Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GreatTV show. Still one of the best.
Five 0 is still one of the best cop shows ever. And can put 95% of the trash on TV now to shame.
This was TV like to should be. The people could act, and the storys were good. You had to watch it
and going along for about 50 + mins to see what was going to happen. The so called people that think they can act ect today.
are a joke. And the stores Ha! Get...
Published 22 months ago by D. Moore

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collector's Item
This "complete series" volume comes in a very handsomely packaged set. The heavy outer box holds two book-like items, each with beautiful scenes from the show. The thick leaves of the books form the cardboard sleeves holding the DVD discs. As other reviewers have noted, cardboard sleeves do not afford the best protection for discs. About four or five discs...
Published 10 months ago by J. William Cupp


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GreatTV show. Still one of the best., January 13, 2013
Five 0 is still one of the best cop shows ever. And can put 95% of the trash on TV now to shame.
This was TV like to should be. The people could act, and the storys were good. You had to watch it
and going along for about 50 + mins to see what was going to happen. The so called people that think they can act ect today.
are a joke. And the stores Ha! Get this set! Watch it from A-Z. And Book'em Danno! You will be glad you did..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawaii 5-0 DVD Set, February 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome DVD set, I've always wanted all the episodes and now I got them! I would gladly recommend this to any 5-0 fan out there. Book em Dano!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars [Four stars out of Five] All 12 seasons in one package. "Book 'Em Danno!", August 6, 2012
By 
Rich The Reviewer (Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
Hawai'i Five-0 fans may want to get this for
themselves and send out the other separate
seasons as gifts!

There is also a very worthy package of the first
9 seasons packaged together, since many don't like
the 10th, 11th and especially the twelfth seasons.

Speaking of the 12th season, this version has a
different cover! It has McGarrett, Duke, the Gov
and Nick (Lt. Danny Kamekona), instead of Truck
(and Lori)! Pick Up On It!

Except that 'Bored, she hung herself' is not here in
season three - unless you get the ntsc aussie version!
Book'em anyway Danno (or Dano, or Duke, or CHin Ho, or
Nick...or Frank...) Interesting as they changed the cover to
McGarrett, Duke and added Nick [Danny Kamkona) and the The
Governour [Rich Denning, Sr.].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collector's Item, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: The Complete Series (DVD)
This "complete series" volume comes in a very handsomely packaged set. The heavy outer box holds two book-like items, each with beautiful scenes from the show. The thick leaves of the books form the cardboard sleeves holding the DVD discs. As other reviewers have noted, cardboard sleeves do not afford the best protection for discs. About four or five discs were noted to have fine scratches upon first removal from their sleeves, however these very light scratches did not seem to affect the play quality. Season 4, Disc 3 was so badly scratched it would not load in the (computer based) DVD player.

Happily, Amazon provided a complete replacement set. However, again Season 4 Disc 3 has scratches. (I note another reviewer pointed out the same problem with the SAME DISC. Maybe it's a production problem.) This time, I was able to get WinDVD player to operate this disk, but it won't load on VLC Player. So I suppose I will just have to watch this disc in a different player.

If you want a collector's set that really looks good this is for you. (Other than the missing episode from Season 2, mentioned elsewhere.) On the other hand, if you really expect to watch these shows often, you might want to find a set that comes in plastic cases rather than cardboard sleeves. In any case, if you purchase this set I recommend you open it upon receipt and actually check each disc to confirm they are good. I didn't play every disc all the way through, just loaded each one and ran it a little bit. I'm glad I did.

Amazon is really great about merchandise replacement but there is a limited time deadline. Don't make the mistake of putting this on a shelf and watching it over the next year or so. You might find an unpleasant surprise later on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hawaii Five O: The "Complete" Series???, November 24, 2013
By 
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: The Complete Series (DVD)
I would love nothing more then to order this box set of the original Hawaii Five O television series... And will, as soon as it becomes the "COMPLETE" series by adding the missing second season episode. I will not pay for anything that advertises it is something it quite obviously isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not great., August 10, 2013
By 
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: The Complete Series (DVD)
First, the title of this series is, was and ALWAYS will be (as any true fan knows) HAWAII FIVE-0, with a zero. The series, and the team, were named after Hawaii being the 50th state. Hence a five and a zero. FIVE-O (with the letter O) makes absolutely no sense. Renaming it FIVE-O to differentiate it from the new series is stupid. Both series are named FIVE-0.

