Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Skip-Bo on steriods
This is a hoot to play and you're sure to get many belly laughs as you fight across the table to claim your stacks. My family loves Skip-Bo and it's alot like it, but faster paced and has the element of grabbing stacks of cards that make it the most energetic game since "Spoons." Only 5 people can play at a time, but any more than that would create havoc and chaos that...
Published on January 27, 2011 by D. Wallace

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Busy game! Easy to play! Get a rubber band to separate color piles and be ready to sort.
After you play a round, you have to sort all 170-some odd cards back into their separate color piles. I believe there are 5 colors. The pack they come in does not sort them into their separate colors but rather stacks them into three stacks. Each time you store the cards you have to pile the different colors together and them sort them out again when you play. Get some...
Published 12 months ago by Megan C.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Skip-Bo on steriods, January 27, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
This is a hoot to play and you're sure to get many belly laughs as you fight across the table to claim your stacks. My family loves Skip-Bo and it's alot like it, but faster paced and has the element of grabbing stacks of cards that make it the most energetic game since "Spoons." Only 5 people can play at a time, but any more than that would create havoc and chaos that no household could tolerate! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best card game around!!!, January 24, 2011
By 
Love2Play "Love2Play" (3rd Rock from the sun) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
This game is so easy to learn and so much fun to play! I have played with my kids (11 & 15) and my parents, and all ages have fun. It is so much more fun to play than UNO, as it is simultaneous play!

The game can easily be modified to teach younger kids symbol recognition, and sequencing, before making this the "frenzy from start to finish" game that it is when playing with really fast and competitive people!

Makes a great birthday gift too, as the kid giving it can quickly teach those at the party how to play and get a mini tournament going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer, intense fun, May 18, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
Happen to know a card game called "Spit"? You know, that competitive solitaire-like game, only for two or more players. Where you don't take turns, and you have to keep very alert, because sometimes the very pile you were hoping to play on gets played on first by the other player.

Well, Hasbro's Ratuki isn't Spit. It's Spit-like. But faster, with a unique set of cards that adds a challenging perceptual/conceptual twist that makes it into something very much like a new game entirely.

The object of the Ratuki is to capture the most cards by being the first to complete a set of 5 cards, again and again and again. Players begin with a hand of 3 cards. There can be as many piles in the playing area as there are players. Each pile has to start with a ONE. Actually, there are five different kinds of ONEs: roman numerals, bilingual number names, fingers, faces of a die, and your regular Arabic-numeral type numbers. In a similar vein, there are TWOs of 5 kinds, each of which can be played on top of a ONE of any kind.

So, yes, you're racing to build stacks of up to 5 cards, and equally yes, they can be of any kind, and even moreso, you have to constantly switch your expectations of which kind of number actually comes next.

Then there are the Ratuki cards, which you can use to capture a stack at any time. Sadly, there are only two of these wild delights. When you play your Ratuki card, you're supposed to say "Ratuki." Turns out to be almost as much fun to say that silly word as it is to play the card. Let's say it together now, for the fun of it: ra-tooooo-kee! See what I mean?

And so the game goes. Speaking of which, if you can't play, you can always discard one or more of the cards in your hand and pick up a new card from your draw pile. Which in one way is good, in another, not so - because after the round is over and you've counted all the cards you've won, you have to subtract every card left in your discard and draw piles from your score.

From time to time, no one has any cards they can play (unless they discard). And, since nobody wants especially to discard, you get these stand-off moments, where the game is stopped until someone confronts the fates, and discards, for the sake of keeping the game going. This results in a semi-profound meta-moment where the fun of the game actually takes precedence over the fun of winning.

There are many reasons to add this game to your library: the "educational" value, the appeal to children and adults, the ease of learning, the brevity of rounds, the quality of the cards, and, most of all, the sheer, intense fun of it all.

(updated, upon release by Hasbro, Feb. 8, 2011)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, Fun, Card Game, January 4, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
What I Can Tell You:
Yesterday Clary came over with Christmas gifts for the kids, a breakfast sandwich and new wallet and to visit now that I am feeling sooooo much better post op. After December playing, a fun card game with my girl was exactly what the doctor ordered.

