Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Size: English VersionChange
Price:$17.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

280 of 294 people found the following review helpful
on January 17, 2010
This Monopoly set was cheaply produced in China, as you might guess given its price. For a family looking for a first set, it seems satisfactory. But anyone who has played Monopoly for years should be on notice that this set, redesigned in 2008, includes several minor annoyances.

First, the most practical annoyance. The board folds up into quarters, which allows the manufacturer to fit the set into a smaller box, presumably to reduce production costs. But because the box is somewhat smaller (about 16 inches long), there is no room for the sort of convenient tray for Monopoly money that was once standard in the old boxes (which were about 20 inches long). This is annoying for both gameplay and storage.

Second, the producers have unnecessarily and inexplicably made small changes to the rules of the game -- rules that have stood for more than half a century. Landing on the Luxury Tax space used to cost you $75; now it costs $100. The new rules also change the numbers of each kind of bill to be apportioned to players at the start of the game -- and in fact, the game comes with a smaller supply of some bills.

Mention of this set's Monopoly money brings us to the third annoyance: the manufacturers made numerous gratuitous changes to the look of the game. The palette of colors used for Monopoly bills in the United States since the 1940s has been changed: The $10 bill used to be yellow; now it's blue. The $50 bill used to be blue; now it's purple. (These changes make it hard to reuse money from older Monopoly sets.) Among the other unnecessary changes to the look of the game: The formerly purple properties on the board (Mediterranean Avenue and Baltic Avenue) have been recolored brown. The Community Chest and Chance cards are now printed on white cardstock instead of the familiar orange and yellow, and the classic drawings on those cards have been replaced with computer-generated 3D cartoons. Even the "Go" space has been redesigned: now the word "Go" is written in black instead of the familiar red. (Stodgy purists might also be put off by the various alterations to font, logo, and other design elements.)

To be sure, these changes do not alter the fundamentals of the game itself. But they are annoying enough that anyone with nostalgic memories of the game from childhood should consider a different set.

UPDATE (July 2011): Thanks to one of the commenters on this page, I'm pleased to note that Amazon now offers Monopoly - The Classic Edition. From the descriptions, reviews, and comments on that product's page, it appears that it suffers from none of the annoying problems I have criticized here.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
Please feel free to read this review in its entirety, or save yourself some time and avoid this version of Monopoly and buy the "Monopoly - Classic" version instead. While it is about double the price, it is the game you know and love. The less expensive version (reviewed here) is a piece of garbage.

I regret this purchase. If you grew up playing Monopoly, you would be much, much better off buying "classic" or a used version. There are several major issues with this version, as well as some minor ones. If you buy this to teach your children one of the most beloved games of your childhood and a part of Americana, you are apt to be disappointed.

The major issues involve quality and design. The board itself no longer folds in two. It is cut to fold into quarters and barely sits level on a table. I do not hold out much hope it will last very long. The property cards are flimsy, made smaller than in the past, as well as being thinner. The Chance and Community Chest cards are also of poor quality, much thinner than their predecessors, and take on color changes, now being blue/white and orange/white, instead of the familiar yellow and orange, respectively.

The money is a big concern as well. The money is thin and there are not enough slots provided to use money in the bank during play, or to store after gameplay, and in fact there are raised areas in the plastic money tray which prevent the money from even sitting in the spaces. The raised areas are somewhat random and follow no logical pattern. So forget using the box/tray component for the bank during a game or storing money neatly. The tray is essentially useless. I have no idea what Hasbro/Parker Brothers was thinking here, and apparently neither did they.

The minor issues are some game changes: The money is different color and handed out in different amounts. Very minor, yes, but now you have to get used to $10 being blue (used to be the $50) as well as some other color changes. You are also starting the game with different amounts of money. Also the Income Tax space is now a flat $200 instead of "10% or $200", and Luxury Tax is $100, no longer $75. Again, these are minor but worth noting.

