Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great upgrade from the original
Overall a fun game with some challenging levels. A complete upgrade from the 1980's version. The graphics are good the sound effects are funny. I am glad to see that Atari decided to release this game. What could be better than a Haunted House? Great for kids and adults and a very fair price.
Published on October 2, 2010 by D. Villella

versus
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok...
Got the new Haunted House game a few days ago and the family breezed through it. The graphics are ok, and yes the one liners are repetative but its a wii game so I wasn't looking for some elaborate story. Besides, the journal entries you collect tell the story as you go. Its a fun enough game that is incredibly simple to pick up and play.

I have to say though...
Published on October 12, 2010 by Ano


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok..., October 12, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Got the new Haunted House game a few days ago and the family breezed through it. The graphics are ok, and yes the one liners are repetative but its a wii game so I wasn't looking for some elaborate story. Besides, the journal entries you collect tell the story as you go. Its a fun enough game that is incredibly simple to pick up and play.

I have to say though that I was really hoping this would be a bit more complex than it is, something that I could play with kids or my wife and still be challenged. Even when playing it on difficult the only difference seemed to be that there are less save points, which isn't a big deal since you have essentially have unlimited lives. It is a good memory game though, trying to remember where you've been in the house and where you might still need to go. Overall I would recommend it for younger kids (5-13), because it is not really scary and fairly simple to navigate (when you fight "boss" levels they spell out very clearly what you need to do to beat them, and the only "puzzles" involve shining colored lights), but say pass for older kids (14+) because it really won't keep their attention for longer than a week. I guess it just depends on what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great upgrade from the original, October 2, 2010
By 
D. Villella "Dom V." (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Overall a fun game with some challenging levels. A complete upgrade from the 1980's version. The graphics are good the sound effects are funny. I am glad to see that Atari decided to release this game. What could be better than a Haunted House? Great for kids and adults and a very fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Survival Horror Game Gets a Modern Update, October 6, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I played and loved the original Haunted House on the Atari 2600 about 30 years ago, this updated remake exceeded my expectations. It retains the unique flavor of the original and adds modern graphics, gameplay, effects and doesn't take itself too seriously. The creators of this game have done an outstanding job of appealing to both old fans and newcomers alike. This is a great family game, fun and not too scary, my kids had a blast playing along with me. For $19.99, this game is a no-brainer, you can't go wrong. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Nod to the Atari 2600 Original, October 17, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I just beat Haunted House. I can honestly say that I am one of three people who played this and since I was a big fan of the original Atari 2600 version, I had to pick this one up.

In a nutshell, it was a fun game. I had a hard time putting it down. Although be prepared to feel like you are doing the same thing each and every level. Basically it goes like this:

You start out in a room with a fireplace, you search a bunch of rooms with your standard ghost or rat protruding the area, lead them to a fireplace if you can, find the key, search the next room, lead them to a fireplace, find another key, and then find the door that gets you out of the level.

As the game progresses, you will get weapons that you can reuse over and over again without resorting to your standard torch or lanterns that you can acquire. These are actual weapons that don't run out of supply. They can range from some Sour On Eye, Burning branch, a staff, and some skeleton head. They can also be used for boss encounters.

That brings me to the bosses which the game has plenty. There's a bunch of bats that can be put out by lighting the fireplaces, a room with four huge spiders that you can easily dispatch by letting the web on fire and so on. The last boss of the game was actually pretty easy and not as tough as the huge gargoyle boss that I faced that I barely got past. It basically has you in this small room full of enemies attacking you. It wasn't easy. And don't worry about getting lost on beating these bosses, as the game pretty much tells you.

The game only has like two or three pieces of music: Title screen music/ level music/ and boss music. They are easy on the ears and matches the horror theme quite well. The sound effects, however, gets rather repetitive. You will hear the same background noises of babies crying or someone laughing looping over and over. Even if it does sound even remotely scary, your character will usually quip a one liner that will remind you that this is a cartoon game.

This is a good twenty bucks well spent even if I did beat this game in less than a week. I really like the eyes in the dark that pays tribute to the 2600 original. If you don't expect anything mind blowing or scary, you will feel right at home with Haunted House. No puns intended. I mean it, it just came out that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atari has made a decent update of their classic 2600 game., January 31, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Having played the original HAUNTED HOUSE game on a 2600 when I was a kid, I was curious to see how Atari would adapt it to the Wii and I'm happy to say that they did a pretty good job. You are still running around in the dark for much of the game (with your character being represented on screen by a pair of eyes, just as in the original) and you are still looking for keys to unlock doors and being attacked by ghosts. The game designers have tried to add a plot to the game this time around but it is still essentially a puzzle game. To understand the "plot" you will have to read the many journals and diary pages that you find scattered around the house. If you fail to find some pages ... too bad. The plot isn't at all essential to the game play anyway. It involves trying to find your missing grandfather and finding pieces of a mysterious supernatural urn and it is pretty lame. The fun comes in trying to solve what is a series of simple mazes. What makes the game difficult is that you will be going through the mazes in total darkness much of the time. There are several different sorts of monsters that attack you as you explore the rooms in the house but you don't fight them, you get rid of them by exposing them to various light sources (and the occasional weapon like the Holy Hand Grenade). It's all very strange.

During the game you will explore four different sections of the Haunted House starting on the main floor of the mansion and then going to the attic, basement and finally catacombs. Each section has four levels and a boss battle for a total of 20 levels in all. It's probably five levels too long as I was ready for the game to be over quite a while before it was. The problem is that aside from the occasional boss fight (which does not actually involve any fighting) the game play is pretty much exactly the same from start to finish. You will light at least 50 fire places (what sort of house has this many fireplaces?) and find hundreds of charged cell phones, torches, matches and lanterns of assorted colors. You will find tons of coins (I finished the game and never did learn the purpose of these coins as they can't be used to buy anything or level your character up) and there are also numerous other useless items that you can collect for your "trophy room" such as hocky masks and finger knive gloves etc. None of these objects serve any purpose. All you really need are the red, blue and green lanterns, some door keys and a light source that serves as a weapon (the flaming branch and the skull are both pretty good).

This is a game that any casual gamer can pick and play and have a pretty good time with. It certainly isn't DEAD RISING or RESIDENT EVIL but it does have a nice spooky atmosphere about it (albeit in a Scooby Doo sort of way) and I had fun playing it. The graphics (when you can see them) are fine and there is some cool music. The boss fights are quick but fun and the weird fire spider monster at the end of the basement level is by far the best. All in all I enjoyed this game. It certainly has flaws but it is very cheap and provides enough entertainment to make it worth playing. It's cool to see that after all these years Atari can still produce an entertaining old school style game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
thiis is a great game to play the whole family plays it some day we will beat it maybe but love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Haunted House Nintendo Wii, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I like this game, but wish I had more light than just matches and/or a flashlight that is hard to find. I do not get too far in this game before I give up from having no light, or patience. I might need to go and find a walkthrough that can help,and then I would be able to enjoy playing this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FUN, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
NICE LITTLE GAME FOR KIDS (AND ADULTS) KIND OF DIFFICULT BUT NOTHING MY SON CANT FIGURE OUT. FUN FUN FUN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Maybe we are missing something, but this seems to be a pretty boring game. We started it and played for an hour or so, but haven't returned to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Old school, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunted House - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Really old school not in tune with any games nowadays and it becomes repetitive. Maybe fun for someone nostalgic for the old game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Haunted House - Nintendo Wii
Haunted House - Nintendo Wii by Atari Inc. (Nintendo Wii)
$19.99 $16.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.