Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$20.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you've enjoyed the previous editions of the modern horror franchise "Hatchet," let's just say that the third chapter serves up exactly what you might expect. That is meant both as a compliment and as a criticism. Unlike some, I can't proclaim that I thought the series was ever a brilliant new addition to the horror canon, but I did think it offered an amusing throw-back to old school filmmaking. That's what "Hatchet" was (and is) for me: fun. A moderately scaled movie that mixes humor with gore, you look for the next grisly way that the villain will dispatch his victims. It's all about the creativity of the confrontation and the subsequent slaughter. Everything is so over-the-top in effects and execution, it is hard not to laugh even when the series is at its most brutal. "Hatchet III" maintains the body count and the bloodshed of its predecessors, but the series is definitely showing signs of wear in the creativity department. Although there are a few clever murders, most are relatively mundane. When you've already seen Victor Crowley dispatch dozens of people over the course of two films, the makers here didn't know how to up the ante. Instead of feeling fresh and new, the movie didn't really offer any surprises to elevate the material. You simply don't get that "did they just do that?" feeling anymore, and I missed those moments.

Picking up mere seconds after the conclusion of "Hatchet II," we are again presented with the plucky heroine played by Danielle Harris. Convinced that she has finally ended the reign of Victor Crowley, she turns to the local New Orleans cops to share her story. Mistrustful of the bloodied woman, they incarcerate her until the situation in the swamp can be sorted out. The carnage (from the last movie) is horrifying to the crime scene investigators on the site, but things get even worse when they start to go missing. The sheriff (Zach Galligan of Gremlins) assembles a team to see what's going on after they get a distress call, but Harris is left in a cell to stew on what might be happening. Is it possible that Crowley is still alive. Intrepid reporter Caroline Williams (who also happens to be the Sheriff's ex-wife) shows up at the jail house to add her two cents to the Crowley legend telling Harris that he is still alive and can only be really killed by breaking an ancient curse. Needless to say, everyone heads back off to the swamp to end this once and for all. Who will survive? And can the Crowley curse ever be broken?

When you have a killer that simply can't be stopped, it can become somewhat problematic to your storytelling. If Crowley won't ever die, if there's not that possibility, than that lessens the film's tension. No matter what happens, he will simply continue on endlessly. From a plotting standpoint, this movie offers one more solution to the Crowley problem but I never trusted that it would work. And I still don't. That's okay, but it goes back to the idea that it becomes hard to keep everything feeling fresh. An indestructible killer and an endless body count, the movie never really has a chance to grow beyond these basic devices. On the plus side, though, Harris is still a compelling and likable lead. But my favorite part of "Hatchet III" is Williams. This veteran actress is super as the reporter haunted by the Crowley legacy. Her performance is big and grandiose and absolutely mesmerizing. Special points, also, for the funny cameo by Sid Haig as Abbott McMullen. In a movie where everything seemed far too familiar and expected, Williams and Haig stand out in originality. KGHarris, 8/13.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2013
This story picks up with Marybeth (Danielle Harris) "killing" Victor Crowley (Kane Hodder) again. It was nice of the producers to use the same person to play Marybeth this time. She is in jail while local police check Honey Island Swamp only to find a bloody mess. Like Jason, Victor never dies so you can figure out the rest.

Sid Haig has a bit part in this film having comedic "Paula Deen moments." I did not enjoy this as much as the one with Tony Todd. This film had its comic and dark comedy moments, but was pretty much an over the top slasher with blood spraying unrealistically all over the screen as if it was coming out of a pressure washer. The characters were decent in this one, but the film lacked a certain eye candy. Plenty of blood and gore, easy on plot.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity. Danielle Harris being hosed in shower with discreet arm and leg placement.
22 comments3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 22, 2014
If you enjoyed "Hatchet" and "Hatchet II", you'll enjoy this latest sequel. Following right on the events of the 2nd film, Marybeth (Danielle Harris) seeminly finishes off Victor Crowley (Kane Hodder) and stumbles into town to report the latest mass murder to the police, only to be arrested as the prime suspect in the killings. There is some hoodoo about Marybeth being the daughter of the man that set the fire years ago which led to Crowley's rampage, and that because of this, Marybeth is the only one who can stop Crowley. This is just an excuse to get a bunch of people back out into the woods so that Crowley can take them out in inventive and gory ways.

