Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanna-Barbara is flipped on it's head
Harvey Birdman is an old HB character that Adult Swim (late nights on Cartoon Network)decided to give a face-lift to. Harvey didn't quite hack it as a superhero, but he knows enough about the law to be dangerous! Harvey tries cases of former/current HB characters including Fred Flintstone, Shaggy and Scooby, Dynomutt, and Speed Buggy. The episodes include:...
Published on April 15, 2005 by Shaz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very good
Clever at times, but a little too meandering at others. Not as funny as other Adult Swim shows of the era, which probably is why it didn't develop the fan following of an "Aqua Teen Hunger Force" or a "Sealab 2021," nor survive as long. Good collection here, with a few extras.
Published 14 months ago by The Phantom


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanna-Barbara is flipped on it's head, April 15, 2005
By 
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Harvey Birdman is an old HB character that Adult Swim (late nights on Cartoon Network)decided to give a face-lift to. Harvey didn't quite hack it as a superhero, but he knows enough about the law to be dangerous! Harvey tries cases of former/current HB characters including Fred Flintstone, Shaggy and Scooby, Dynomutt, and Speed Buggy. The episodes include:

BANNON CUSTODY BATTLE: Remember Jonny Quest? It seems his dad, Dr. Quest and his "partner" Race Bannon are involved in a grueling custody battle over Jonny and little Hadji. Prosecuting attorney Vulturo seems to be winning until Harvey discovers some evidence that may put him over the top.

VERY PERSONAL INJURY: Apache Chief has an embarassing incident with a large cup of very hot coffee from a local coffee chain . He hires Harvey as his attorney to sue Javalux, as he no longer can "grow large at will" after the accident. Prosecuting attorney Reducto has a scheme up his sleeve to help Chief get his teepee back and win the case.

SHAGGY BUSTED: In one of the funniest episodes, we see the Mystery Machine being pulled over via a camera from a cop car (much like "COPS"). Shaggy and Scooby need a good lawyer to beat the charges of smoking pot (always implied, never stated)and Harvey takes the case. Ex-Thespian Prosecuter Spyro not only tries the case, but performs in a stirring rendition of the events of the night in question.

DEATH BY CHOCOLATE: Yogi and Boo-Boo find themselves in a heap of trouble when the ATF swarm their cave and arrest Boo-Boo on charges that he is the terrorist known as "The Unabooboo". Obviously, they need a good lawyer, but Harvey Birdman will do.

SHOYU WEENIE: Jabberjaw and the Neptunes are being sued by a Japanese pop band called Shoyu Weenie for stealing their hit song. Harvey's paralegal Peanut takes the opportunity to hit on the band's female member and finds a way to save the day.

THE DABBA DON: This is my all-time favorite episode. Opening with the theme from "The Sopranos", Fred Flinstone seeks Harvey's advice to expand "a few small businesses". Everything seems to be on the up and up until a few details tie Fred in with the Mob. The episode features my favorite judge Mentok the Mind Taker.

DEADOMUTT, PARTS I and II: Blue Falcon joins the firm as a hot new attorney with his pal DynoMutt in tow. Harvey, crushed that Falcon swooped in and stole the open position of 'partner' from under him, doesn't even try to hide his jealousy and dislike for Falcon, and figures he'd be nothing without DynoMutt to do all his work for him. Now Harvey has a lot of explaining to do when DynoMutt is found mangled up in the copy machine. Harvey is arrested, tried and sentenced to be electrocuted. It's up to Peanut to come to the rescue armed with evidence and heavy sarcasm.

X, THE EXTERMINATOR: X the Eliminator has his memory jarred when he sees and ad with Harvey and his new law firm. Apparently, he was supposed to kill Harvey years ago but never finished him off. Now, he poses as X the Exterminator to get into Harvey's building and finish the job- if he can get over the fact that Harvey barely remembers him and keeps blowing him off for a coffee date.

SPF: After years of gaining power from the sun's rays, Harvey finds a suspicious "spot" on his skin (that oddly resembles Frida Kahlo). The dermatologist insists he stay out of the sun and use a strong SPF. But Harvey becomes listless and tired, not to mention pasty as the underside of a fish. Peanut introduces him to self-tanning cream, and Harvey quickly becomes addicted to the stuff. Peanut uses the opportunity to be his SPF "Candyman", demanding more and more valuables from Harvey in exchange for the goods. It's up to the rest of the firm to throw Harvey an "intervention party".

THE DEVLIN MADE ME DO IT: Daredevil Ernie Devlin is being sued by a kid that injured himself trying one of his famous jumps. Harvey decides the kid is faking it and attacks him- in the courtroom- in his wheelchair. When that severely backfires, Harvey has to do some fancy dancing to win the case.

TRIO'S COMPANY: Harvey represents Inch-High Private Eye when the tiny detective insists he's been fired because of his smaller stature. Meanwhile, Harvey has become smitten with the trainer at his healthclub. But everyone seems to be her "friend", except him.

