Customer Reviews


280 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


297 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series!
It is about time that they put this series onto dvd. It is well deserving that it is now finally available. I used to look forward to this series to air each week on one of my local tv channels btween 1993 and 1994 when it first aired. It is typical that a fun and clean family show like this went off the air so quickly. Some people claimed that series did not do so well...
Published on April 7, 2011 by E. A. Tetreault

versus
136 of 147 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the show, three stars for the shoddy DVDs
I loved this show and was sad when it disappeared. And I was elated to see it listed for a DVD release. Well, what a disappointment. Paper sleeves and no extras. I would happily have paid three times as much for commentary and better packaging.

But the worst part of my set was that the final episode called The Return was not in fact the final episode. It was a...
Published on May 7, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

297 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series!, April 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
It is about time that they put this series onto dvd. It is well deserving that it is now finally available. I used to look forward to this series to air each week on one of my local tv channels btween 1993 and 1994 when it first aired. It is typical that a fun and clean family show like this went off the air so quickly. Some people claimed that series did not do so well in the ratings but that simply was not true. The series was very expensive to film. It was on location filming that was done in British Columbia. The weather was often very cold and stormy. There was also a lot of commuting back and forth for Lynda Carter. She flew home each weekend after weekly filming. Lynda has always been more concerned about her family than acting. So between the expense of catering to the cast and on location filming and harsh weather the producer wished to end the series by the following spring. Luckily, this is one series that produced a last episode that closed everything up. Everything was sewn up wonderfully and satisfying for the viewer who had seen the whole series. It was like when the Fugitive finally caught the "one arm bandit". I absolutely loved this show. I loved its production values and the entire cast. Even all the villians did a great job with their roles. I loved to hate Taylor Shields and I looked up to Hawkeye and marveled at the lady that Lynda Carter portrayed of which she really did not have to act. She was really playing her own self. She is most definately a lady and a lady to be admired not just in beauty but in grace.
My only gripe with the dvd's are the fact that they made a nice case but the dvd's are inside paper sleeves. There are also no bonus materials on this. It is like they just rushed them through. I am happy though that they finally released this series. It is exciting and crisp and a clean adventure series for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent, Little-Remembered, Series, April 7, 2011
By 
Gary P. Cohen (Staten Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
While known primarily for "Matt Houston," Lee Horsley also starred in 2 excellent, little-remembered, television series in the 1980s and "90s. The first, "Paradise," was a wonderful western that ran for 2 1/2 years on CBS starting in 1987. The second was this terrific syndicated series produced by the late Stephen J. Cannell, the legendary producer of "The Rockford Files," among others. This show premiered shortly after the release of the great adventure film "The Last of the Mohecans." (Footage from that film appears in the series' pilot.") Horsley plays frontiersman Hawkeye who lives in the wilderness with his indian friend Chingachkook in close proximity to a British fort in 1755, the period of the French and Indian War. Carter plays a lovely English woman who comes to the Fort with her older husband to open a general store. The husband is quickly captured by the indians but never declared dead. This causes the burgeoning romance between Horsley and Carter to never be consumated. Carter looks great and the dress designers of the series allow her to show ample cleavage.
This series was filmed in Vancouver and has terrific scenery and lots of action. It was syndicated and shown at different times in different parts of the country. Unfortunately it only lasted one year. I've only watched the first 2 episodes (the 2 hour pilot,) and the picture and sound seem fine. Unfortunately there are no extras. (I would have loved a retrospective with Horsley and Carter. If you enjoy westerns or historical dramas, I highly recommend this excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 147 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the show, three stars for the shoddy DVDs, May 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
I loved this show and was sad when it disappeared. And I was elated to see it listed for a DVD release. Well, what a disappointment. Paper sleeves and no extras. I would happily have paid three times as much for commentary and better packaging.

But the worst part of my set was that the final episode called The Return was not in fact the final episode. It was a repeat of the earlier episode with her father, played by James Cromwell. My set does not have the final episode, and thank goodness I saved my video tapes.

