Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A love that cannot be
In HE LOVES ME, HE LOVES ME NOT, Audrey Tautou once again has proven that she cannot be pigeonholed into the type of character she played in AMELIE. Each of her films validates the claim that Tautou is much more versatile and talented. In this film Tautou plays Angelique, a young woman in love with a married man. Angelique waits patiently and anxiously on the sidelines...
Published on September 22, 2003 by S. Calhoun

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 sides to every story
Audrey Tatou: the pretty,the cute, gets a chance to play psycho in this fun little thriller.
The basic premise: Tatou plays a young woman in love with a married man, we watch her pine for him, ultimately leading to a horrible, dark depression - and a sick desire to protect him at all costs. Then, the film rewinds and we see everything from her lover's (or is he?)...
Published on June 9, 2003 by lady detective


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A love that cannot be, September 22, 2003
By 
This review is from: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not (DVD)
In HE LOVES ME, HE LOVES ME NOT, Audrey Tautou once again has proven that she cannot be pigeonholed into the type of character she played in AMELIE. Each of her films validates the claim that Tautou is much more versatile and talented. In this film Tautou plays Angelique, a young woman in love with a married man. Angelique waits patiently and anxiously on the sidelines while his marriage deteriorates and he comes to claims her. While the audience is treated to what appears to be a typical romance during the first half of this film, the movie is suddenly rewound and an entirely new perspective on the same events is revealed. Multiple perspectives lead to new viewpoints.
HE LOVES ME, HE LOVES ME NOT is a smart thriller movie which certainly caught me by surprise. When I rented this DVD I didn't expect to be treated with a film that delved deeper than a French romance, and I didn't expect to be fooled. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A romantic-comedy...or is it?, June 28, 2006
By 
Simon (Brampton, ON) - See all my reviews
This review is from: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not (DVD)
This is the story of Angelique. Angelique has fallen in love with a married doctor, but lately the doctor has been missing their dates and refusing to leave his pregnant wife. When he skips out on their promised trip to Florence, Angelique spirals into depression. Then the film jumps back to the beginning, and we see the whole story from the doctor's point-of-view. And what a view it is...

My sister recommended this to me after watching it in her French class. If you're going in expecting this to be a fluffy romance-comedy about two lovers who keep missing each other due to circumstance, be prepared for a huge shock halfway into the film. This film is not what it appears to be (no thanks to other reviewers who have spoiled it), and even after you know the whole story it still works well as a romantic thriller (and how many films do we know that fit into that genre?).

Of course the cruel-yet-fun thing to do would be to pass it off as a romantic comedy to your significant other, then watch their mouths slowly fall open in shock as the story reveals itself. As the film definitely merits repeat viewings, you might find yourself with the urge to play this joke sometime...

A definite gem. North American cinema rarely has the guts to think outside the box like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splitting Up, February 14, 2003
By 
MICHAEL ACUNA (Southern California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Audrey Tautou's movie career began a scant 4 years ago with "The Venus Beauty Institute" and reached it's zenith, we thought with the delightful, though sometimes mean-spirited, "Amelie."
And it looked like her current American release, "He Loves Me, He Love Me Not" was going down the same road that began with "Amelie": optimistic and waif-like Angelique (Tautou), always smiling, always pleasant, always looking for the good side of things, waiting patiently for the attentions of Mr. Right, who comes in the guise of Loic (Samuel Le Bihan).
Then Angelique's psyche begins to unravel due to several acts of cruelty and thoughtlessness by Loic and director, Laetitia Colombani's sunny and light film begins a slow slide into a creepy suspense thriller. Colombani's touch is so assured and so deft that we hardly notice the gradual, unnerving change of mood and point of view...likewise with Tautou's performance. Angelique is the flip side of Amelie: appreciating the fragrance of a flower has now descended into throwing the flower into an incinerator and watching it burn.
"He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not" is an unexpected, surprising and perverse pleasure but it is also ultimately a tribute to and an appreciation of Audrey Tautou's talent, resourcefulness and, more to the point the inner fortitude that demands that she move her career away from the tried and true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He Loves Me - Pas du Tout, September 6, 2005
This review is from: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not (DVD)
This French film starring Audrey Tautou of "Amelie" fame begins as though a predictable romance about a charming young and talented artist who throws away her life while waiting for her married lover. Angelique is madly in love with Loic (Samuel Le Bihan), a cardiologist whose lawyer-wife is pregnant. Viewers recognize Loic as the typical lout, the man who wants both the comfort of married life and the thrill of an affair - and who, when pushed, will always choose his wife. Angelique is so taken with Loic that she fails to recognize the devoted love of her friend, the cute medical student David (Clément Sibony). Partway through, however, just as the viewer has settled into it, the story twists upon itself - and "He Love Me, He Loves Me Not" becomes a completely different film.