After we ate, I tossed the deck on the table and threw the directions at her. I had read them the night before and was dying to give it a whirl. The game, although it originally appeared complicated, (it took the two of us reading it two times to figure it out) was so not complicated. There is a lot to remember but we had a blast and laughed at each other the entire time.

It is a quick game, kind of like spit but so much smarter. The cards go from 1-5 but they are depicted in various themes, like a domino, a hand holding up fingers, the number, and the number in word (one, two, etc.) So on top having to be quick, you need to really see those cards.

So, to begin everyone has their own pile. They take three cards (you must always be holding 3 cards), then someone starts a pile using either a 1 or a Ratuki card. Then you slap the cards down going up or down and the person who gets up to a 5 or uses a Ratuki card which can be any number takes the pile. The game continues until someone runs out of cards. Each card is worth a point, subtract the cards still in hand and in your junk pile (if you can't get rid of one of your 3 cards, you can junk it and take another) The first person to reach 100 wins. Clary won!

It was fun and we called each other names as we slipped cards in before the other. Grrr...It really was fun and I imagine that the more players there are the crazier it becomes.

A great game to play with family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for ages 6-99, May 18, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
The box says ages 8 and up, but I think a game-ready 6-year-old would be fine. Very quick game, just need to be ready to shuffle each colored stack. Choose a stack of cards from 2-5 depending on how many players you have, each player gets one colored stack (draw pile) and draws three cards. Everyone starts to play by trying to play a 1 card, the number of stacks is equal to the number of players in the game. Then you can play off each other's played cards. Then build up to 5, but you can also go back down as you go up to 5. Example 1-2-3-2-1-2-3-4-3-4-5 so there's more cards to win when you land the 5 and shout Ratuki! Also the wild Ratuki cards can stand in for any number. If you get stuck, use your discard pile and draw another card. But those discarded cards will be subtracted from your total at the end as will any cards not played when the first player gets rid of their cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Busy game! Easy to play! Get a rubber band to separate color piles and be ready to sort., November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
After you play a round, you have to sort all 170-some odd cards back into their separate color piles. I believe there are 5 colors. The pack they come in does not sort them into their separate colors but rather stacks them into three stacks. Each time you store the cards you have to pile the different colors together and them sort them out again when you play. Get some rubber bands! For a game where color is such an important factor, they could have sold the game where the packaging better supported the separation of colors. The game is crazy to play. My kids like it but my younger one gets so lost in watching the other people play crazy that he forgets to lay stuff down or doesn't get things laid down in time. Not sure on the weird scoring. We just counted the total number of piles completed by each person and gave them that number of points. Otherwise the scoring was complicated enough to keep the kids from being interested in playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many 1s, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
This game is a lot of fun, but you get stuck a lot because there are too many ones. Also, the cards are quite flimsy and bend easily. You are competing to put your cards on a stack before other players, so they get crunched easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids enjoy it. Fun game., July 19, 2011
By 
A. DeHart (Vestal, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
I won't go into a great deal of detail on this but suffice it to say that our kids have enjoyed this as an alternative to Blink which they have played out. It is good for a quick game with little setup and it is easy to understand. Makes a great inexpensive gift too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast action card game, March 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
We have loved playing this faced-paced card game this winter. We purchased several different card games that were highly-rated. This is one of our favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is simple, frustrating and fun all at the same time!!!, December 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratuki (Toy)
This is a super fun game, and addicting too. I bought this for my 16 year old niece for Christmas as she could not get enough during Thanksgiving. It is simple, frustrating and fun all at the same time. Each player has a stack of cards, then you take 3 in one hand and use your other hand to lay down. There are no turns you basically have to think fast if you can lay down your card before the other player, the problem is it can be a number, dice, fingers or just tally marks so you really have to think. I loved playing it with my niece and we had a blast, we were laughing so hard at the end because we both kept messing up. My nine year old can play too just not as fast, but still super fun, great for anyone 8 and above. My 6 almost 7 year old can do it but gets frustrated quickly. Me and my husband have had some pretty fun battles too!! Highly Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ratuki
Ratuki by Hasbro
$11.99 $6.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.