Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected
This movie was very good, but comparing it to Carrie is ludicrous. For those of you who remember those late night made-for-tv thriller movies in the 70's, should really enjoy this.
Published on October 24, 2009 by Vandy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special and not a ghost movie....
Its just a shame that these days all movies that are advertised as being ghost movies are really movies about demons. I believe in ghosts not demons. I hate movies that try to pretend they are about one thing when really they are about something else. Like the Paranormal Activity movies. Those trailers and plot outlines make you think its about a ghost, but nope, the work...
Published on May 17, 2011 by Kat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special and not a ghost movie...., May 17, 2011
This review is from: Haunting of Molly Hartley (DVD)
Its just a shame that these days all movies that are advertised as being ghost movies are really movies about demons. I believe in ghosts not demons. I hate movies that try to pretend they are about one thing when really they are about something else. Like the Paranormal Activity movies. Those trailers and plot outlines make you think its about a ghost, but nope, the work of a demon.Therefore I generally don't give a flying frick about these sorts of films. This really came across as a movie for 12 year olds with nothing really going on. Nothing special and no replay value for me. I won't be watching it again. BUT, its not the worst movie I've ever seen. For a more in-depth review visit my horror movie/book review blog in my profile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bad ending, July 20, 2009
This review is from: Haunting of Molly Hartley (DVD)
I was really disapointed in this movie . it kept me interested through the whole movie and even made me jump a couple of times . the problem was that the whole movie was about one girl getting scared all the time so after a few good scares it started to get to repetitive . just a bunch of pop up's . but even that would've probably gave this movie a 4 star rating . the reason why I gave it a 2 star was because even though the movie kept me interested it had a horrible ending . this is one of those movies where the ending ruined the whole movie . it would probably be worth no more than $5 to buy just because it was good up til the end .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth your precious time, May 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Haunting of Molly Hartley (DVD)
...this is one of the most horrible films ever. There's no "plot" whatsoever, the "characters" were all scrambling around for nothing and a wasted watching time. Better go out and run around your house!

Totally not recommended at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly BAD, March 1, 2009
This review is from: Haunting of Molly Hartley (DVD)
This movie is Hauntingly BAD in every aspects.
The plot is ridiculous because it's so unreasonable. The acting and the dialogue are bland. There's no horror nor suspense. It's more like a drama than a horror. However, it also fails terribly as a drama. I don't feel a thing for the main character.

The director tried to make the film look different with a twisted and surprising ending. That only makes it worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, October 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: Haunting of Molly Hartley (DVD)
This movie was very good, but comparing it to Carrie is ludicrous. For those of you who remember those late night made-for-tv thriller movies in the 70's, should really enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What was an average thriller is severely hampered by an unsatisfying ending., November 17, 2008
By 
Steven Hedge "Movie Fan" (Somewhere "East of Eden") - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This isn't a bad little film, but it is rather lazy and quickly forgotten after viewing. It's good for a rental and one viewing, but not much more than that.

I realized as I was writing up this review that this film was all too much like so many other "pact with the devil" kind of films like Rosemary's Baby and Ghost Rider wherein someone wants out of the deal before it's, drum roll, "too late" (gasp!). In this film couples that are about to lose their child during labor are visited by a mysterious entity that offers life to the child, but takes ownership of it at the age of 18. This ownership consists of giving them a life of luxury, power, and popularity, but one loses his or her soul in the process. That's about it in the nutshell for this film.

Molly Hartley, very nicely and believably played by Haley Bennett, is the damsel in distress in this film. Earlier her mother attempted to kill her, but failed and was sentenced to an insane asylum. She is cared for by her loving and concerned dad, Medium's Jake Weber, who continues to see his deranged wife while comforting his daughter by changing schools and moving in an effort to have a fresh start. Yup, it's that cliché-ridden. Jake is always believable in any role I've seen him in and one wishes he had more to work with in this film, but he is solid support and even makes the clichéd moments seem more real.

When Molly arrives at her new school she is assigned a student adviser/guide of sorts, Alexis, who attempts to befriend her. She is the religious one that every pact with the devil movie has, but she's played with such honesty by Shanna Collins that she doesn't seem corny, but actual genuine in her beliefs. Unlike other stereotypical religious zealots in films like The Mist, she is both pleasant and not over-the-top-in-your-face religious, although I can bet others who see her will hate her. I actually liked Alexis and her character subtly develops in the film whereas the others are stagnant.

Molly is friendly enough with Alexis, but becomes closer with the local outcast kid, Leah, who is so stereotypical in the role that you will roll your eyes and yawn at her presence. She's the girl that no one likes because she isn't rich enough, pretty enough, or influential enough. You've heard it all before. Molly also befriends and catches the eye of the school hunk who appears to have won the Zach Effron,High School Musical, look-alike contest (haircut and all) and then begins to butt heads with the stereotypical jealous cheerleader ex-girlfriend.

