Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History Takes On America's Most Notorious Feud And Scores Blockbuster Ratings: Great Mini-Series, Pricey On-Demand
Note: I know prices are subject to change, but I'd like to point out that the introductory offer of $8.99 per episode (or $9.99 HD) is wildly excessive for something that aired for free.

The History Channel has been trying to stretch its wings in recent years and adapt into a more competitive TV marketplace (that's why some of their reality programs seem less...
Published 23 months ago by K. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good mini series
Good acting. Hooked me in the first 1/2 hour. Kevin Costner did an excellent job. I enjoyed the irony of the ending. One man turning on god and the other finding him in the end added a nice layer
Published 17 months ago by Ren James


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History Takes On America's Most Notorious Feud And Scores Blockbuster Ratings: Great Mini-Series, Pricey On-Demand, August 3, 2012
Note: I know prices are subject to change, but I'd like to point out that the introductory offer of $8.99 per episode (or $9.99 HD) is wildly excessive for something that aired for free.

The History Channel has been trying to stretch its wings in recent years and adapt into a more competitive TV marketplace (that's why some of their reality programs seem less and less connected to actual history). Last year, they commissioned their first dramatic mini-series, "The Kennedys," which they then decided not to air due to outside pressures. REELZ picked up "The Kennedys," it became a hit for them, and it won multiple EMMYs at last year's ceremony. Well, I guess the ancestors of the Hatfields and the McCoys don't have as much political clout as the remaining Kennedy clan, because no complaints stopped the ambitious three part "Hatfields and McCoys" from airing. Proving that there is still life for the mini-series format outside of premium cable, "Hatfields and McCoys" was an instant success and a ratings blockbuster. With 13.9 viewers (for the initial broadcast), the show became the number one rated non-sporting event in basic cable history. Pretty good news for the network! Pretty good news for the viewers as well, it almost ensures we'll see History continue to dabble in dramatic programming.

Many already know the story behind this classic feud, so I'll be brief. This is a solidly constructed and well acted project. Kevin Costner does a good job as the stoic Hatfield patriarch and Bill Paxton has a showier bit as the head of the McCoy clan. As the program begins, there are so many peripheral characters that it might take a bit to align everyone into their proper relationships. Once that is done, however, I think each part of the mini-series gets progressively more involving. The Hatfields make out slightly better in terms of representation. Tom Berenger, as Hatfield uncle Jim Vance, is really the catalyst that begins the feud. Almost every bad act from their side of the quarrel stems from Vance, the other family members are more level headed or tend to react justifiably. The McCoys don't fare quite as well, with various supporting characters perpetuating injustices.

There are quite a few good performances throughout. Matt Barr and Lindsay Pulsipher own a lot of Part One as star crossed lovers and both are likable and believable. In addition to Berenger, other great character actors like Powers Boothe and Mare Winningham make an impact. Jena Malone and Andrew Howard bring a lot of vitality as villains in the final installment. But the cast is really immense, you could arguably highlight any number of other actors. I don't think, in the end, that "Hatfields and McCoys" is groundbreaking or revolutionary. But it is solid storytelling and fitfully entertaining. The History Channel will find itself attending this year's primetime EMMY awards in a big way. Let the Hatfields and McCoys battle it out for acting honors, that would be a nice irony. KGHarris, 6/12.

