Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favorites!!
I cannot ever remember enjoying a "romantic novel" more than "He Loves Lucy." (This is rather strange because although I thought "Public Displays of Affection," - also by Susan Donovan, was well-written, I loathed the entire premise of this earlier novel - although I'm far from being a conservative.) When I read the concept behind Donovan's new book, I decided to take a...
Published on May 19, 2005 by K. A. Stevenson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I've been skinny; it's #!!** boring"...(Kate Winslet)
Marketing exec Lucy Cunningham's scheme to boost business for a Miami fitness club backfires when her boss insists that she be the lucky woman who gets to shed 100 pounds (in front of a live audience!) over the next year. Will a $100,000.00 `payday' give Lucy the incentive she needs to succeed?

Theo Redmond is handsome, uber-fit and is the Palm Club's most...
Published on December 14, 2009 by L. Burns


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favorites!!, May 19, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
I cannot ever remember enjoying a "romantic novel" more than "He Loves Lucy." (This is rather strange because although I thought "Public Displays of Affection," - also by Susan Donovan, was well-written, I loathed the entire premise of this earlier novel - although I'm far from being a conservative.) When I read the concept behind Donovan's new book, I decided to take a chance and ordered it from Amazon.

"He Loves Lucy" details Lucy Cunningham's year long weight program in the spotlight. Each month she weighs herself on television as part of an ad campaign for a local gym. Her goal is to lose up to 100 lbs. for which she and her personal trainer, Theo, will each receive $1000 for every pound she loses. This money will enable Lucy to start up her own advertising/public relations firm and it will allow Theo the means to return to medical school.

I LOVED everything about this book! Everything from Lucy's near- fatal ingestion of a Milk Dud upon meeting her hunky trainer, to the glimpses into her food diary and funny affirmations, to pizza man Luigi being in the second row during her weigh-in, to her "motivational tool" to lose the last of her weight.

I am sure that one of the reasons that I enjoyed this book so much is that I totally identified with Lucy as I was about 40 lbs. overweight at her age. I went on a strict diet and exercise program (although not on television!) and people were amazed at the transformation. My life truly changed. I especially thought it insightful that the nearly universal typecasting of overweight women as "fat, lazy, slobs" and beautiful women as "superficial, conceited, airheads" was included. Usually the truth can only be found on an individual basis.

As usual, Susan Donovan's characters are witty and often hilarious. Her plots are creative and fresh. An exceptional and touching romance that should prove to be especially inspiring to anyone with a few pounds to lose.

This would be a GREAT movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beautiful People, December 30, 2005
By 
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers (RAWSISTAZ.com and BlackBookReviews.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
Thirty-year-old marketing executive Lucy Cunningham has come up with a brilliant campaign for Palm Club, the hottest fitness club in Miami. Cashing in on the reality television craze, she arranges for an obese person to be assigned a personal trainer at Palm Club. For every pound this individual loses in the next year, they receive a thousand dollars and so does the trainer. The catch-the candidate and the trainers progress will be followed on Wake Up Miami, a popular morning television show.

Lucy's boss bullies her into being the candidate. Her boss is incompetent, oppressive, and verbally abusive, but the job market keeps his employees from quitting. At first she refuses, but upon further consideration realizes she could use the 100 grand (yep, she needs to lose a hundred pounds) to start her own firm. Now she is determined to succeed. When Lucy enters the club for the first time-surrounded by the beautiful, thin, famous people of Miami-she wants to drown herself in Milk Duds. In steps thirty-two-year-old Theo Redmond, trainer extraordinaire, who soon puts her at ease. As time passes, she learns he is much more than a pretty face and excellent kisser.

Three years ago, Theo Redmond's parents were killed in a boating accident, resulting in Theo dropping out of medical school to raise his little brother, a child who happens to have Down's Syndrome. With the money he can raise by helping Lucy lose the weight, he plans to return to medical school. He soon finds that Lucy's eating and exercise habits aren't the only things packing the weight on her. Lucy's fight, sense of humor, intelligence and, yes, beauty tie Theo in knots. His past pains and present time constraints make him hesitant about having a relationship with her, but the love he feels for her won't allow him to walk away.

If you are in a bad mood, having an awful day, or just need a good laugh, read HE LOVES LUCY. Susan Donavan's comical writing style was fun without making fun. I enjoyed reading about a successful, intelligent, beautiful heroine who didn't fit into the size six package society's beauty standards seem to be found in. When I began reading, I worried that Ms. Donavan would hedge on the sexual tension-let's say that I was pleasantly surprised. For a well-rounded, entertaining romance, pick up a copy of HE LOVES LUCY.

