Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new trend in scary movies? The quality is rising.
I have not seen a good movie in this genre in many, many years. Now, I have seen two within a few days. This movie and "The Conjuring." I hope there is a new trend in the genre. These type movies are generally lacking in the areas that matter the most, acting and writing, even if the underlying premise is pretty good.

"The Conjuring" relies upon...
Published 8 months ago by WakkyWabbit

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining !
This is a different kind of ghost story and it is a good effort. I got in to it but the pay off was not astounding. It is more like a good made for tv entry. The actors all do a compentent job. Breslin is in charge and the story pivots around her. She is a likable and believable character and that helps.
This is one of the new idea ghost stories and definitely worth...
Published 3 months ago by Pulpman


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new trend in scary movies? The quality is rising., October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunter (Amazon Instant Video)
I have not seen a good movie in this genre in many, many years. Now, I have seen two within a few days. This movie and "The Conjuring." I hope there is a new trend in the genre. These type movies are generally lacking in the areas that matter the most, acting and writing, even if the underlying premise is pretty good.

"The Conjuring" relies upon a premise that has been done to death. A family moves into a home possessed by an evil spirit and they must rid the home of the entity. "Haunter" takes a new twist on this type story and does a fairly decent job. Although the movie has an overall surreal effect that leaves the viewer in a somewhat confused daze, it continues to remain interesting. After this surreal effects dissipates, the movie becomes more of a thriller.

The acting, especially by the lead actress Abigail Breslin, is well done. Again, a rarity in these type movies.

Trying to write a movie like this, bringing multiple stories/phases/realities/whatever is not easy. This movie does ok in that department. At times I think the writing slagged and suffered a bit but it did not drag out. Overall, everything came together well.

No real special effects for this movie. This movie relies upon storytelling and acting. Audio and filming are excellent.

Family friendly: No nudity, no foul language. Murder is observed but not gruesome. I think the most unfriendly family parts would be the anger scenes but they are not too bad. This movie is ok to watch with young kids in the room, in my opinion,

This is not a scary movie but a nice Halloween selection for adults wanting a more quality type movie. "The Conjuring" is also a quality selection.

Normally, I would rate this movie with 3 stars, but because it rises above its class in genre and the makers seemed to care about the movie in general, it gets 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Ghost story, Family Friendly, October 25, 2013
This review is from: Haunter (Amazon Instant Video)
No dismembered , brutalized women !

How refreshing !
Real plot and story telling , not just gore and stupidity.
In the tradition of The Others , not Texas Chainsaw Massacre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunter (Amazon Instant Video)
I am one who loves a good scary movie and it's getting more difficult to find one I enjoy. But this movie was one that was well put together and I liked it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunter Is A Slow Building Fun Old School Spook Story, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I rented this film on a whim at my local movie store. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it. The movie is slow building and there is almost no gore in it at all. I would say stay away if you are into the slasher blood and guts movies for this film is not. Haunter is old school in the sense that it delivers a great story and creates an eerie feel and mood through out its entire length. The heroine of the film is a young girl and this quickly reminded me of some of the more familiar horror movies from the 80s. The movie is repetitive at the beginning and takes a little bit of time to get you into what exactly is going on. Abigail Breslin is really terrific in this movie! She displays so much potential to be a huge movie star especially as she gets older that one cannot comprehend how she isn't already. Haunter is the perfect movie to throw in on a rainy dismal day in October while you are curled up on a couch drinking hot chocolate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining !, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a different kind of ghost story and it is a good effort. I got in to it but the pay off was not astounding. It is more like a good made for tv entry. The actors all do a compentent job. Breslin is in charge and the story pivots around her. She is a likable and believable character and that helps.
This is one of the new idea ghost stories and definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JUST LIKE PAC-MAN, October 26, 2013
This review is from: Haunter (Amazon Instant Video)
***** Contains plot spoiler that comes at 30 minutes into film...or not if you read the story line*****

Lisa (Abigail Breslin) wakes up as Bill Murray every morning ala "Ground Hog Day" in 1985. At 30 minutes into the film she also realizes she is Nicole Kidman from "The Others." (Sorry if you haven't seen that film.) It seems she is trapped inside the house with the ghost of a serial killer (Stephen McHattie) who is still active.

