Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Dangerous Waters...
The beginning of "Hawaii Five-O" Season Two finds the Five-O team disbanded, thanks to an insidious and devastating attack by the gangster Wo Fat at the end of Season One. Team leader Steve McGarrett (Alex O'Loughlin) is in jail, accused of murdering the governor. Kono (Grace Park) is under investigation by HPD internal affairs and facing the loss of her badge. Danny...
Published on October 24, 2011 by D. S. Thurlow

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bring Back Kono!!!
Is it just me, or are they trying to attract more viewers by replacing Kono? I can't figure out if they're trying to appeal to more guys by adding a "sexy lady" type or trying to appeal to girls by putting in a love interest for McGarrett.

Either way, I don't like it. It's just too obvious a retool for ratings. Plus, it means a thin Kono story line, and I...
Published on December 1, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Dangerous Waters..., October 24, 2011
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
The beginning of "Hawaii Five-O" Season Two finds the Five-O team disbanded, thanks to an insidious and devastating attack by the gangster Wo Fat at the end of Season One. Team leader Steve McGarrett (Alex O'Loughlin) is in jail, accused of murdering the governor. Kono (Grace Park) is under investigation by HPD internal affairs and facing the loss of her badge. Danny Williams (Scott Caan) is off the force and mourning the departure from Hawaii of his former wife and child. Only Chin Ho Kelly (Daniel Dae Kim) still has a badge and a chance to put things right.

Help comes in the form of Commander Joe White (Terry O'Quin), McGarrett's former SEAL mentor, who helps Chin Ho resurrect the team. On probation with the new governor, the team must accept a new member, former FBI agent Lori Weston (Lauren German) who is supposed to ride herd on the unorthodox McGarrett, but who may have another agenda. Meanwhile, former CIA analyst Jenna Kaye departs the team under mysterious circumstances, as the villainous Wo Fat tidies up the loose ends of his plot. And how will Kono be redeemed from her banishment?

The second season features the Five-O team tackling exciting crime-of-the-week challenges in Hawaii, while McGarrett continues to pursue the investigation initiated by his father and that resulted in his murder. However, it appears that investigation is leading to dark, dangerous, and confusing waters involving the CIA, Wo Fat, corrupt officials and perhaps even members of the Five-O team. Stay tuned for the excitement, including a couple of exciting cross-overs with NCIS-LA's agents. Season Two is highly recommended to "Hawaii Five-O" fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, March 18, 2012
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
Hawaii 5-0 is without a doubt the best show on TV in a very long time. It has perfect casting, great drama, exciting action and wonderful comedy not to mention the most incredible back ground ever. The chemistry between the four team members is alway exiting. There is always a new storyline with the underlying backstory of McGarrett and WoFat. I think it is just the best and anxiously await the Season Two DVD. Now we know there will be a season three which is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H5-0 Still Riding that Wave, March 9, 2012
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
Hawaii Five-0 has made Monday a day to look forward to. Alex O'Loughlin is perfect as Steve McGarrett. Who else but Alex could step into the shoes of an iconic character - and make that character better than the original? The man can do anything on film, and the fact that Alex does most of his own stunts makes it even more exciting to watch.

Alex himself has said how he wouldn't ever want to do a "procedural" crime drama, and he and the writers have managed to make it so much more than that. The show has action, the gorgeous background of Hawaii, a stellar cast - and one of my favorite things about the show is the humor. The "carguments" between Steve and Danny never get old, I just love them.

If you want to watch a show that has everything you could ever look for in intertainment, watch and buy H5-0. You will be so glad that you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Let A Few Episodes Fool You, June 8, 2012
By 
stormi0611 "stormi0611" (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
Season 2 of Hawaii Five-0 was just as great as season 1, with the exception of the addition of Lori. Nothing against the actress, but the character was dry and did not mesh at all with the existing team. For a while I felt as though the writers were trying to stick her in every scene, and I started to tune her out entirely. It got to the point when I was just HOPING they'd kill her off. However, scenes that excluded Lori were wonderful, strong, and just plain good entertainment.
The first episode of the season was AMAZING. It had lots of twists and turns that I never expected (the final scene actually made me gasp). The Lori-less episodes were the strongest of the season (along with the Lori-less scenes), filled with action, suspense, humor and of course the Steve and Danny carguments. They made up for the first half of the season big time. The season finale was also a big highlight of the season - just when you thought the episode was coming to a close, there were two huge cliffhangers that had us looking forward to season 3.
I liked the addition of Joe and all of the guest stars, especially James Caan. I also enjoyed the crossover episodes with NCIS: LA and hope that the NCIS: LA episode is included in the DVD so everyone can see how the crossover story concluded.
Also, big kudos to the writers and actors who were able to seamlessly put together two episodes without the main character, Steve, due to Alex O'Loughlin's temporary leave. Though his presence was missed in the episodes, the writers did such a good job with the other characters and they didn't just hastily mention Steve wasn't around - they pretty much developed a story about his absence.
All in all I can say a handful of episodes were weak, yet still good, but the rest of the episodes were even better than those in season 1. Don't base the season on the first few episodes because you'll miss out on a great show if you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show On TV, October 3, 2012
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
...at least to me.I don't watch many series on TV,except for 3 others and this hands down has the best stories,acting and scripts.A simple review...I loved the old,Jack Lord series and this is right up there...If you loved the first season,there is no reason to stop here and I'm sure it will go on much longer... Aloha!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hawaii 5.0 season 2, August 5, 2012
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
Absolute brilliant. Great show i will buy all seasons. If you like The 5.0 team its a great buy. You have to take the Good with the Bad. Ive just ordered the 2nd season and cant wait for the 3rd to come out. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ONE IN A LONG TIME!!!, May 10, 2012
This episode is called Ua Hopu---which roughly means "caught" in Hawaiian. This prelude to the finale has been one of the best episodes yet. McG catches WoFat in Japan and brings him back to Oahu---in a very intense way. Kono gets "caught" as details of her secret relationship (don't want to ruin the show)are revealed. Danny is caught by the CIA trying to solve the murder of a CIA agent, and trying to help McG get back safely from Japan. The CIA is involved in this one and they get caught-maybe or maybe not, in bed with WoFat. Incidentally, I've come to appreciate Alex O's (McGarrett) acting more and more. Is it just me or does his ability to act bring everyone else on the Hawaii five-0 team's acting up a bit? I think it does. The action is suspenseful and intense from the beginning to the end and leaves you very excited for the finale. Love this show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE this show!!!, April 27, 2012
By 
S. Burns "choir girl" (Shippenville, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
This is the best show on TV!! Hawiaii Five-O is the only show I DVR and faithfully watch every week, and I still watch my season 1 dvd's. For those that try to compare it to the original............don't. Just enjoy it for the great cast, fantastic story lines, the excitement, the laughter, the great writing. Maholo to the cast, crew, writers, directors and producers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV on DVD, May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
I love this series. Since I had Season 1 already, I figured I should get Season 2 to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like!, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-0: Season 2 (DVD)
Love, love, love Hawaii Five-0...started watching it late as I thought it would be too much like the original with Jack Lord but it can stand on its on. I like all of the actors , very good casting. Can't wait to get the next season although I am glued to the TV on Friday nights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hawaii Five-O: Season 2 [Blu-ray]
Hawaii Five-O: Season 2 [Blu-ray] by Hawaii Five-O (2010) (Blu-ray - 2012)
$57.99 $39.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.