Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game - ignore haters
Buy it and enjoy with your friends and family. It's a great product. Well made and they have an app to validate words, etc... nice addition.
Published 20 months ago by Phillip R Bryant

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun despite a few flaws
Yes, this game is very similar to scrabble. I actually like it better because of the higher scoring opportunities. Overall, this game is fun. I like the look and feel of the tiles. However, there are a few flaws. First, the game board is on rollers so that it can rotate between players. However, this is not an even swivel action making it difficult to turn smoothly in a...
Published 18 months ago by SM


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game - ignore haters, November 27, 2012
By 
Phillip R Bryant (BRUSH CREEK, TN, US) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Buy it and enjoy with your friends and family. It's a great product. Well made and they have an app to validate words, etc... nice addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid 4 Star Performer IMO. Modern Scrabble., May 18, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This game is fun to play on smartphones and tablets, but it also translates well back to board game status. It is quite fun to sit down with friends and family and play. It's like a modern version of scrabble.

Pros:

- Nice 2-piece snap together 3D plastic board that rotates like a lazy-susan.
- Nice translucent tiles and tile holder.
- Fun to play. Challenging.
- New take on Scrabble. Follows same classic format.

Cons:

- Minor gripe. Cell phone wouldn't fit on tile holder with Otterbox Defender case on it. Really minor. You don't even have to use your cell phone or iPod if you don't want to.

Overall a solid 4 star performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skip the basic version, go with Luxe, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
I purchased this within a week of purchasing the basic Words With Friends board game. The two aren't even comparable. The board is great with its rotating and security lines. MUCH better than the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun despite a few flaws, January 1, 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Yes, this game is very similar to scrabble. I actually like it better because of the higher scoring opportunities. Overall, this game is fun. I like the look and feel of the tiles. However, there are a few flaws. First, the game board is on rollers so that it can rotate between players. However, this is not an even swivel action making it difficult to turn smoothly in a tight space. Also, the game board has to snap together. Second, the tile rack has a slot to hold your phone to use during play. I would rather keep the score by hand and look up any disputed words in an actual dictionary so I didn't need my phone during game play. However, the groove on the tile rack is too narrow to fit an iPhone with a case. Third, it would be nice if the set came with a paper scoring pad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift Idea, March 13, 2014
By 
loves the beach (Carlsbad, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Great gift. I play the game on line with the person this was given to, hopefully she likes it and has played the game by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cheaply made, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Nice idea, but the product was cheaply made. Charge a bit more and make it sturdy so it stands up and makes a better presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Game!!, November 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Great Family Game! I bought this for Christmas 2012 and its still a hit almost a year later even with the hard to please teenager!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as exciting as the online version, October 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Lots of fun for the whole family!!!. Delivery, via Amazon Prime, was prompt. These would make great Christmas gifts for people who like to play via facebook or phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a Word-Based Board Game!, April 29, 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Summary: If you like Words With Friends' scoring and bonus placement, then this is a nice way to bring those features back down to meatspace. It has a few cool features, but overall feels a little flimsy. On the other hand, if you have and enjoy a Scrabble set already, you don't really need this one.

Description: This is sturdy plastic, with raised ridges surrounding the squares to hold letters in place. The board comes in two pieces which snap together, and has little wheels, so you can spin the whole board around on a flat surface. The tiles are a cool, sturdy translucent plastic. Up to four players get letter holders with an extra groove to hold a cell phone (as long as it doesn't have a bulky case). The idea is you run the scoring app on a phone instead of using a note pad, then you can use the phone for word challenges and scoring.

Game Play: It's Words with Friends, which basically means it's Scrabble, except that the letter scores and bonus squares are arranged differently.

Bottom Line: My guess is that we will keep playing Scrabble. We prefer the wood tiles to plastic, and even though we're used to playing Words with Friends on our phones, Scrabble is (in our opinions) still the game to beat in the real world. On the other hand, if you don't have Scrabble, or if you strongly prefer the Words with Friends board arrangement, I think this game could be a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Basically a slightly different design for Scrabble, April 27, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Words with Friends Luxe (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I like the curved tile holder and the holder is also used to hold your smart phone which you can use to challenge words and keep track of your score. There might be other additional features if you play Words With Friends on your phone which I do not.

I love word games though and this plastic board with ridges to hold tiles in place and built-in little revolving wheels to provide a lazy susan function is quite nice. If you are a particular fan of the app Words With Friends, or you do not already own a Scrabble board game, I would recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Words with Friends Luxe
$39.99 $15.79
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.