HIGH SPEED BUGGY CHASE: In an O.J. inspired opener, Speed Buggy gets arrested for leading the cops on a high speed chase. Harvey is hired as defender, but loses a jealous Avenger (his legal eagle assistant) to rival attorney Vulturo. Harvey is forced to downsize to a legal finch.

The DVD also features a ficticious 'movie' trailer and a lot of behind the scenes stuff. There are also auditions for Harvey with Todd Barry and Stephen Colbert (the voice of Reducto). The "Tab" soda scene from "Shaggy Busted" is shown as a video, including lyrics. And finally, deleted scenes from the 2 part episode "DeadoMutt" are here. Of all the Adult Swim cartoons, "Harvey Birdman" is definitely may favorite ("Sealab 2021" and "Aqua Teen Hunger Force" are 2nd and 3rd, repsectively). Get a taste of delicious insanity today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, February 15, 2005
By 
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
this show is very original and entertaining. Here are the specs from Adultswim.com

13 Episodes:

* Bannon Custody Battle

* Very Personal Injury

* Shaggy Busted

* Death by Chocolate

* Shoyu Weenie

* The Dabba Don

* Deadomutt Part 1

* Deadomutt Part 2

* X, The Eliminator

* SPF

* The Devlin Made Me Do It

* Trio's Company

* High Speed Buggy Chase

Special Features:

* Deleted Scenes: Deadomutt, Trio's Company

* Live Action Open

* Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law Movie Trailer

* Casting What If's: Stephen Colbert as Harvey; Todd Barry as Harvey

* Pencil Test and Final Animation: Shaggy Busted

* Tab Can Redux, with Lyrics

* The Wind Beneath His Wings (Birdman Crew Pictures)

* Commentaries: Very Personal Injury; The Dabba Don; SPF; The Devlin Made Me Do It (Producers Commentary; S&P/Legal Commentary); Trio's Company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get your credit card and buy it now, May 5, 2005
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
This show is brilliant, look I am a huge fan of animated series, I love John K's original series of Ren and Stimpy, The Simpsons (even have a Side Show Bob tattoo), Futurama, Spongebob and now Harvey. I saw a few episodes in Australia on SBS and took the plunge and bought the series and it is completely off the wall, the creators of this series deserve full credit for reworking the cartoons we grew up with. To see Scooby and Shaggy being arrested for being stoned out of their minds (perhaps they watch this show too) and other characters worked into each episode is a revelation, its very adult, very twisted and very bloody funny. Hurry up and order it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Mentok wills it so!!!", September 13, 2005
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Anyone remember Birdman? Back in the late 60's/early 70's, Birdman was a lame Hanna Barberra produced cartoon, much like Space Ghost. And like Space Ghost before him, Birdman has been re-imagined under the Cartoon Network's Adult Swim lineup as Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law. Birdman (voiced by the great Gary Cole) is a poor schmuck of a lawyer, working for his psychotic yet hilarious one eyed boss (voiced by the Daily Show's Stephen Colbert) and assisted by his winged assistant Peanut. In the course of these episodes, Birdman defends a host of assorted Hanna Barberra cartoon characters, including the Scooby Doo gang, and takes part in the custody battle of Johnny Quest. The most hilarious episode however, is entitled "The Dabba Don"; a Sopranos-style take on the Flintstones as Harvey defends Bedrock mob boss Fred Flintstone. With guest voices from Michael McKean, Peter MacNicol, and John Michael Higgins (as the hilarious Judge Mentok), Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law is off the wall hilarity at it's very best, and the sheer irreverance will leave you rolling on the floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably funny show!, April 3, 2005
By 
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
If you're old enough to remember the Hanna-Barbera cartoons of the late 60s and 70s, you simply *must* see this show! However, my teenagers love it just on its own merits. There's an ep where Dr. Quest and Race Bannon were in a custody battle for the two boys, because Dr. Quest claimed Race was unfaithful and filed a palimony suit! Then there's the one where Scooby-Doo and Shaggy were pulled over in the Mystery Machine by the police. They even had footage that looked like a cop-cam. Just try imagining Fred Flinstone as a Soprano family member...I can't wait for this DVD set to come out! The producers of this show wisely used the original voice actors that were available, which made it a much more humorous spoof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As funny as it is weird., August 15, 2005
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I first came across Birdman while on holiday in Majorca when I was 13. I remember vividly watching it with these 2 hot German twins and laughing whenever he shouted 'Bi-ii-irdMAN'. It was really, really corny. But this was back in the day when Cartoon Network didn't have much to show other than the really old-fashioned 1960's and 70's stuff. The last thing I ever imagined is that Birdman would come back in the 21st century to be re-invented as Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law at the Sebben and Sebben law firm.

He's a bit of a dunderhead. And a bighead and a sociophobe and rude but you can't help but love him. Avenger is still his sidekick (only cuter than he was previously) and his boss is Phil Ken Sebben, a one-eyed ladies man. Among the various, random people who work for the firm are Peanut (a Birdman wannabe), Peter Potamus, Reducto and a big cuddly bear who always seems to be smiling (and applauding all on his own at inappropriate moments). My fave character has to be Judge Mentok the Mindtaker (OOOOO-EEEEEE-OOOOOO-EEEEEE!!!!), he just really, really funny.

