Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Laughter - Great Party Game
I played it for the first time with a large group of friends and we had a lot of fun. There was a lot of laughter with the clues that were provided. Some of the people who had played earlier versions of the games thought this one was tougher. We did find at least one major spelling error and I do wish companies would take more time with QA. The word "anatomy" was...
Published 8 months ago by L. Levine

versus
38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine Game (If You Have Never Played the Older Versions)
This would be a fine game if you have never played the older editions of Taboo because then you wouldn't know what you'd be missing.

Positive Updates:
+ The biggest asset to this game is the update of the cards -- I was getting tired of describing "Y2K" from the last edition to people who don't remember it even ever existed. There are also more words...
Published 7 months ago by Calvin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine Game (If You Have Never Played the Older Versions), December 1, 2013
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
This would be a fine game if you have never played the older editions of Taboo because then you wouldn't know what you'd be missing.

Positive Updates:
+ The biggest asset to this game is the update of the cards -- I was getting tired of describing "Y2K" from the last edition to people who don't remember it even ever existed. There are also more words included in this game -- they printed 2 words per side (for a total of 4) instead of 1 word per side (for a total of 2) from the previous editions. The other nice thing about this edition is that the MSRP is at a lower price.

+ "Game Changer" Die: if you're tired of the classic game play, the game changer die adds extra stipulations like one guesser (only one person can guess), double the time (play through 2 cycles of the sand timer), statue (clue giver has to sit still), and all play (both teams guess from one clue giver). We liked the option of this game changer, but we stuck to the classic rules and opted to not use the die.

+ This edition is at a lower MSRP than the previous editions.

Negative Updates:
- The Taboo buzzer (one of the best things about the original game) is now replaced with a squeaky toy. Yes, the instruction manual now says "squeak" your opponent as opposed to the iconic "buzz" your opponent. While the squeaker doesn't require batteries, the squeaky noise is not as dramatic as the older buzzer.

- Taboo no longer includes the plastic card holder or the "easel." Previously, you put the stack of cards on this holder to help expedite the process of flipping through during game play. Without this, it was a bit awkward and we were fumbling to find a place to put the cards that we got and the ones that we missed.

- The score pad is much smaller than the previous editions. This is not too much of a drawback, but worth noting if you like to play for a long time or you write really big.

Ultimately, this new edition of Taboo maintains the heart of the original -- the cards. I would strongly recommend going to a local thrift shop and buy an older edition of the game to upgrade your squeaker with the older buzzer. Unfortunately, I am not sure if the new cards will fit on the older edition of the easels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought, November 6, 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
The buzzer is a squeek toy more than a buzzer. So if you have dogs around, they will mistake the "buzzer" for their own squeeky toy. The cards have 4 words on them instead of two, which is fine, but if you want to play the way it originally is played, without the dice, good luck because there is no card holder. Inconveniently, the new cards don't fit into the old game's card holder, either. I was hoping it'd be the same as the old game, just with new words. Guess not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Laughter - Great Party Game, November 10, 2013
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
I played it for the first time with a large group of friends and we had a lot of fun. There was a lot of laughter with the clues that were provided. Some of the people who had played earlier versions of the games thought this one was tougher. We did find at least one major spelling error and I do wish companies would take more time with QA. The word "anatomy" was spelled "anatomay".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game!, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
It's just like the original. The only difference is the little squeaker and there's not little box to hold the cards while you're playing, but the box it comes in has little slots for you to put the cards in while you're playing. I had a blast playing it with family and friends :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars At least the dog likes it., August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
Game works but is a cheap version (we love Taboo and have been playing for years). No electronic buzzer like we are used to using at relatives' house. The buzzer is actually like a dog squeaker toy in the shape of buzzer. If we knew this, we would have opted for the more expensive version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic game at a great price., July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
So many novelty over-complicated games out there now that require you to use social media or technology. This is an oldie but goodie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
So much fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tons of Fun, But..., June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
This game is one of my favorites - it's fun, makes you think on your feet, and challenges you to find shared knowledge with your teammates. Unfortunately these attributes are only if you have a solid grasp of the English language. I've tried playing with a few non-native speakers whose English language skills weren't fully developed and they didn't have a good time. They were challenged because they were unable to quickly think of synonyms and descriptions of the words on the cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars family safe, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
This is a good game for the whole family to play! We play by the rules provided but then, we improvise to annoy the kids! A good wholesome game for couple nights too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unncessary Changes, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taboo Board Game (Toy)
New cards was my whole reason for purchasing the updated edition. Those cards not fitting in the old holder was a great disappointment. On top of that, the buzzer is a joke. All changes aren't good changes. I'd rather pay an extra five bucks and have the quality I'm used to than to get a watered down version that is not as functional as it's predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Taboo Board Game
$21.99 $14.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.