Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Customer Direct and Fulfilled by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Haydn: Symphonies Nos 38,... has been added to your Cart
Used: Good | Details
Sold by B. R. Media
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Item is in good condition.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Haydn: Symphonies Nos 38, 82 & 104
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Haydn: Symphonies Nos 38, 82 & 104

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, August 31, 1993
"Please retry"
$19.99 $0.75
$19.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Only 1 left in stock. Sold by Customer Direct and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews


1. Sym No.82 in C 'The Bear': Vivace Assai
2. Sym No.82 in C 'The Bear': Allegretto
3. Sym No.82 in C 'The Bear': Menuet
4. Sym No.82 in C 'The Bear': Finale: Vivace
5. Sym No.38 in C: Allegro Di Molto
6. Sym No.38 in C: Andante Molto
7. Sym No.38 in C: Menuet: Allegro
8. Sym No.38 in C: Finale: Allegro Di Molto
9. Sym No.104 in D 'London': Adagio - Allegro
10. Sym No.104 in D 'London': Andante
11. Sym No.104 in D 'London': Menuet: Allegro
12. Sym No.104 in D 'London': Finale: Spiritoso

Product Details

  • Orchestra: Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
  • Conductor: Christof Perick
  • Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
  • Audio CD (August 31, 1993)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B000001Q9G
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #639,913 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Erik North on September 22, 2004
Format: Audio CD
Since its inception in 1969, the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra has been one of the premiere ensembles of its type in America, particularly when it comes to classical masters like Mozart and Haydn, and Baroque composers like Handel, Bach, and Vivaldi. On this relatively little-known 1992 recording, the orchestra and its then-Music Director Christof Perick give us a look at three symphonies from "Papa" Haydn and prove themselves to be the equal of any ensemble of their size, either in America or the world at large.

The recording starts off with a spirited performance of the Symphony No. 82, the first of six symphonies Haydn wrote for Paris in 1785 and 1786. It is known as the "Bear", because of the drone effect that begins the final movement, suggesting a dancing bear. Perick and the L.A.C.O. bring out the most in this piece; and while they may not match Colin Davis' early 1980s recording of this piece with the Concertgebouw Orchestra in terms of sonic impact, they do the symphony proud all the same.

The middle work here is the early Symphony No. 38, which Haydn composed during his early years as the court composer at Esterhazy. Here, the L.A.C.O. takes the piece with the preciseness of the many period-instrument recordings of Haydn, right down to the use of a harpsichord as a continuo instrument, but without the fussiness or the dogmatic stick-with-the-tempo attitude of the original-instrument crowd.

The concluding work is Haydn's last symphony, No. 104, the "London" symphony (the last of the dozen symphonies he composed for London in between 1791 and 1795). The dramatic slow opening in D Minor leads into a spirited first movement, and is propelled by Perick and the orchestra all the way, with very solid dynamics.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category