Among the Emmy Nominations:
Outstanding Miniseries of Movie
Bill Paxton: Lead Actor
Kevin Costner: Lead Actor
Tom Berenger: Supporting Actor
Mare Winningham: Supporting Actress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome---One of the few gems in the film industry!, September 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Absolutely enjoyed this elite series. One of the VERY few true gems in the film industry. Never boring, never predictable, all-involving and captivating!
Definitely a keeper and multiple-viewings treasure!1-04 [HD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was one of the best movies I've ever seen. And to think it was based on a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, January 29, 2014
By 
Jonathan P. Rose (Dallas, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great adaptation of the Hatfields & McCoys. A three part series that if your into westerns you cant help but like. My only regret was the love story... Sometimes I like a love story, but not in the middle of a good western.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie!, January 1, 2014
By 
TKafi (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've never been a history buff, but this was an amazing movie; one of my favorites and a must have in my video library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I cant believe I spent twenty dollars to watch this, but it was worth it, December 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatfields & McCoys Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
I watched the first part on tv and then had to buy the next sequential parts and stay up all nigh to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mountain madness straight up...., September 11, 2013
The Hatfields and McCoys plays out on screen impeccably, thanks to bulls-eye performances by the entire cast, most notably Kevin Costner, who assumes the role of the formidable "Devil Anse," with an astonishing likeness. Granted, Costner is one very versatile actor who defies typecasting. Yet...the thought of the boyishly handsome, even-featured, Kevin Costner playing the role of craggy, hook-nosed patriarch, Devil Anse Hatfield, seems unimaginable and ill advised. But we are talking about Kevin Costner, of course, the same actor who appears equally at home on a baseball diamond, putting green. Indian reservation, and a world under water. To say he mastered the part of Devil Anderson ("Anse") Hatfield would be giving the actor short shrift. He became the man in every sense of the word -- gestures, locution, facial expressions.

The mini-series captures the raw essence of frontier life in rural Appalachia but galvanizes the mundane with gunshots, grit and hair-trigger reactions. The imperative to defend what is theirs seems to reflect the survivor mentality of settlers in rural America. However, a continual call to arms represents the extreme extent to which these two clans will go in their efforts to defend their property and their families. The curious may search for an explanation as to what caused these people to settle their disputes differently from other Americans living during that era.

Surprisingly, filming took place in the forests of Transylvania, Romania, at the Carpathian Mountain foothills, a setting which apparently simulates the untamed, rustic beauty of Appalachia quite effectively.

Convincing performances by an extraordinary ensemble of actors pump energy, family pride and a firestorm of emotions into every second of this 3-part series. Matt Barr plays Johnsie Hatfield, the charming, handsome suitor of Rosanna McCoy, played by Jennifer Pulsivar. The searing, hormonal fusion between these achingly beautiful lovers leads to a wrenching resolution.

Lest the film's critics decry the movie's lack of humor, it should be noted that the story focuses primarily on the legendary feud, hardly reasons to make merry. Additionally, frontier settlers designated special occasions for gaiety which often involved the entire townsfolk, as depicted at the beginning of the series and in a later scene, which actually shows Devil Anse and his wife dancing.

Neither family submits to idle conversation; there is work to be done and money to be made, not to mention axes to grind. Interestingly, the film's arresting moments need little in the way of verbal enhancement. One scene of particular intensity involves Devil Anse's instantaneous, harsh reaction towards son, Johnsie, after learning of the young man's romantic involvement with Rosanna McCoy. Devil Anse evidently possesses a short fuse but a long memory; even after Johnsie and Rosanna's romance has ended, he beholds Johnsie with a calculated, menacing demeanor, so much so that when he announces his intent to take the boy on a fishing outing his wife looks on with abject fear and foreboding. The question ringing through the silence seems to ask whether the Hatfield clan - and indeed, Devil Anse's own children - are exempt from his violent, often deadly, acts of vengeance.

Hatfields and McCoys throws no stones, but makes no bones, either, about the priorities and truths those mountain people held dear, and the unconventional means by which they upheld them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatfields & McCoys Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
I have watched this series twice now and love it. I recently bought it for my Kindle to watch while flying to a vacation spot. It is one of Kevin Costner's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, May 19, 2013
By 
Julia K. Robertson (Selah, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatfields & McCoys Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
Excellent series about a unique historical event in history. Kevin Costner and others do an outstanding job in this series. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hubby loved this!, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatfields & McCoys Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
MY husband is a history junkie and loved this show. was disappointed they didn't have more episodes. it was realistic and followed the history version closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.