Buyers beware: you may get ripped off like I did. I can only hope they fixed this error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 90 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read this before you buy!, September 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
This comment is based on the release:
------------------------
Format: Box set, Color, DVD, NTSC
Language: English
Region: Region 1 (U.S. and Canada only)
Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
Number of discs: 4
Rated: G (General Audience)
Studio: Mill Creek Entertainment
DVD Release Date: March 22, 2011
Run Time: 955 minutes
------------------------
and may or may not not be related to any possible future release / reissue.
This was an entertaining program, although it only survived one season of syndication.
It was syndicated because the concept of the show and perhaps a "pilot" wasn't picked up by or marketed to any of the networks, thus the (Canada) makers of this show went in on their own, with their own sources of funding.
(Think: "Forever Knight" - first season.)
I was working in a TV master control room the year this came out. It was broadcasted (in Madison, WI) every weekend during the first initial run.
It captured your attention almost immediately (if this was your type of program).
I don't recall any of the episodes as boring - just simple family-oriented entertainment, like Daniel Boone in the early days of TV.
However, this DVD release is by Mill Creek (one of those budget type, operated out of someones basement distributors like MPI, Ovation, Platinum - or the worst of the bunch, GoodTimes Home Video).
The source for the programs here were taken directly from the feed tapes, not any type of master tapes.
Feed tapes are what we used to take the feed from the satellite transponders each week.
When the program is sent over the satellite for a station to record it, it comes complete with built in commercial breaks from the program distributors and :12 second or :62 second (etc.) holes for the local station to insert their commercial breaks, then re-cue the program tapes while in commercial break, etc.
(People with big 10 foot plus satellite dishes in the back-yard know exactly what I just typed - as the feeds are usually not scrambled and can be viewed / recorded by any of those equipment owners as long as they know where and when to find the feed.)
During these feeds, most programs also have "bumpers" edited in - those little :03 second or :05 second video / audio segments that give the name of the program, then boom... it's over, and local commercials air.
Feed tapes are used, reused, and used again until they contain a lot of bad spots / drop-outs, then tossed.
The 1-inch, 3/4 inch or 1/2 inch tape used in broadcasting was usually ten times or more expensive than what you used to pay for blank beta or VHS tapes for home use, so you can only imagine the huge budget for tapes at a TV station - plus the cost of the equipment used to air a program in those days of analog broadcast standards.
While watching the DVD's, I noticed the smear (or fuzzy look) of the picture, especially in the graphics (first clue).
Also, when the show would fade out at the end of a segment, just before it would fade in for the next segment - a blip would come on the screen.
It caught my attention enough to slo-mo the video, and alas! - a single frame or more of a "bumper" where it once was in the original satellite feed (second clue).
There were many more clues (to a person like me who worked in the business) but I've offered enough for you to draw your own conclusion.
To me, it looks like I took the feed tapes home and saved them until I could find a way to market the show, then hooked up a DVD recorder and transferred the program to DVD.
Also in my opinion, like so many before, it could also mean that Mill Creek didn't get the proper licensing to distribute this show properly (or perhaps legally) in the USA, Canada or wherever.
The show was sold cheap as a DVD set to begin with (around $15 retail), and has since dropped to half or less.
I don't know if that's a sign of people who didn't see this show when it first aired due to limited broadcasts in cities around the country like the beginning of Forever Knight (that took another year to grow into a "cult" following) or what, but for those of us who love the show and the work of Lee Horsley, Lynda Carter and Rodney A. Grant, this Mill Creek release is a low-budget, low-quality joke.
For that reason alone - if you must have it, please ONLY buy it from Amazon marketplace or somewhere (USED) to prevent the distributor from making money for the (lazy or lousy or money-making scheme) release of this program.
Hopefully, our voices will be heard by Rhino or Anchor Bay, firms who started in a basement, but payed attention to the voices of those who demand (some) quality... and came through by reinvesting and reinventing the company and began to reissue movies and music with quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAWKEYE - FANTASTIC SERIES (EPISODE SUMMARY), November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
This is absolutely one of the best TV series I've ever seen! It's a Last of the Mohichans style type series that is set in an 18th century setting and the photography is visually stunning, with lush meadows and streams and fantastic performances by Lynda Carter ("Elizabeth Shields") and Lee Horsley in the title role. Although it was a short lived series, the wonderful thing was that it had a conclusion, so the viewer was not left hanging with a series that was cancelled mid-stream. This is a series that can be enjoyed by the entire family. And you can't beat the price point! (This was so good, that quite honestly, I am surprised that it wasn't going for a huge premium when it was released, which is good - so everyone who wants a copy can afford one.) Enjoy HAWKEYE - it's worth every cent!!

The episode list is as follows:

(Disc 1)
1. HAWKEYE (PILOT: PART 1) - In the series opener, Hawkeye saves merchant William Shields and his wife Elizabeth, when they're ambushed by hostile Indians.
2. HAWKEYE (PILOT: PART 2) - Hawkeye and Elizabeth get a taste of the French and Indian War when they head off to negotiate for the release of Elizabeth's husband, who has been captured by the French.
3. THE BEAR - Hawkeye's lesson in wilderness-survival skills - and Hawkeye's reading lesson - are interrupted by ammunition thieves bent on selling their goods to the French.
4. THE FURLOUGH - Hawkeye saves a settler from the trader who kidnapped her, and kills him in the process - prompting revenge from the trader's Huron allies.
5. THE SIEGE - The French lay siege to Fort Bennington, and expect reinforcements in the form of a cannon "the size of Massachusetts."

(Disc 2)
6. THE CHILD - Hurons kidnap an infant - and an attempt to get the child back could spark a war.
7. THE VISION - Chingachgook has a vision: Hawkeye will be killed by hostile Indians.
8. OUT OF THE PAST - Hawkeye's mentor arrives - not for a reunion but for revenge. And Elizabeth is the bait.
9. THE WARRIOR - Elizabeth's nephew realizes his dream of becoming a soldier, but when his courage fails in battle, Hawkeye and Chingachook step in to help.
10. THE QUEST - When a stranger offers - for a hefty fee - to lead Elizabeth to William, a suspicious Taylor and Hawkeye insist on going along.