Second, as others have noted, the collection is not complete without "Bored She Hung Herself." (There is no actual comma in the title.) Yes, there are legalities preventing it from being released but the episode itself is harmless enough despite its history of allegedly causing a death. On the other hand, it is not a particulary good episode and the ending is especially stupid so it's no big loss, but for completeness' sake it should be released.

Third, yes, the 1997 pilot should be included because it continues the plotline of the original series (even though it somehow brings Chin Ho back to life, but this is not the first time this sort of thing has happened in fiction.) Also I would have liked to have seen the two-part version of the original pilot ("Cocoon") as broadcast by CBS in the spring/summer of 1969. The opening/closing credits and the editing were closer to the first-season episodes rather than a separate movie.

Also, the pilot of the new Hawaii Five-0 could have been added to allow viewers to see that if they hadn't already. Not only could they fit all the pilots (1969 part 1, 1969 part 2, 1997, 2010) on a special pilot DVD disc but it may have encouraged some viewers to buy the new series on DVD as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is this REALLY Complete? (Bored, She Hung Herself?), January 13, 2013
I'm giving this one 4-stars instead of 5. I bought the series on DVD as individually released seasons as they came out. So, I already have this. But is this REALLY "complete"? Is that "missing" episode from the second season, "Bored, She Hung Herself" included, if not on the 2nd season DVD box, maybe as an extra on a bonus disc? I know all about WHY CBS never reran that episode back in Summer 1970, and why CBS/Viacom never included that episode for rerun syndication, and why CBS/Viacom/Paramount hasn't included that episode when Season-2 (alone) was released on DVD, but if this "complete series" of DVD sets is REALLY going to be "complete", then it "should" include "Bored, She Hung Herself" from the second season! If it turns out that it really does include that episode (which I doubt, however), then I will change my rating to 5-stars from 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Factory defect on disc S4 D3 was the deal breaker, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: The Complete Series (DVD)
I was skeptical about ordering this set based on past negative experiences the dreaded "coin holder slot" packaging. But Amazon put it on sale for $139.99 so I took a shot, ordering from Amazon (as opposed to a third party seller) so that I would not get burnt if I had an issue with the discs. So glad that I did.

I spent HOURS checking all 72 discs. About 50% of the discs had either scratches or glue residue (thanks to the cut rate coin holder packaging) and required cleaning with a soft clot. I knew I would have to discard the original packaging because reinserting the discs would subject them to further damage.

Given all that, the S4 D3 disc was the deal breaker.
When played in my DVD player, this disc skips the standard CBS splash screen when you first load it and starts to play the first episode on the disc ("Burning Ice"). It is then possible to navigate back to the episode menu, However, two of the episodes that should be on the disc ("A Matter of Mutual Concern" and "Nine, Ten -- You're Dead" are COMPLETELY MISSING. They are listed on the episode menu, but when you select them and hit play, you are presented with pieces of "Burning Ice" (already on S4 D3) and "Bait Once, Bait Twice" (which is in it's entirety on S4 D4) instead of the expected episodes.

This must be a manufacturer defect. Three other buyers have pointed out problems with this S4 D3 disc on the boxed set.
Strangely, I see no mention of the problem in the review for stand alone Season Four set.
Needless to stay, my boxed set is on it's way back to Amazon, who, to their credit, issued a no questions asked refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fell in love the series again, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the series for myself. I have been watching the episodes and I remember why I loved the series as a kid! I cannot compare this to any other series out there except for NCIS and the reboot of Hawaii 5-0. Very hapy that I bought it and watching it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is an expression "More Bang for Your Buck", April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Warehouse media came through with the best buy I ever made, 12 seasons of The Original Hawaii Five-0 for just $170? you can't beat that, shipping was fast and well packaged. This is the place I will shop again. I love it when that happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hawaii Five-0: The Complete Series
Hawaii Five-0: The Complete Series by Jack Lord (DVD - 2013)
$353.80 $178.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.