Audrey Tautou plays the waif-like Angelique with such charm and energy that her performance adds another layer to what happens. Viewers watching this film more than once (as many will want to) will see how her acting hints at what will transpire. A lesser actress might have performed the role as though there were two separate movies, but Tautou remains true to her character, even if the viewer cannot know what that means. The rest of the cast is competent, with only Sibony and Isabelle Carré, as Angelique's friend Rachel, standing out. Like "Amelie", this is a star vehicle for Tautou, although viewers familiar with the earlier film will be surprised to see that Angelique is nothing like Tatou's earlier role.

Viewers who like conventional filmmaking might not be as taken with this film as will those who like a little oddity in their stories. Fans of Tautou, foreign film buffs, and even Hitchcock followers will thoroughly enjoy this skewed telling of a young woman in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Is What I Can Give to You, and Something More Too, October 15, 2003
To reveal anything about the story would spoil the sensation you will get watching "He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not." So, if you really like "Amelie"'s Audrey Tautou, just watch it without bothering to read anything. The film is a big surprise, betraying whatever you expect from charming Tautou in strikingly red clothes.
But if you need some information, let me call the film a "Hitchcockian romance." Audrey plays Angelique, an aspiring art school student, who is in love with a handsome cardiologist Samuel Le Bihan. One problem for Angelique is, he is married. But she knows he is going to divorce ... but who can tell?
And suppose Angelique, as her name implies, is always pretty and engaging. So winsome and lovely, she can convince anyone of anything. Is that called charming? Or manipulative? The film traces very unpredictable course of events that started with a single flower of rose, and a little bit of imagination. Also the film gives clever contrast or double meanings of 'heart," which would remain long in your memory.
Angelique is literally 'angelic,' or looks so. Though the cast of Tautou is decided before the international hit of "Amelie," her sweet image gives an unexpectedly uncanny and enticing power to this film, directed by Laetitia Colombani, herself an actress (and she is only 26 years old!). "He Loves Me..." which came as the result of the reseach for the paper while she was in film school, became this promising feature debut film.
The film's conclusion may not satisfy everybody, and look overlong to some of us, but "He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not" is a thrilling experience of watching what a love can achieve with great efforts, or its bizarre and dark flip side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie..., July 27, 2006
By 
hmbnd2 "Sonlight lover" (chillin' with my laptop) - See all my reviews
This review is from: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not (DVD)
I didn't even realize this was in French after a few minutes. It was so intense. Audrey is so beautiful to look at. This movie took a surprising twist later in the movie. I was not expecting it so it was an awesome surprise and made the movie even better! I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant table-turning modern melodrama, June 15, 2006
By 
J. Kara Russell "Actress/Artist/Musician/Writer" (Hollywood - the cinderblock Industrial cubicle) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not (DVD)
Audrey Tautou is a neccessary ingredient of making this film work. This film is built on the fact that audiences want so much to like her, with her large eyes, childlike face and full girlish figure. Any man would be in love with her, right? So goes the first half of this film... this guy is an incredible jerk. Then the film literally reverses and we see everything from the beginning again, from his point of view, and it is a different story entirely.