(Disc 3)
11. THE ESCAPE - The brother of a man Taylor had executed seeks revenge by luring the captain and Elizabeth on a business expedition that will lead to their capture by the French.
12. FLY WITH ME - Hawkeye and Chingachook conspire to help two runaway slaves being returned to their owner by a Virginia "gentleman".
13. THE ALLEY - A provoked attack on Taylor prompts the captain to ban the Delaware tribe - Chingachgook included - from Fort Bennington.
14. THE BOXER - An enigmatic French prisoner intrigues Hawkeye, who begins to believe that the soldier may not be what he seems.
15. THE TRAITOR - Taylor has Hawkeye tried for treason when the captain is shot soon after a heated arguement between the two men. But Hawkeye's sense of honor hinders Elizabeth's efforts to prove his innocence.
16. THE AMNESTY - Hawkeye fumes when Taylor grants a pardon to a recalcitrant soldier in exchange for information about the French.

(Disc 4)
17. THE VISIT - Elizabeth resists her father's efforts to bring her back to Virginia - even after Taylor produces new evidence about her missing husband.
18. VENGEANCE IS MINE - The capture of a chief's wife leads Hawkeye to his parent's killer, and Elizabeth may not be able to stop him from taking revenge.
19. THE PLAGUE - A chief blames Elizabeth for a smallpox epidemic that spreads after her inadvertent violation of sacred Indian ground.
20. HESTER - A woman with healing powers struggles to save Fort Bennington from an epidemic, only to be branded a witch. One thing's for sure - Hawkeye has fallen under her spell.
21. THE BOUNTY - An old friend appeals to Hawkeye to help free her brother-in-law from his captors: but, to complicate matters, the enemy has put a bounty on Hawkeye's head.
22. THE RETURN - Elizabeth's husband returns from captivity, but while she stuggles to make a decision about her future, Chingachgook questions William's association with a shaman who practices "black arts".

Picture quality is quite good. Closed Captioning/Subtitles are not included for the hearing impaired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, good release., June 17, 2011
By 
A.J. (Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
Finally available on dvd, this is one of my favorite series. A pity it only lasted one season. One person here notes that his set did not include the final episode, but my set does indeed have the true final episode, where Elizabeth's husband returns. The series probably wasn't given a full remastering job, but the quality far exceeds my old tape copies from the WB, and my even worse copies from a British trader. I think anyone who likes the series will approve of the dvd release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even better than I remembered, April 25, 2011
By 
Sara Dunn (Vincennes, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
Lee Horsley is the title character, a white man who has been raised by Indians after his parents are massacred by another tribe. The setting is 1755 at an English fort. Lynda Carter's Elizabeth comes to live at the fort with her husband to start a trading post, as arranged by her husband's less-than-scrupulous soldier brother. Shortly after arriving, Elizabeth's brother-in-law arranges for his brother to be taken prisoner by an unfriendly tribe who are siding with the French soldiers at another fort nearby. As Elizabeth tries to find out the fate of her husband, she grows closer to Hawkeye and takes over running the trading post. Luckily, the producers apparently knew that this was going to be cancelled, as they wrap up the missing husband storyline in the last episode. The series is a nice mixture of action, drama and a little romance. It's a shame the show didn't last longer, but at least the audience isn't left hanging about the growing feelings between Hawkeye and Elizabeth and her husband's fate. Horsley and Carter share a nice chemistry and the Vancouver locations are a beautiful fill-in for pre-Revolution America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hawkeye: The Complete Series, July 27, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
I had never seen this show. I just started watching the series and am so sad I missed the first go around. What an excellent story, excellent casting of the characters and beautiful location. Worth being in everyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historic and dramatic winner, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
This series was always hard to catch as it was aired at various times. Usually on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon, but it was never on a regular airing schedule in the southeast U.S. But, when I did catch it, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The historical content and the filming location in Canada was just wonderful.

Lynda Carter and Lee Horsley are so great together. I wish that they would or had done more acting together.

The fact that this series only lasted one season, it just leaves you wanting more. The 22 episodes were just not enough. This is a series that, history wise, could have gone on for at least 5 years like the Daniel Boone series with Fess Parker.

There must have been some notice that it would not be re-newed, as the final episode pretty well wrapped up the main story line. But, it did leave you wanting more as to Lynda and Lee's characters relationship.

I recommend this series with no reservations whatsoever, as to the viewer's satisfaction.

So happy that this was finally released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Watch, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye: The Complete Series (DVD)
I enjoy this time frame and era in American history. Acting by the main characters was solid and I thought it was entertaining. I am surprised it only lasted one season with the quality we sometimes see in television series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hawkeye: The Complete Series
Hawkeye: The Complete Series by Various (DVD - 2011)
$14.98 $8.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.