Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Top-Level Overview of the Feud
If you know nothing about the Hatfield & McCoy Feud this video is a nice introduction. It is well produced and reasonably accurate. They interview several descendents of the original families plus the best-known authors of books on the subject. There's not a lot of detail though. If you really want to understand the relationships between the families, the geography of the...
Published on May 30, 2012 by Rex

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Begins with Confusion but Improves
This is not one of the Biography Channel's better efforts, especially in the beginning, but it does improve. The confusion at the beginning comes from the fact that a synopsis of the entire feud is presented in just a few minutes. After that, the progression of the feud is chronicled. The chronicling is done fairly well. The problem is that it is not readily apparent that...
Published on April 28, 2006 by John A Lee III


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Top-Level Overview of the Feud, May 30, 2012
By 
Rex (Northern Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you know nothing about the Hatfield & McCoy Feud this video is a nice introduction. It is well produced and reasonably accurate. They interview several descendents of the original families plus the best-known authors of books on the subject. There's not a lot of detail though. If you really want to understand the relationships between the families, the geography of the region and the political situation you'll need to do quite a bit of additional reading and study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Begins with Confusion but Improves, April 28, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not one of the Biography Channel's better efforts, especially in the beginning, but it does improve. The confusion at the beginning comes from the fact that a synopsis of the entire feud is presented in just a few minutes. After that, the progression of the feud is chronicled. The chronicling is done fairly well. The problem is that it is not readily apparent that the first part has ended and the second has begun. This leads to a bit of confusion, at least in me, as to what was actually happening. When it does become apparent, though, it is a quality program, though not the most interesting.

The feud took place shortly after the Civil War. It was not the worst such event to happen in the area but it was the one that captured the imagination of the press. From these events, we get our modern stereotypes of the hillbilly hicks. To a great degree, the image was the construction of the press. Some things never change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted to see this before I watched the movie. I found it to be honest about these two families.....sad as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth IS Better Than Fiction, July 13, 2013
By 
Patty Gentry (Virginia Beach, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatfields & Mccoys: An American Feud (DVD)
This is wonderful documentary about the real lives of the Hatfields and McCoys. The TV movie was great; but, the facts clear up a few "Hollywood" mistakes. Anyone interested in the truth about these two feuding families should get this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hatfields and Mccoys: an american feud, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatfields & Mccoys: An American Feud (DVD)
was puzzled when I received it as the picture on disk cover was much different than the one shown on site. It is pretty much pretty basic info and if you have done any research on the Hatfields and Mccoys this is pretty well know already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out of many stories of these families, I picked this.., February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatfields & Mccoys: An American Feud (DVD)
Not bad, but a lot of repetition.. like in the TV shows. We met one of the family members (tiny fire cracker lady) and have been fascinated of the family tale ever since.. tells the story, even if it still is a bit blurry..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The most famous American feud, February 5, 2013
This review is from: Hatfields & Mccoys: An American Feud (DVD)
The film shows the multi-layered biography of conflict between Hatfields and McCoys families. The way of presentation of this vendetta (or family feud) I estimate a good plus. Without pathos, no romance, just dry facts from different points of view. Personaly I recommend :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative., January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hatfields & Mccoys: An American Feud (DVD)
You'll learn things that the movie didn't tell you. It was informative without being boring. I enjoyed it and recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's all right, September 22, 2012
By 
Tarona (Princeton, Ma.) - See all my reviews
It probably is perfect, but I was hoping for a little more detail.....though it's likely that it's right on as far as it goes. Of course Hollywood embellishes everything so the film is much more exciting. The book (and the reality), by comparison is a little dull....darn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was interesting as supporting information for the movie, The Hatfields and the McCoys. The story of the Hatfields and the McCoys is of interest because it takes place partly in West Virginia where I currently live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hatfields & Mccoys: An American Feud
Hatfields & Mccoys: An American Feud by Biography (DVD - 2012)
$19.98 $6.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.