Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gift of Independence
In a world where children have so little autonomy, my children found delight as they were given the choice to create their own adventure. To any parent who regularly encourages reading - this is a winner on so many levels, including being fun for the parent. Who wouldn't want to relive this great concept with their children. Fun! Fun! Fun!
Published on September 7, 2007 by P. Stevens

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Haunted House?
Haunted House does actually have a haunted house, but it plays a much smaller role in the book than you'd expect. It really should be called Lost Dog as your dog, Homer, scurries away at the beginning, and you have to find him. The book was definitely written for a 6-8 year old because there is not much interesting vocabulary otherwise, and the possible endings put...
Published on June 11, 2006 by FizzWiz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gift of Independence, September 7, 2007
By 
P. Stevens (Vergennes, VT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) (Paperback)
In a world where children have so little autonomy, my children found delight as they were given the choice to create their own adventure. To any parent who regularly encourages reading - this is a winner on so many levels, including being fun for the parent. Who wouldn't want to relive this great concept with their children. Fun! Fun! Fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, January 6, 2008
This review is from: The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) (Paperback)
My kids love this book. I have a Kindergarden boy and a 2nd grade girl, and they both really like this book. They are even reading it on their own. I enjoy the book also. It isn't scary which was a huge concern of mine. I would recommend this book for ages K and up, but at a reading level of 2nd grade and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Haunted House?, June 11, 2006
By 
FizzWiz (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
Haunted House does actually have a haunted house, but it plays a much smaller role in the book than you'd expect. It really should be called Lost Dog as your dog, Homer, scurries away at the beginning, and you have to find him. The book was definitely written for a 6-8 year old because there is not much interesting vocabulary otherwise, and the possible endings put together don't really add up well. For instance, in one ending, it was all a dream, in another ending, you end up in your front yard with your dog Homer, in another a surprise birthday party for you, in another, you hear fireworks because it's July 4. In one of the endings, you end up at a baseball field, but there's nothing about what happened to your dog, Homer, or if it was a dream. With the combination of endings, if you read them all, you may think well it's all a dream to begin with, but apparently your birthday is on July 4 and you really have a dog named Homer. This assumption would almost work, except that in one of the endings you turn into a turtle. After you turn into a turtle, it just ends. A good attempt for a bad ending. I thought that ending was going to turn out just as sappy as most of the others.

In certain scenarios, you can suddenly walk or fly through air or become a giant eating gingerbread house cookies. Nice ideas, but it feels too much like the author, R.A. Montgomery, was interested in only the fun factor with no cohesive theme for sticking to the title of the book more. While it's good to make a book fun, from a critical point of view, some more sensibility would make it better even though it's all meant to be imaginery. There can be sensibility even in an imaginary world, and too much randomness sometimes is less entertaining and dumb. For anyone who has a growing sense of the art of reading, this book just does not cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice concept endings are lacking, August 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) (Paperback)
My 4 y/o loves the Choose Your Own Adventure books and what a great concept to gear them towards a younger audience! The positives of this book are:
easy vocabulary
very child friendly and not scary at all
giving the child control of the story
can breeze through all 12 endings fairly quickly without a ton of redundancy

Negatives:
grammatical structure sometimes seems awkward
endings are weak and unexciting
no educational incorporation as in the older child series of CYOA

I really wish Montgomery would have taken the same style as in "The Abominable Snowman", "Journey Under the Sea", etc and added some educational value to the books and stronger, more incorporated endings... however, these are great for the 3 year old range and a bit beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too random, August 17, 2010
By 
Ben Allen (Orion, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) (Paperback)
I loved CYOA books as a kid; I still have my collection and will pass them along when my kids are old enough. I don't have any of the old ones for younger readers, so I picked up this newer one. This one is just too strange and nonsensical. There's no story flow from page to page, and there's no connection between your choices and what happens. I found this to be a poor entry in the series. I always did prefer Edward Packard's books, but I still expect higher quality from R.A. I hope the other new ones are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great "Choose-Your-Own-Adventure" For Younger Kids..., May 2, 1998
By A Customer
I love "Choose-Your-Own-Adventure" stories, and this largely light-hearted one is great for the younger kids. As to the storyline(s), I offer but one piece of advice: don't take candy from strangers -- especially if they're Furry Turtles! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for 12 year old level, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) (Paperback)
The book was too easy for my 10 year old granddaughter. It was suppose to be for those children up to 12 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun!, May 19, 2010
By 
Laura "lolagranola91" (Durand, WI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) (Paperback)
I remember reading these types of books as a kid and enjoying them - my kids do too! My youngest doesn't have patience for longer books yet - but he found the novel concept of being able to change the outcome of the story fascinating and I had to read the book five times with him picking different outcomes each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great books for young readers, July 15, 2014
By 
Sarah B (Joliet, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) (Paperback)
My son loves these books. He is going into 2nd grade and has no problem reading them. They are very engaging and adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter book, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) (Paperback)
Our 7-year-old loves this book. Simple enough for him to read on his own. Our 3-year-old book enjoys it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks)
The Haunted House (Choose Your Own Adventure - Dragonlarks) by R. A. Montgomery (Paperback - August 30, 2011)
$7.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.