Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Haydn: String Quartets Op. 64 Nos. 1-3
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Haydn: String Quartets Op. 64 Nos. 1-3

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Amazon Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, October 23, 2001
"Please retry"
$49.99 $37.99

Amazon's Franz Joseph Haydn Store


Image of album by Franz Joseph Haydn


Image of Franz Joseph Haydn
Visit Amazon's Franz Joseph Haydn Store
for 158 albums, photos, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Performer: The Lindsays
  • Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
  • Audio CD (October 23, 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Asv Living Era
  • ASIN: B00005OVYS
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #550,173 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. First Movement: Allegro Moderato
2. Second Movement: Menuetto - Allegretto Ma Non Troppo
3. Third Movement: Allegretto Scherzando
4. Fourth Movement: Finale - Presto
5. First Movement: Allegro Spirituoso
6. Second Movement: Adagio Ma Non Troppo
7. Third Movement: Menuetto - Allegretto
8. Fourth Movement: Finale - Presto
9. First Movement: Vivace Assai
10. Second Movement: Adagio
11. Third Movement: Menuetto - Allegretto
12. Fourth Movement: Finale - Allegro Con Spirito

Editorial Reviews


The interpretative temperature of these performances is, as one would expect from The Lindsays, consistently high. So expressively alert, they bring a sense of purpose to every note: sforzandos are arresting and powerful, faster movements are high on adrenalin. Above all, The Lindsays are surely hard to surpass in their delivery of Haydn's slow movements. In the Adagio of No. 2 they sustain a rapturous atmosphere, and that of No. 3 is also wonderfully elevated. There is intense concentration, yet also a directness and warmth that will captivate every listener. Strangely less persuasive, though, is their Allegretto 'slow movement' in No. 1: there must be more delicacy to the humour than this rather broad approach would allow. The sense of commitment and character is strengthened by the relatively close and dry recorded sound. This also exposes, though, a tendency for tone and tuning to suffer under the pressure of the interpretative moment. Caution is simply not part of the way The Lindsays make music, but might they sometimes have been more self-critical? The outer movements of No. 1 bring some lack of rhythmic poise, given the tendency to accelerate through animated passages. A certain skittishness seems just right in the former, but the swallowing of beats in the finale detracts from the excitement. The sustained aggressiveness of the B minor finale cannot really accommodate the fade-out ending. A more whimsical version from the Angeles Quartet makes better sense of this concluding surprise.The Angeles, more warmly recorded, are certainly superior in the traditional quartet virtues of balance and blend, but honours are pretty even when I consider my reactions to the accounts of individual movements. I find both groups relatively disappointing in the outer movements of No. 3; more could be done with the timing of the galloping motive in the first movement as well as the strangely stuttering chord sequences in the finale. But no one could be disappointed with the best of The Lindsays' performances here: put on those slow movements and surrender yourself. W. Dean Sutcliffe -- From International Record Review - subscribe now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kirk List on December 2, 2012
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
and Haydn was nearly at his in the opus 64 Quartets. His last 2.5 quartets-opus 77/1 and 2 and the unfinished opus 103 are late and wonderful works, but the six opus 64 are truly glorious-inventive, extremely lyrical and quite uplifting in their happiness. They remind me most of Haydn's opus 33 Quartets, only more complex and inventive . Compare the opus
33 "Bird Quartet" with opus 64/5 "The Lark'. "Bird" may be Haydn's happiest quartet, but it is not quite as accomplished as " the Lark" (and opus 76/4 "The Sunrise," another quartet
depicting triumphant ascent. This sextet is characterized by consistent inspiratiom and sunniness, though 64/2 is in B Minor and adumbrates the D Minor Quinten quartet opus 76/2. The opus 76 set is Haydn's greatest, with two sets of three quartets each followig the opus 64s: opus 71 and opus 74. As usual the Lindasys' Haydn is beyond excellences. They observe
more repeats than the Amadeus Quartet in their very fine readings, a practice which I consider an asset because one can savor the music a little longer.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Thomas More on March 3, 2011
Format: Audio CD
There is currently only one place to download this fine album that I know of, and that is on the HDtracks website. ASV has apparently worked out a deal with this site, and as a result, they have a great deal of Lindsay releases.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Imlac on May 12, 2010
Format: Audio CD
These are the first three quartets of Haydn's delightful Op. 64. The Lindsays provides energetic interpretation in a recording with excellent sound.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category