This film is a bit of every teen angst film the proceeded it and it is grating at times; however, the acting is good enough much of the time by these young actors to make the film tolerable. Barely.

What is NOT tolerable is the very unsatisfying ending. The film focused on that we are whom we choose to be and not what others believe we are and Molly makes a clear choice near the end to NOT reap the benefits of this pact with the devil; however, after a drum roll fade out we have her basking in the joys of power and influence with absolutely no explanation as to why the change of heart. The turnaround makes no sense whatsoever. I felt rather disgusted with the ending and it's too reminiscent of those 70's horror flicks in which the devil always won. Here the devil wins and we don't even know why or how? Is this the writer's idea of how to be clever and/or sophisticated? Sorry, I just don't get it.

As far as the scares go in this film, they are often not related to the actual storyline, but rather done to just get the audience to jump in their seats a bit like flying birds out of nowhere and alarm clocks going off. Yeah, I jump in my seat from being startled like that, but that doesn't make a film scary by any means. In fact, there really isn't anything overtly scary in this film. It's a rather tame PG-13 movie and parents can relax in that there are no sex scenes to get worried about either. The rating is more for the mild violence and "adult" themes (relating to the occult world).

Overall, it's a mediocre film with a dud ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun rental, totally forgettable generic thriller, June 1, 2009
This review is from: Haunting of Molly Hartley (DVD)
I didn't think this was as bad as a lot of others seem to think. I never once found it actually scary and neither did my husband. It did keep my interest and keep me guessing, so that is worth something. As others said the story is a bit incoherent, as the writers tried very hard to make sure you were surprised! with a twist! ending. It was a decent rental, nothing you need to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of those decent flicks with a quick/disappointing/non-thought out ending., June 6, 2012
By 
This review is from: Haunting of Molly Hartley (DVD)
There is a reason this movie has nearly 40 reviewers and an average of 2.0 stars. I should have listened to what I read here. The movie is about a girl named Molly who has moved to a new town and school after her mother tried to kill her, because of something she did at her daughters birth. Molly befriends a religious nutcase and the attention of one of the guys in her class. She tries to adjust to her new school but she keeps freaking out from what looks like a trauma case from her past with her mother. By the end of the movie, not everything has been as it seems and the ending of the film is much like the opening 10 minutes... pointless and boring.

What you find out along the way becomes interesting, but the pay off doesn't build up any interest, and just leaves you thinking, "WTF was that?"... things make sense, and come together, but in a way that is disappointing and a waste of time. Had it had a better pay off, the film might have been ok, but what it is, is what it is, and it's a shame it's such a terrible ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars had potential; decent cast wasted, December 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: Haunting of Molly Hartley (DVD)
There was some potential here and I kept hoping for a good, coherent resolution. The cast did their best. Unfortunately, the screenwriters did not. I am not even sure what happened here or why anyone would care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boo! Who?, August 9, 2011
Let's get a few things straight: Molly Hartley is not haunted.
Oh, she has her issues. She hears strange noises, has odd visions of murdered women, and comes saddled with a boatload of family dysfunction. But by the strict definition of actually being haunted, there's no spirits harassing poor Molly (Haley Bennett).

Her actual problem is a big spoiler, so I'll leave it simply that this movie isn't a ghost story but another movie form entirely, updated to take place in high school, when everyone is painfully hip, pretty, and gets what they deserve in the end.

Okay, not quite what they deserve. The Haunting of Molly Hartley is actually an anti-fundamentalist rant; it seems poor Hartley is the target of divinely-inspired assassins who believe she is the incarnation of evil that must be destroyed. One of them happens to be Molly's mother (Marin Hinkle), who was remanded to an insane asylum. Things go from bad to worse when Molly tries to start a new life in a new high school with her sad-sack father (Jake Weber).

Unfortunately for Molly, her high school seethes with stereotypes: The handsome jock who takes an inordinate interest in her (Chace Crawford); the queen bee who hates her; the rebel girl who allies with her. Notably, there isn't an unattractive soul in the bunch.

And that's the problem with a movie that has nothing to do with ghosts. Anyone expecting an actual haunting will be sorely disappointed by the somewhat mundane reality that at heart is every bad girl's dream: being badder than everybody else.

The Haunting of Molly Hartley uses random scares to substitute for actual horror, too-cool-for-school dialogue to make up for actual dialogue, and steals another plot entirely to make up for the distinct lack of spiritual activity. The real horror story here is high school, but the Haunting can't even get that right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Haunting of Molly Hartley
Haunting of Molly Hartley by Mickey Liddell (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $11.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.