This movie is packaged badly. I think they were capitalizing on the success of Audrey and "Amelie" and it has been packaged like a cartoon. Even in the begginning, it is nothing like that. This is the only problem with this film.

This is a very highly produced, modern melodrama about how our perception creates our version of reality. The story is the grist of "movie of the week" fare, but it is the style, the telling of it, and the performances which make it top notch. The entire cast is exceptional, there are some wonderful wrenching scenes from small supporting players. Very accessible, enjoyable and thought provoking about the way WE view others from the stories they tell us.

A popcorn movie with a brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... but what about all our plans?, October 22, 2005
This review is from: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not (DVD)
I saw this movie shortly after seeing Amelie and I was convinced that poor Audrey Tatou was being led on and manipulated. Our sweet little optimistic Audrey could never do anything so disturbing.

Could she?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film to watch first, then read the reviews, June 22, 2005
By 
Robert Pratte (charleston, il USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not (DVD)
The biggest problem with reviewing this movie is that it is nearly/entirely impossible to discuss it without giving away the magical turn in the plot. The flip side of this is that nearly any review (including this one) will ruin any surprises that the film holds. Therefore - PLEASE just watch it and don't read too much first. Truly, the beauty of this film is its ability to turn the viewer into a liar. Two contradictory positions seem equally valid, and it is only the last word that leaves the viewer with a sense of which is accurate. If you enjoy a bit of psycho-drama, dark humor, and the inimitable Ms. Tautou, then this is a must-see. Any information past that only does the reader/viewer a disservice.

Watch it first, read the reviews later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audrey reinvents Amelie as bad, bad girl., August 13, 2004
This review is from: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not (DVD)
In facial drama Audrey Tautou owns a controlling interest. While "He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not" is a romantic comedy that completely eludes and subverts expectations, Tautou plays right into them as an elfin, perky doer of progressively bad deeds, and thus does much of the eluding and subverting.

Tautou is Angelique, and the name doesn't just sound like "Amelie;" she's the same prototype: A cute, lonely, falsely chipper waitress prone to mysterious notes and objects of affection, in this case a cardiologist, Loic (Samuel Le Behan). And director Laetitia Colombani does indeed begin the film as a lighthearted, meet sweet romp through Paris. It is everything but.

Quickly - and directly - Angelique's motives begin to unravel. She claims to be having an affair with Loic, and she claims his wife, Rachel (Isabel Carre) is merely trying to ensnare him with a pregnancy. But Angelique seems more wishful than involved. Then wishful becomes obsessive. Then dangerous - when Loic fails to show at the airport for a getaway to Florence, Italy, Angelique is more than crushed, forcing her two best friends (Clement Sibony and Sophie Guillermin) into criminal compromises. A third through the film, after Angelique has caused enough damage for two or three fatal attractions, we see her committing suicide.

Then "He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not" does a daring, clever thing: It rewinds itself to the very beginning and shows all the same events from the perspective of Samuel, who, it becomes clear, does not really know Angelique. Nor does he know who is suddenly mailing him paintings and gifts. The movie's second half is not so much a revelation - although we learn how two events (Samuel's arrest and Rachel's miscarriage) came to occur - as an accumulating, suspensful dread. What a pox Angelique has put on this man's life.

The grinning, smirking villain, Tautou is excellent - as distraught here as she was resilient in "Amelie." A fine line separates the two characters and Tautou walks it, subtly changing her body language and trademark pouts beyond curiousity and playfulness. It is not reinvention but rearrangement, and it is as hard as method acting, and the mark of a star who can pull it off. Notice how Angelique sits - slumped, a knuckle resting immaturely between her open legs. Or her sudden smile-to-frown moments around Loic. Though we begin to suspect an unhealthy romance, Angelique's pathology resonates better in Samuel's section of the movie. Colombani could have only pulled off such a split structure with a memorable face to attach to Samuel's distress. Tautou is the girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9fbad2a0)

This product

He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not
Used & New from: $8.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.