Hating God: The Untold Story of Misotheism and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $31.95
  • Save: $4.61 (14%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by GK Merchant
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: book is in excellent condition. "book sale" stamp on cover page, otherwise Pages are free from marking and highlighting.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Hating God: The Untold Story of Misotheism Hardcover – November 5, 2010


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$27.34
$9.40 $0.06
Best%20Books%20of%202014

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
12 Days of Kindle Book Deals
Load your library with Amazon's editors' picks, $2.99 or less each today only. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press; First Edition edition (November 5, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0199751382
  • ISBN-13: 978-0199751389
  • Product Dimensions: 9.3 x 0.9 x 6.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,498,092 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Schweizer, an associate professor of English at Long Island University (see InProfile in this issue), dissects the contemporary guard of angry atheists (Hitchens, Dawkins, Harris et al.) by placing the phenomenon in historical and literary context to show roots and development. He likes the term "misotheism" to capture the virulence of the god-haters and draws mostly from misotheists from 1800 onward, though he looks at the book of Job. Most god-haters (including Shelley, Camus, and Zora Neale Hurston, whose inclusion might surprise some) have used literature to articulate and disguise their briefs against a divinity they blame for suffering, catastrophe, and/or mass slaughter. Schweizer's textual readings are close and careful. Some figures he concentrates on are less than compelling choices; nobody reads Swinburne anymore except graduate students of English. This book provides a useful reminder that a long history of cursing God precedes the present vogue--and society has not yet collapsed from the corrosive effects of angry atheism. (Nov.)
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review


"In Hating God, Bernard Schweizer distinguishes between atheists---those who conclude from the arbitrary and cruel acts of God that he does not exist---and misotheists---those who believe in God but engage in a life-long struggle with his apparent indifference to the world he has created. It is misotheists, those who wrestle with God in the manner of Jacob and Job, who create the rich literary tradition Schweizer so persuasively illuminates in this important book."--Stanley Fish, author of The Fugitive in Flight: Faith, Liberalism, and Law in a Classic TV Show


"Bernard Schweizer makes a long overdue distinction between atheism -- the denial of God's existence -- and misotheism -- the morally inspired hatred of God, and, in the process, reintroduces us to some of the most subversive religious thinkers who have ever lived, from Friedrich Nietzsche to Gore Vidal and Zora Neale Hurston. Hating God is one of the most exhilarating excursions into religious studies that you will ever take!"

--Barbara Ehrenreich, author of Bright-Sided: How the Relentless Promotion of Positive Thinking Has Undermined America


"Schweizer skilfully plumbs pathology and pathos among real and imagined agonizers."--The Journal of Theological Studies



More About the Author

Bernard Schweizer, an Associate Professor of English at Long Island University in Brooklyn (NY), is a widely respected writer and teacher. Originally from Switzerland, Prof. Schweizer believes passionately in encouraging a living interaction between literature and culture. He specializes in the study of iconoclasts and rebels, including the controversial writer and public intellectual Rebecca West. In his third book, Hating God, he explores the fascinating history behind the religious rebels he calls misotheists-that is, people of high moral caliber and profound humanity who cannot tolerate God's indifference or outright cruelty toward his creation.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 7 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Rolando Monello on April 2, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Schweizer's book presents an amazingly new kettle of fish on the religious scene, which I have been studying academically for years. I wonder if the concept of "misotheism," which fills a gap in the system of religious classification, will spawn a following, one that either applauds the literati of his mentioning or alternatively stands up for their own views which, I surmise, may have been subconsciously tucked away. Mister Schweizer is shedding light on an area, which has surprisingly enough remained unnoticed until he blew some cobwebs from the book-covers of the classics and opened their content to a fresh viewing. Aware of the diverse emotions the misotheistic view may elicit, I hope the mere observation of an intellectual and literary stratum does not attract a negative response in defense of a deity, whose existence amazingly enough is not questioned but in a twisted manner reinforced by the misotheists. A believer in God may have a "problem" with Satanism as a form of opposition to her deity, but a negative reinforcement of God might be a worse position yet - and so the miso-misotheist would be born. I congratulate Mister Schweizer for the discovery of a phenomenon hiding in plain sight.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful By QuestioningBeliever on January 24, 2011
Format: Hardcover
I was immediately drawn to this book because it presents a completely new class of religious rebellion.
In response to the increasing attention being given to atheists such as Richard Dawkins and Christopher Hitchens, this book seems to have found an emerging populace that have become increasingly more vocal about their feelings of discontent towards God.

In this book (which I have read and really enjoyed) Schweizer explains how this sort of god hatred has been around for many years, and because of the fear associated with expressing such blasphemous beliefs, was expressed primarily through literature. The book illustrates how literary giants such as Friedrich Nietzsche, Mark Twain, Zora Neale Hurston, Rebecca West, Elie Wiesel, and Philip Pullman all felt profound hatred towards God.

When I look at the world today, with increasing secularism, religiously motivated mass bloodshed, and considerable feelings of disillusionment in personal faith, this book seems to outline a lot of the sentiments that have apparently been around for a long time, but have not, until now, been openly discussed.

Check out the website as well.

hatinggod.com
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Lorenzo Lorenzo Luaces Valencia on September 24, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Not an atheist book or not so much a 'how to' or 'why' guide on nonbelieving or hating God. Instead this book discusses the surprisingly vast, sometimes subtle, literary tradition of hating god(s). I couldn't think of a reasons why believers would want to read it but it should be enjoyable and informative for the rest of us
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Rather than taking a holistic approach to the topic and exploring the cultural history and philosophical idea of misotheism, Bernard Schweizer spends a great deal focused on misotheistic ideas that crop up in literature. As a result, 2/3 of this book is saddled with literary analysis. That, in a nutshell, is my gripe with a book subtitled "the untold story of misotheism." This is misleading. "Hating God: A Literary Tradition" would have been more appropriate. Freethinkers and atheists looking for an expansive polemic in the vein of Christopher Hitchens, Sam Harris, or Daniel Dennett will be disappointed. Much of the book is concerned with isolating and analyzing key passages by six authors who despised God. It's as if Schweizer uses misotheism as a pretense to write a book about these authors. That's fine, but the title and presentation of the book should make that clear from the outset.

What we get here are really two books. Part One is a chronological survey of misotheistic thought from the ancient philosophers to early 20th century thinkers. Part Two analyzes six authors whose works are misotheistic to some degree. Part One is outstanding. It provides compelling definitions of various strains of theism and contrasts them with misotheism. Schweizer supplies a useful taxonomy of ists and isms, distinguishing traditional atheism from new atheism and antitheism from agnosticism. He then examines the origins of misotheism, which is brilliantly traced back to Job's wife, winds its way through Epicurus and Percy Bysshe Shelley, and culminates in Nietzsche and Camus. Schweizer discusses several exponents of misotheism like Pierre-Joseph Proudhon and Mikhail Bakunin, both of whom are especially intriguing figures worth reading about.

So Part One is great, but it's only 80 pages.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again