Harvey's typical cases involve him defending the likes of Shaggy and Scooby, Fred Flintstone, Boo-Boo and George Jetson. Getting in the way of cases going smoothly are and abundance of rapid-fire jokes that come at you from all angles and will probably disorientate you if you're not sure where they're coming from. Sometimes you might have to watch an episode twice as the the dialogue is usually delivered very quickly and you might lose your place among the cryptic references and wildly outlandish humor.

In truth, it's a show for Adults. Even though the jokes are only mildly suggestive there is no way a child could fully understand everything that is going on unless they are an uber-uber-geek. This is a show made for people who love stuff like Family Guy, not Spongebob Squarepants.

Oh, and I love that theme song. They must release some kind of soundtrack CD for this show. Why? Because Mentok WILLS it so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harvey Birdman, Hilarity-At-Law, May 4, 2005
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
When I put this disc into my DVD player, I was expecting something along the lines of Space Ghost: Coast to Coast. Something that was mildly entertaining, but that I could just let run in the background. Something that would not require my full attention. Something that if I just sat there and watched it, I would be bored out of my mind.

I was wrong.

Harvey Birdman: Attorney At Law could be the funniest cartoon to have been spawned by Cartoon Network's Adult Swim. The premise of the cartoon is simple. Harvey defends other cartoon characters. And they use real cartoon characters from some of your favorite childhood cartoons. Well, the ones they have rights to, anyway. This includes Super Powers' Apache Chief (in the funniest episode on the DVD), Shaggy and Scooby-Doo, Fred Flintstone, Yogi Bear and Booboo, Johnny Quest and plenty more.

If there was only one DVD I could recommend that you pick up this month, this wouldn't be it. But I do recommend that you pick it up if you're looking for a hilarious cartoon. As with many of Adult Swim's cartoons, this one is not for the kiddos.

The special features were pretty decent too, but nothing mind-blowing. But what can you really say? It's Harvey Birdman, Attorney At Law.

I'm off to set my TiVO to record this, if it still comes on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too good to be true., May 2, 2005
By 
Bill Spencer (Little Rock, Arkansas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Harvey Birdman: Attorney At Law is one of the funniest and most refreshing shows to come out of the incredible line-up of Adult Swim shows. The show's creators, Ouweleen and Richter, obviously have connections with Hanna-Barbera and have access to all of the characters from the shows of the 60's and 70's. They mix these characters with crude, witty, sarcastic, and debaucherous humor. What you get is pure hilarity, brought to you by such great voices as Gary Cole, Stephen Colbert, and John Michael Higgins.

Throughout each episode the show seem to become more refined and more hilarious. One of the best cartoon shows I have ever seen in my life. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys the incredibly eccentric and radiant shows that are constantly on Adult Swim, this show being my personal favorite.

The DVD has plenty of enjoyable extras that will keep you entertained, and will give you a burning desire for Volume 2 to come out as soon as possible. I know I'll be waiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bird And Peanut Of Justice!, June 27, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
This show resurrects the mundane Birdman cartoon character from years ago, and revives him as a defense attorney with major issues. Assisted by his psychotic clerk, Peanut, and his own personal assist paralegal raptor, Avenger, Harvey Birdman defends the seemingly indefensible, all of whom happen to be other aging cartoon characters.

There are many episodes and extras on this set to recommend it, but I have three distinct favorites:

"Shoyu Weenie" is an episode where annoying shark Jabberjaw (and the Neptunes) gets sued for stealing a hit song from a Japanese group named Shoyu Weenie. Peanut experiences romance, and the ruling from the bench does not disappoint.

"Shaggy Gets Busted" is a "COPS" spoof of busting Shaggy and Scooby for possession. I never liked Scooby Doo, but this is a wonderful bit of comedy. This has the second best opening sequence in the show.

"The Dabba Don" is a satire of the Sopranos with the characters of the Flintstones. This will always stand as the single greatest episode of the series: the opening segment alone is sufficient justification to buy the set. Brilliant.

This is a great and offbeat show. It takes a bit of time to get to understand the characters, but once you have seen a couple of episodes, you will always want more. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff - not for those who are easily offended though, May 24, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1 (DVD)
In the same way they deliciously lamponed Sealab 2020, Harvey Birdman is a twist of an old HB cartoon. The humor is actually on several levels - there is some sexual inuendo and bathroom humor, but there are many pop cultural references and legal satire as well.

The episodes are uneven - some are excellent, some are a little strained. Knowing some of the original characters helps the humor - certainly, Mentok, acting as a judge is WONDERFUL!!!!

So, if you can accept some of your childhood memories being skewed, and enjoy some well aimed satire of the legal system then get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law, Vol. 1
$19.82 $8.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.