Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush photography and tasty recipes
The photos in this book transport the reader to settings of fantastic themed teas, such as a picnic, a Christmas celebration, a hotel tea dance, or a scholar's study. The lush photography and the care that was taken to provide appropriate illustrations to accompany the recipes is worth the price of the book alone. But wait -- there are some darn good recipes here too...
Published on December 29, 2000 by Lissy Friedman

versus
32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at best
The photos in this book are lovely, and some of the theme ideas are nice, but honestly, the recipes didn't do much for me, for the most part. If you want some inspiration, and you want some photos for ideas on creating ambience for a nice tea party, then this is a good book; if you're looking for a cookbook, best keep looking.
Published on June 20, 2002 by B. J. Riley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush photography and tasty recipes, December 29, 2000
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
The photos in this book transport the reader to settings of fantastic themed teas, such as a picnic, a Christmas celebration, a hotel tea dance, or a scholar's study. The lush photography and the care that was taken to provide appropriate illustrations to accompany the recipes is worth the price of the book alone. But wait -- there are some darn good recipes here too. I love the honey mustard chicken -- it comes out moist, even using lean white meat. The Irish soda bread is hardy and irrestistably savory with the addition of caraway seeds. And the corn muffins are perfect for a cold winter's breakfast. There is some valuable information about tea, its preparation, and the accoutrements of the tea ceremony, although the emphasis is on the western tea ceremony, as opposed to the eastern version. This book was the first I bought about tea, and it inspired a rather large collection of tea books. Please see the list I created at my Amazon home page for my recommendations on other great tea books. This book is a valuable gift from the authors to all fans of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delectible Reverie!, April 29, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
This is an outstanding book with beautiful pictures and delicious recipes. I have been collecting books on tea for many years and this is by far my favorite. I have made almost every recipe in the book (several countless times), and all have come out tasting and looking better than expected. This book is worth owning for the Victorian Poppyseed Cake recipe alone. If I could only own one tea book, this would be the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Afternoon Tea Book You Will Ever Need, January 14, 2003
By 
"itsdavid" (Grosse Pointe, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
I have been collecting books on afternoon tea for the last twenty years. This outstanding book, against which I judge all others, is a must have for anyone interested in afternoon tea. I have made almost all of the recipes many times and several items, particularly the Victorian poppyseed cake, can be found waiting in my kitchen for guests any day of the week.
Every recipe has consistantly turned out delicious and beautiful. The text is invites repeated reading by its gently lyric style and the photographs are at once dreamy and alluring. You will return to this book time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the serious tea afficionado, December 3, 1998
By 
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
This is the first book on tea I ever purchased and I often return to it. Each chapter focuses on a tea for a particular event, be it a birthday or just tea at the office while working late, and brings appropriate recipes, text, and gorgeous photographs together to whet your appetite. Many of the recipes have become standards in my kitchen; but it's the dazzling photography that makes this book a standout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at best, June 20, 2002
By 
B. J. Riley (Osceola, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
The photos in this book are lovely, and some of the theme ideas are nice, but honestly, the recipes didn't do much for me, for the most part. If you want some inspiration, and you want some photos for ideas on creating ambience for a nice tea party, then this is a good book; if you're looking for a cookbook, best keep looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tea is for timely elegance in the afternoon (T.E.A), February 12, 2008
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
"Having tea?"
"Yes, let's have tea."
"Ah, but which one?"
"Let's consult HAVING TEA and select one. Shall it be the Strawberry Cream Tea? the Sunday Afternoon tea?"
"How about the Fireside Tea for Two?"
"But we are two women..."
"So, the day is gray and dreary, the fire is cozy, the comforters warm. Maybe two women need this luxury normally granted to lovers."
"Keep going. What other teas are listed?"
"How about the English Hotel Tea?
"You mean like the one in London where we had a high tea? Or the one in Stratford-on-Avon in that lovely little hotel dining room?"