This series is so much fun, and while I don't feel this entry lives up to the previous films, the formula still works. Populated with fun cameos by genre favorites, and featuring some fun dialogue and extra gooey gore F/X, "Hatchet" is a horror series created by horror fans, for horror fans. While I doubt you'll actually be frightened by the film, you will be having such a good time, you won't really care.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
I consider this the best of the Hatchet series. The first two Hatchet movies were enjoyable, but I find this the most entertaining.

Danielle Harris returns from Hatchet II as Marybeth, starting where Hatchet II ended and has her going to the police station. There she is arrested for having a shotgun, Victor Crowley's scalp, and being covered in blood. The police investigate the swamp and are killed by Victor Crowley. Kane Hodder returns as Victor, giving a menacing and gruesome portrayal of the character. There's several graphic kills and the practical effects look fairly believable. The movie features several horror movie stars including: Danielle Harris, from Halloween 4, 5, the remakes, and Hatchet II; Kane Hodder, from Friday the 13th Parts VII to Jason X and Hatchets I and II; Derek Mears from the Friday the 13th reboot; Zach Galligan from Gremlins; Caroline Williams from The Texas Chainsaw Massacre II; and Sid Haig from House of 1000 Corpses and The Devil's Rejects.

The story is basic, Marybeth is arrested for believed murder, the police investigate the swamp, the SWAT team led by Derek Mears arrive, and they are killed by Victor. Caroline Williams' character talks the remaining cop to take Marybeth to give Victor his father's ashes, believing the spell will be released. The entire police and SWAT teams are killed except for one coroner. Marybeth is impaled on a tree and spills the ashes on Victor and as he melts, she blows him up with a grenade launcher. It is unknown whether she is alive or dead. I believe she is alive.

This is easily the most entertaining, violent, graphic, and probably the funniest of the whole trilogy. If you are a fan of the Hatchet movies or movies that are darkly comedic, I recommend this movie. I would also say that it's better to understand the story if you watch them in chronological order because they are all closely connected and the whole trilogy takes place in a few days. I like Hatchet III a lot.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We all know that the killers in slasher films can take an inhuman amount of damage, enough to kill dozens of normal men, and still keep going. But Hatchet’s Victor Crowley takes this amazing recuperation to new heights in Hatchet III. The film begins right where part II left off. Marybeth Dunstan (Danielle Harris) has just blown Crowley’s face clean off with a shotgun blast. But even that isn’t enough to stop the bayou beast. As Crowley rises again, Marybeth slices him in half from head to toe with a chainsaw. Thinking that Crowley is finally dead, Marybeth turns herself in to the Jefferson Parish sheriff, covered in blood. Sheriff Fowler (Zach Galligan of Gremlins) locks Marybeth up and sends a team of officers and paramedics out to investigate her claims of the slaughter at Honey Island Swamp.

The cops arrive on the scene to find dozens of mangled bodies including the split-in-half body of Crowley. Crowley’s remains are bagged and taken about a paramedic’s boat for processing. This is where Crowley pulls off his amazing feat of putting himself back together whole. And perhaps even more amazing is that his overalls also magically are repaired without a stich out of place.

Ok, I have not been overly impressed with any of Adam Green’s Hatchet films even though he turns directorial duties over to BJ McDonnell. But Hatchet III reaches a new low. We’re given some new mumbo jumbo about how Crowley is actually a ghost and needs to be reunited with the ashes of his father in order to finally kill him. As Marybeth is the last relative of the men that killed Crowley years earlier and only she fan deliver the ashes. Yeah, ok, anything to suck the remaining life out of the series.