The film was done rather smartly. There is an error early on when mom (Samantha Weinstein) calls Robbie (Peter DaCunha) "Buster Brown" one day and then "Charlie Brown" the next day when the days are supposed to be identical. Bad editing that could have been changed with a simple voice over.

Lisa, being our main character and hero also provides us with the film target audience of young teen girls. The horror is mostly subtle. Although the guy is a serial killer, the film refrains from the gore aspect with "intense" scenes not being "Hell Raiser"intense.

I watched this film without reading the storyline and found trying to figure out what was going on enjoyable. This is a film you might want to watch with the family without letting them read the story line.

Would make a great horror rental.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere in limbo of 'I don't like it' & 'it's ok', June 6, 2014
By 
This review is from: Haunter (Amazon Instant Video)
To try and describe this movie, it's not that easy for me without giving away spoilers, but put it this way, it's kind of something like "The Others" meets "Nightmare on Elm St" with a bit of a "Ground Hog Day" situation (situation, nothing like the movie).

Abigail Breslin plays a rather borderline emo teenager who discovers things are not quite around the house or with her life. She's finding herself waking up everyday to the same thing. The film centers around her and her parents, and her little brother who as she uncovers things, realizes a secret they have not figured out yet. Without trying to give too much away, she ends up finding a way to communicate with a girl from the past, and another from the future. However, don't think Back To The Future or anything, it's not about time traveling. That will make some sense if you have seen the film. In order for things to turn out for the best, she has to find out what is going on, and who is behind it?

There are parts of this movie that are pretty confusing, but by the time it's finished, everything comes together and makes sense... sort of. There are plenty of questions left to ask, but I won't go into them by mentioning them here, as they would be spoilers.

What isn't a spoiler is saying the way you expect the film to go in, doesn't quite go there, and perhaps thats why there is quite a lot of negative votes and reviews about this film. So much of it either doesn't make sense, or it's creating it's own film laws that people have seen so many times in other movies and feel this one's laws it's creating are going against previous ones that stood out well.

It's an odd tale... but it's in no way a horror film. It's more just a bit of a thriller, but more along the lines of a spooky ... kids movie? It also reminded me a bit of a few PG rated ghost shows of the past. Horror and gore fans will have absolutely no interest in this, unless you kind of want to see a really out there re-telling of Freddy Kruger?

In the end, I didn't hate it, but I did not like it either. It's somewhere in between. It's filmed well, the effects are ok, the acting is alright, there is nothing really say against the production of the film... it's just, not a strong enough story to make me want to ever see it again. It's not a keeper. It's a rental/dl, see it once, and so be it. There is little to nothing much memorable or would be considered something added to classic moments in cinema. So, just see it if it interests you, but I would not recommend buying it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Movie story-tellers do their homework!, March 4, 2014
This review is from: Haunter (DVD)
I like it when those who produce movies like this one do take the time to do their homework BEFORE writing their scripts and directing the movie!

While this movie may start off a little slow, those scenes accelerate into a complex interplay of stories within stories. This is not your usual fast Hollywood action movie that plays from a straight chronological time frame. You will appreciate this movie IF you yourself understand some complexities that exist within the supernatural worlds.

This story shows alternate realities after one is "dead" (eg. "boring" time loops, historical replays, etc.), the reality of psychometry among the dead and the living, and the fleeting connections made between spirits and the living.

I personally like this movie.

If you're looking for a fast-paced Hollywood action movie, even with a supernatural theme, this movie could make you take your time in chewing your popcorn....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunter (Amazon Instant Video)
Haunted is something unheard of in the horror genre. Without spoiling it, there were quite a few twists and just generally surprising turns. I watch a lot of horror movies and I absolutely loved this one. The end is fantastic, but don't turn it off when it fades out when it seems like the end; it's not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEATH BECOMES HER., April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunter (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie may not seem like a typical horror flick, but at least it has the feelings and emotions that will stay in your mind for quite some time. It is what you guys like to call a psychological thriller and a very well thought out family drama. Don't take my word for it, just see it to believe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Haunter [Blu-ray]
Haunter [Blu-ray] by Vincenzo Natali (Blu-ray - 2014)
$29.98 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.