HAVING TEA is divided into chapters that group teas by: Pleasures of Tea, Tea Services, The Perfect Pot of Tea, Tea Tasting, and the Tea-Room Tradition. What is especially delightful is the coordination of tea services and dishware with the teas and location of the tea party.

Some wonderful examples: the Strawberry Cream Tea is set on a lovely spring afternoon on a veranda set with wicker furniture and white linens and traditional white porcelain cups and saucers with quaint Victorian roses. The menu includes scones: buttermilk, cream, and raisin, with strawberry jam, whipped cream, strawberries, and Queen Mary Tea.

Another: Fireside Tea for Two (or for one if you have a cat and a good book) includes these wonders--Irish Soda Bread, Wheatmeal Bread, Crumpets, Orange marmalade, Sweet Butter, and Assam Tea. I think we could call this a Good Irish Tea.

The chapter on tea tasting is fascinating. Do you know that fine teas are like fine wines and have distinctive aromas and flavors? Their "qualities reflect where they are grown: altitude, climate, soil" (51). Do you know that the moment hot water is added to the tea is called "the agony of the leaves" (52) Leading types of teas are described. One example is Lapsang Souchong: "souchong" refers to the large leaf size. The taste is "hearty, smoky, and rich in flavor" (53). Ah, like a single malt scotch!

When you reach the back of the book, you will find directions for fillings, breads, spreads. Try these tea sandwiches: Stilton cheese (to die for) crumbled over pear slices on oatmeal bread, avocado with sprouts and walnuts on whole wheat bread, asparagus spears with lemon mayonnaise on wheat bread, and cream cheese and chives on pumpernickel.

Beautiful photographs of beautiful settings, locations, lovely foods, exquisite china, flowers, candles--all elegance to sweep away the daily hobnobing of the world. I think I'll have that tea beside the fire now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Browse this book by tea service style rather than by recipe, April 28, 2008
By 
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
Having Tea packs copious amounts of information into a thin, full-color hardcover volume. Author Tricia Foley provides an introductory education on the history and pleasures of tea as well as instructions on the art of tea tasting. The majority of the book consists of tea setting layouts, which range from a cozy tea for two to a proper English hotel tea. She includes several outdoor seasonal tea services for enjoying the beverage on the lawn, at a summer harvest picnic, or in the fall countryside. For each setting, the place setting and location are photographed, a specific tea strain is recommended, and up to a half dozen recipes for finger foods, salads, main courses, and dessert are provided.

Having Tea is more of a style book than a cookbook, although the recipes are fabulous. Readers will find themselves looking at a setting and then recipes; the book is not organized in the manner of a traditional cookbook. However, with a comprehensive index, recipes of interest can be located in a flash. Includes an appendix of mail-order tea suppliers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Colorful, June 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book with many color photos of a simple pleasure and relaxing ritual we should all make time for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tasty and informative, April 17, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
I am a tea-lover and always on the lookout for a new book about tea. This book is a wonderful mix of recipes and information about formal and informal tea customs. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorites!, October 3, 2011
This review is from: Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings (Hardcover)
I have had this book for over 20 years (c.1987!) and I return to it often for great baking recipes. The recipes are simple to follow and delicious. When I find myself frustrated by the overwrought recipes in other cookbooks by well-known chefs, I find comfort in my well-worn copy of "Having Tea." It's compact, specific, light enough to hold (a rarity these days in cookbook design), and inspires me to make delicious European comfort food. I once thought I lost it after a move and was very uspet, luckily I found it. I suspect that some of the negative reviews may come from people that aren't accustomed to European and British style breads and pastries, ie if you don't like crumpets to begin with, you won't like crumpets from this book. Or Irish Soda Bread or Flan for that matter. If you grew up eating foods like this, or aquired a taste for them, you will love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings
Having Tea: Recipes & Table Settings by Tricia Foley (Hardcover - December 13, 1987)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.