to further her education so she left home during her rumschpringe to pursue her dream. Shanna knew that leaving home would devastate her family especially her Mom.

During Shanna's summer break from college she decides to go home for the summer hoping her Dad will allow her to stay. Shanna knows that her Mom will welcome her with open arms but will her Dad tell her to leave? Shanna's Dad allows her to stay letting her live in the apartment in the barn that belongs to her Uncle. Her Uncle and his wife are traveling and won't be back until the fall so it is a perfect set up for Shanna especially since the apartment has electricity.

Matthew and Shanna seem to be attracted to each other from the very first meeting. They both wish to be friends but nothing more.

Matthew soon discovers that he wants more than friendship from Shanna. He knows that can't be possible as long as Shanna continues to live Englisch. If only she were to come home for good and join the church then he could court her. His desire is to marry Shanna. Would he be able to leave the Amish faith for Shanna if she stayed Englisch?

Shanna too is wanting more than friendship from Matthew. Would she be able to give up her dream of becoming a nurse to settle down and join the church in hopes of becoming Matthew's wife?

There is a lot of raw emotion going on in this book. There are feelings of insecurity, feelings of not being loved and feelings of not being wanted. The Author does an excellent job of showing how "God's Will" comes through not only for Matthew and Shanna but for the Amish community as a whole.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was another page turner for me. I love getting lost in the pages of a good book. This was one of them! I am looking forward to reading the third book in this series, "Promised to Another". I know I will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Harvest Of Hearts, December 28, 2013
In the second book Harvest Of Hearts Laura spins off from book 1Patchwoirk Dreams. Matthew Yoder comes in a swap of men to bring new life into the small town, He goes to work for the father of Shanna who is taking a break from being Amish and is in collage for nursing. Shanna comes home for the summer not knowing if she will be accepted.It is rough at first but the love her family has for God and family works things out, Laura brings theses people alive to you, so much you want to stop and pray for them.Matthew has his hands full with Shanna as she treats him as she would a English man, teasing and tempting. But his faith and morals keep him strong. The town needs Shannas help with the midwife and other things concerning health. so its up to her where she comes back marry Matthew and helps her people, i highly recommend this book. and give it a 5 star, i have read many Amish books but these two are the best i have ever read. i have book 3 Promised to Another and i cant wait to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one the writer explains it welll, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour) (Paperback)
Love the plots in this one and could relate to a few areas from this book and look forward to many more like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harvest of Hearts, October 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour) (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my mother-in-law for Christmas last year. She loved it and wanted the follow-up book. I am not a reader, but I would recommend it to anyone that is a reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful story..., September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author has a style that makes reading her books so enjoyable!!!! I cannot wait to read more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour)
Harvest Of Hearts (Amish of Seymour) by Laura V. Hilton (Paperback - August 16, 2011)
$12.99 $11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.