Reviewed by Deatri King-Bey

of The RAWSISTAZ™ Reviewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another homerun for Donovan, September 19, 2005
By 
Tracy Vest (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
Susan Donovan is always a must-read author, and with her latest, "He Loves Lucy," she continues the string of excellent romances that keep her fans coming back for more.

Ad-exec Lucy Cunningham signs on as the guinea pig for a health club - she has to lose 100 pounds within a year with the help of a trainer. To give her more incentive, both she and the trainer will receive $1000 per lost pound. She could use the money to start her own agency; Theo Redmond, her trainer can use the money to return to medical school.

The first meeting is priceless - let's just say who thought that walking and eating Milk Duds could be a fatal act. As Lucy and Theo spend more time together working out and getting to know each other, they start to develop feelings for each other. As she starts to lose pounds, they both find they are losing their hearts. But both have been burned by love, and neither is sure if they are ready to enter the ring again.

Interspersed with funny food diary entries (and hysterical affirmations), the story is both humorous and endearing. While not nearly as steamy as Donovan's previous novels, the poignant relationship between the two keeps your attention glued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go get this book, April 7, 2005
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this whole book and everything about it (except for one small thing, which we will get to)

This came out to be a feel good book probally because one of the main issues is Lucy's feelings about herself because of her weight and what some jerk did to her that propelled her into her lifestyle. Even though it changed her on the outside, she was still a sweetheart. She was strong, very courageous, down to earth but stands up for herself. She is confused about her worth at first, but works through it all.

Theo, of Theo. Can I have one of you too? I dont even know where to start on Theo here, but he is one of the good guys for sure.

My only problem with the book is the sex scenes or lack of. There is sexual tension, but then when its getting to the good stuff, the scene changes. Every single scene. What in the world is up with that? It bothered me, but not that much. I was able to get over it. Knowing that, I still could not put the book down. Most people who read it will be able to connect with it in one way or another. This book is real life. I just finished it not even an hour ago, and someone has already borrowed it. I highly recommend this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a gem., April 7, 2005
By 
Judy "book reader" (Cincinnati, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
Susan Donovan has written another touching, funny gem in He Loves Lucy.

Lucy Cunningham has landed a top account for her companies PR firm. It's the Palm Club account, but there is a catch. Lucy must put her hands into a personal trainer, Theo Redmond. For each pound lost, Theo and Lucy will receive a bonus of 1k per pound. Lucy's goal is 100 pounds in one year's time.

Lucy falls in love at first sight, though their first meeting has Theo reviving her. (Hysterical) She puts those feelings aside since she thinks hunky Theo would never go for her frumpy self.

Theo had put his medical career on hold when his parents died leaving him to care for his brother. He plans on using the cash bonus to go back to school. Theo knows he has his work cut out with anti-exercise, milk dud eating Lucy. But he sees in her the real woman of his dreams.

Lucy and Theo are a match made in Heaven. Each has been hurt by love in the past, so taking a leap of faith is a struggle. This book really struck a cord with me, most of us are Lucy or know a Lucy. I loved Lucy and Theo's witty exchanges and how they fought their feelings. But lord when they gave in, it was sizzling. This book is a keeper and a treasure. ___
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable contemporary romance, April 5, 2005
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
Pittsburgh transplant Lucy Cunningham came up with the marketing campaign for her new client Miami's Palm Club. An overweight woman would receive personal health nutrition, and fitness training from a professional. For every pound she loses up to 100 pounds, she pockets 1K, the trainer gets matching funds. The pair potentially could make 100K each.

Her boss Stephan Sherrod at Sherrod and Thoms selects Lucy to serve as the guinea pig whose success or failure will be aired monthly on local TV; Steve chose Lucy because he believes she will fail and he owes the Palm Club rival Goldstein a debt.. The Palm Club chooses their most popular trainer hunk Theo Redmond, though the owner knows when he succeeds he will leave to complete law school. Lucy is attracted to Theo from the start, but figures someone as frumpy as her has no chance. Her choking at first sight further makes her feel like a dud. Theo in turn finds his student dedicated and refreshingly humorous and honest. He begins falling in love with her, but as the weight comes off in spite of her well meaning parents, he knows she will not believe him unless he can register his proof.