Granted, Hatchet III should satisfy most gore hounds. Among Crowley’s more notable kills is thrusting his fist into the belly of a man and ripping out his spine with the skull still attached, leaving behind an empty meat sack. The effects however are cheap looking, even for low budget horror film. The blood looks like it was left over from a Herschell Gordon Lewis film. It’s too bright and lacks the viscosity of actual blood.

The cast features Sid Haig, Derek Mears and of course, Kane Hodder as Crowley,and is a lot of fun, but largely wasted. In particular Danielle Harris is given little to do other than apparently say F**K as many times as she can in 81 minutes.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2013
If you are a fan of the Hatchet films then you already know it will be a good time, and it is.

This series has always been mapped out as a trilogy without the promise of getting to make them all. Green was ok with where each one left off and crossed his fingers to make the next. So the silly analysis that this was for money and making it into a trilogy in a forced and late manner, is just simply not correct.

Fans will enjoy higher body counts and more elaborate kills. Also higher fire power from those trying to bring Vic down. It does what it should do, raise the testosterone with more action, gore, and fun. Why people are complaining about that is beyond me considering this part 3 in a series that I am guessing they have seen the first two from? I guess some just need a chance to feel important.

Fans will also enjoy the on-location filming that the previous two did not have. Unlike the first two films; this is shot in Louisiana. The crew got put through hell with the elements; but ultimately it pays off visually. The shots are wider and it just looks fantastic.

So....skip the unfounded idiocy being posted on here about the film and go enjoy yourself. It was made for the fans and is supposed to be fun. Hatchet fans, as usual, will not be disappointed.

To those who hate it, that's fine, it was not made for you to begin with.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
Bam!! Once again Kane Hodder is back in your face as the notorious Victor Crowley a crazed psychopathic killer still wanting vengeance over his fathers death, this movie yet again steps up in the gore factor and pushes the boundaries with probably the highest body count to date, there id blood and gore splashing all over non stop! The story is great and kept old school kind of like the good old days when Jason Voorhees keep coming back from the dead, Danielle Harris reprises her lead role as the movie continues right where the second left off, there's a few old school twists and turns in the plot and some very funny moments too, looks out for cameos too from the original director and several stars from the original hatchet movie too, this is great fun good old retro slasher gore horror at its best since Jason was on our screens, just have fun and bask in the blood rain!!!! The disc has a couple of commentaries and some good behind the scenes stuff!!!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
You either love or hate the HATCHET franchise. Having been in the audience at London's FrightFest all those years ago when a very young (and understandably very nervous) Adam Green stood in front of over 800 FrightFesters to present HATCHET, it was crystal (Lake) clear then that here was a filmmaker making a horror film for horror fans.

HATCHET III is a stylish conclusion to the franchise, with BJ McDonnell admirably taking over in the director's chair. Danielle Harris is superb (when is she not?), and Caroline Williams steps up to the plate with a fine performance. Zach (Gremlins) Galligan is also spot on and there's a host of cameos and in jokes to tickle genre enthusiasts funny bones whilst legendary Kane Hodder crushes, pulverises and stomps through the swamp as Victor. #HatchetArmy
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
wow what an awesome film this is by far the best in the series hatchet fans will love this movie i hope there will be a 4th
0Comment8 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
I really enjoyed the first two in the Hatchet series but I was a little worried about part 3. As seen many times (Wrong Turn comes to mind), when they start making part 3,4, and so on, the movies tend to get watered down. I read the negative reviews but decided to take a chance and I have to say that while Hatchet 2 was my favorite, part 3 held it's own and I don't regret buying it. Aside from the blood and gore and always creative ways Victor Crowley kills his hapless victims, there are plenty funny moments throughout.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.