I would avoid this cheaply made version. At the very least this should be advertised as what it is - "revamped Monopoly."
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
62 of 73 people found the following review helpful
on February 5, 2004
Monopoly is often overlooked as a gamenight option these days, many people considering it outdated. But it's a classic for a reason, combining lucky rolls and strategy in a very unique way.
The fact is that most people don't play Monopoly by the correct rules, and that makes all the difference. The key to enjoying the game is the inter-player deals and politics. That's where all the fun lies, and much of the strategy. Any player can strike any kind of a deal with another player - want to trade all the purples and light blues for Boardwalk? No problem. Want to trick someone into trading a property you need for all your railroads? This is where the real enjoyment comes from. I encourage you not only to get the game and play it, but to read the rules and "get into" the game.
There are also some fun alternate rules you can use, such as collecting $400 (instead of $200) when you *land* directly on "go", or putting fine money (from chance cards, utility expenses, get out of jail money, etc.) in the center of the board and collecting it when you land on "free parking".
Don't overlook Monopoly as an outdated option. It's still one of the best games out there.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on August 8, 2011
I was very disappointed with the quality of this particular game board. I own an earlier version (from the 80's) in Spanish and the quality is way superior. The cards for Community Chest and Chance are poorly made and they are not the original yellow/orange colors with the nice printing but multicolored copies with bad computerized printing. Boardwalk, the most expensive property on the game is not translated "Paseo Tablado" which is the proper translation but "Embarcadero". Even the money has bad printing and some kind of "M" symbol in lieu of the original monopoly dollar sign.
The only reason I kept it and did not return it is that I wanted to use it in my classroom with my students and I did not want to use my old set (which looks like a collectors item now). Otherwise I would have return it right away. needless to say the pics on Amazon were quite deceiving for the ones they show have the "Paseo Tablado" board and not the cheap version they actually send.
I am extremely annoyed - it was a waste of money.
I have read the comments about the "classic" version, but honestly, if you are going to have the pics of the "classic" version to sell the cheapo one, people are being mislead. Use the proper pics for each version, so customers can see what they are ordering.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on December 17, 2002
This is really a great game... it's perfect for any students taking Spanish and could be used during down time in a classroom. Unfortunately, they do not put any Spanish places on the board, it is just translated American sites. But it's still really fun!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on May 30, 2010
There's nothing to say about Monopoly that everyone doesn't already know, but why oh why does Hasbro insist on designing the board to fold twice? There's a permanent slit going halfway through the board to allow for an extra fold, so you can forget trying to play on a soft surface, and it looks awful. I wish I had bothered to find this out before ordering, because it really is a deal breaker, and the game just sits in a cupboard now.

In trying to cut down on space, Hasbro also made the lousy move of getting rid of the old money tray. It's now a flimsy plastic, with slots for putting the bills in sideways. I could possibly live with that, if the box could be closed with the bills in that position. Alas, the box isn't tall enough, so when you pack up you need to stack the money, then separate it into the slots when you're ready to play.

In short, a slightly wider, slightly taller box would have elevated this review from two stars to five. You got that, Hasbro?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 21, 2011
Este es uno de los mejores juegos, se puede jugar por horas y no aburre.

Tiene un buen precio, ademas se puede jugar con toda la familia y los amigos.

Esta totalmente en español
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2014
The board, the money and all the pieces included in this monopoly are not the same as the ones shown in the picture, instead I was given a cheaper version of the original ...and considering the fact that I paid almost twice the price of the English version because it was supposed to be a gift ....I have to say I wouldn't recommend this item.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2013
Everyone loves Monopoly, I bought it for my Dad who lives in Cuba, he is now retired and spends a lot of time at home. He recently visited and I found this and got it for him. He tells me he loves it and plays it a lot with friends and neighbors. That makes me very happy. Great buy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 4, 2013
Happy to have the game - for use with students -- disappointed with the quality of the cards and the board. They are very chintzy. For the quality of the manufacture, the price is too high.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.