This is an enjoyable contemporary romance that stars a wisecracking female protagonist and "Theo-dorable" who falls in love with her even when she is overweight. Lucy is a humorous delight whether she reflects on herself, her hunk, her family or her psychiatrist. Though the infidelity by her boss seems unnecessary and foolish as this would hurt his firm even if Lucy takes the hit, fans will enjoy this fine look at one year of hard work to find love.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Girl Gets Her Man, May 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this book so much. I read it and I couldn't help but think "Finally,the big girl is getting the man of her dreams". Not only is Lucy Cunningham gonna get paid $1,000 dollars for every pound she loses but she's being trained by the sweet,heart of gold having,gorgeous Theo Redmond.

I loved the interaction between Lucy and Theo from when she chokes on a Milk Dud until the very end of the story. He doesn't fall in love with her instantly but he does see the person that's inside first. I love how Theo takes care of Buddy,his brother with Down Syndrome,trains him for the Special Olympics,trains Lucy and helps her deal with all her issues. All the while keeping his dreams of being a doctor alive by studying for his re-entrance exam to medical school.

Lucy in turn,while losing all this weight,helps Theo open his heart helping him to believe that he's not meant to be closed off from love. Lucy was a great character all the way around. I loved how funny she was,she was quick witted and very determined to lose as many pounds as she could to realize her own dream of starting her own business.

This book is filled with a wonderful cast of characters including: supermodel Gia,Tyson,Theo's best friend and the man who is forever flirting with Lucy,and her nutty,lovable family.

While there are those who would want nothing more than to have Lucy fail,she comes out on top,getting everything she's always wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, April 9, 2005
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
Just picked up her new book and read it in one sitting. I loved it and howled at a lot of it.

A 5'7" female marketing exec who weighs 230 pounds gets a health and fitness center client and comes up with a marketing scheme for them. She will lose 100 pounds in 1 year and it will be covered by the local Miami tv station. She and her personal trainer (hunk) will each get $1000 for every pound she loses.

I was laughing so hard during the first 6 pages of the book (scene had to do with milk duds) I had tears running down my face. The scene was so funny!

I found the book warm and funny and the author handled weight loss, human struggle issues, and being overweight issues in a sensitive way. The book was very encouraging, touched my heart, and a book I really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's A Biscuit When You Need One????, April 23, 2005
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
Ms. Donavan is an author that I pick up the second she has a release! She always manages to combine sensetive issues with great characters. The end result...the reader experiences an emotional read that will linger long after the final page.

Lucy is an overweight lady who has never really gotten over a college incident. As a result she hids behind her looks. That is until a PR stunt forces Lucy to take a good hard look at herself. It also brings her into the sphere of trainer Theo Redmond. It's love at first sight for Lucy...but will her feeling ever be returned?

Theo may have the looks that mean success, but his heart is frozen. Life has been hard and he works jsut as hard to keep his demons at bay. That is until a funny, sweet lady stumbles into his world. He takes one look at Lucy and realizes his life is about to change...and for the better...if he lets it. Will these two special people finally find a happy ending?

Theo and Lucy are a wonderful couple! Although this read is not as steamy as some of her previous attempts...this in no way diminishes the story between these two hurt people. Secondary characters are a wonderful addition to the story and actually help move things along. I truly have no trouble recommend Ms. Donovan and you should add her to your summer reading list.

Official Reviewer for [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, funny, likable characters, good plot, July 20, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: He Loves Lucy (Mass Market Paperback)
When I read the blurb on this book, I thought I wouldn't like it. The concept of a love affair between a personal trainer and his customer just didn't seem like a fun story to me. Turns out, I was wrong!! I bought this because of the great reviews on Amazon and am happy to give a 5 star review of my own.

The premise is simple enough: Lucy and Theo (the personal trainer) are participating in an advertising campaign for Theo's gym. The gimmick is that, with Theo's training, Lucy will lose up to 100 pounds. For each pound Lucy loses, the two pocket $1000 each. Both have a vested interest in Lucy losing the weight - Lucy will use the money to quit her current job and open a new PR firm & Theo will use the money to go back to medical school.

The book jumps right into the story with the first page describing Lucy and Theo's first experience at the gym and the rest of the novel is generally fast-paced and takes us through the process of Lucy losing the weight, becoming a minor celebrity, dealing with a psycho boss, falling in love, and moving on with her life as a skinny woman.

The book is funny, romantic, entertaining and poignant. If I have a problem with anything in the book, it is that I didn't think that boss's story was really needed. It seemed a bit too melodramatic to go with the rest of the book. Also, at the end, there is a final embarrassing moment between Lucy and Theo (in his backyard) that I thought was unnecessary. Still, overall, this is an excellent book and highly recommended. I usually get my books from my local library and have a high standard for books I purchase - I purchased this one and didn't regret it for one second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

He Loves Lucy
He Loves Lucy by Susan Donovan (Mass Market Paperback - April 5, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.