Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ali was born to play this role...
(PLEASE NOTE: Like "Head Case" itself, this review is brief)

At long last, a role that Ali Wentworth-Stephanopolous ;) was born to play. She's a fantastic comedic talent, yet was lost in the TV wilderness for years following her breakout role on "In Living Color".
Well, motherhood played a big role in her career path as well.

And speaking of...
Published on June 25, 2009 by The Amazonian King

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am a Makeup Lady Except the Makeup Is for Your Head
We all know most of Hollywood have major mental problems so Head Case seems like a natural show. If you never have heard of Head Case it is probably because it is on Starz. The show features Alexandra Wentworth (In Living Color) as a psychologist to the stars that features actual celebrities, and legitimate ones too, not the kind ABC and VH1 trot out for their...
Published on April 23, 2009 by Scooter McGavin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am a Makeup Lady Except the Makeup Is for Your Head, April 23, 2009
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
We all know most of Hollywood have major mental problems so Head Case seems like a natural show. If you never have heard of Head Case it is probably because it is on Starz. The show features Alexandra Wentworth (In Living Color) as a psychologist to the stars that features actual celebrities, and legitimate ones too, not the kind ABC and VH1 trot out for their unwatchable reality shows.

Being semi-scripted, most episodes hinge on how well the stars can think on their feet, and while some can (Andy Dick, Jonathan Silverman) others fall flat (Good Charlotte's Joel Madden). And there is a special category for Greg Grumberg that makes me happy I stopped watching Heroes because I never want to see him in anything again after this. And I thought his super-hearing face was disturbing.

The show isn't all about the celebrities as we also follow Wentworth outside her practice to show just how she is the last person to give anyone advise as she has bad relationships with her family and boyfriend (Ron Benedict, Threshold). But the scene stealer is Steve Landesberg (Forgetting Sarah Marshall) whom Wentworth shares an office with despite not actually having any patients so he tries to land some of her clients and psychoanalyze the repair guy while he works.

One big problem with the DVD packaging is that is out of order. There is two hours worth of shorts that are on the second disk that actually aired before what the set calls the first season which is on the first disk. If you watch the first disk first like I did, there is a sense that you are missing something while watching the first episode. So if you check out the first season of Head Case on DVD, be sure to pop in the second disk first to watch it the way the show aired chronologically. The second disk also features a featurette and a blooper reel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool show; questionable presentation, April 22, 2009
By 
Aaron Silverman "DJ Kuul A" (Boynton Beach, FL, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a pretty funny show. I wouldn't say it's up to the level of the classic HBO programs like Curb Your Enthusiasm, but it's worth watching if you enjoy a twisted sense of humor. And it is very twisted -- they get into some rather freaky subject matter, along with a fair amount of swearing and occasional nudity. It's not for the squeamish.

That said, I have some issues with the DVD presentation. The picture and sound are fine for the most part; it's the way the set is organized that's a little strange. The show began as a series of 12-minute shorts, which were followed by eight 25-minute episodes. The eight longer episodes are on disc 1 as "Season One," while the shorts are on disc 2 as "Bonus Shorts." The material on disc 1 chronologically follows the "bonus" episodes on disc 2, so there are storylines that pick up in the middle if you watch disc 1 first. This is not a huge issue, but it is a little disconcerting, and it ruins some of the gags in the shorts since they get referenced "later" in the disc 1 episodes. The other strange and annoying thing about the short episodes is that they are encoded in non-anamorphic widescreen and without subtitles. The episodes on disc 1 are enhanced for widescreen TVs and include subtitles. This is inexplicable and indefensible.

Disc 2 also includes a short making-of featurette and a blooper reel, both also in non-anamorphic widescreen and sans subtitles. They're OK but nothing special.

So I do recommend the show -- just be sure to watch disc 2 first. I might award 4 stars for the content, but I'm docking one for the bizarre presentation that actually reduces the entertainment value by partially spoiling the material on disc 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ali was born to play this role..., June 25, 2009
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
(PLEASE NOTE: Like "Head Case" itself, this review is brief)

At long last, a role that Ali Wentworth-Stephanopolous ;) was born to play. She's a fantastic comedic talent, yet was lost in the TV wilderness for years following her breakout role on "In Living Color".
Well, motherhood played a big role in her career path as well.

And speaking of those who were lost-and-now-found, Steve Landesberg is a true scene-stealer... where has he been in the **almost 3 decades** since Barney Miller???

Like many other reviewers, I agree both the show and DVD box set itself has problems (albeit slight) and huge potential. A five-year old must have been in charge of producing the discs, as the episodes are completely out-of-order... Disk 2 should be Disk 1, etc.

BOTTOMLINE, Buy or No-Buy: Buy. This title is reasonably-priced and the show is often quite hilarious. The David Allen-Grier (again, In Living Color) episode alone is worth it.

Ok, let the "0 of 100 Reviewers Find This Review Helpful" onslaught begin!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Head Case is more like a Head Ache, March 26, 2009
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Alexandra Wentworth stars as Dr. Elizabeth Goode, an L.A. psychiatrist who specializes in treating (read: abusing) celebrities. The concept looked good as there's plenty of room for guest stars, topical humor and the iconic strangeness of all things Hollywood.

I didn't laugh much during the first couple episodes (Steve Landesberg is woefully underused here as Dr. Myron Finklestein), hoping the series would find a toehold. It never happened.

Like an out-of-control carousel, Dr. Goode cycles through a series of gags:

1. Dr. Goode interrupts the sessions with her own personal problems;
2. The celebrity feigns shock and surprise at Dr. Goode's behavior;
3. Dr. Goode attempts to place the fault back on the celebrity;
4. Dr. Goode offers bad advice (and later spins it or denies it flatly).

Wentworth screeches through each episode using those four steps and an increasingly bizarre cast of celebrities who play themselves as needy, neurotic or nihilistic (sometimes, a bit of all three).

I can only imagine she made a wager with Larry David that she could create a character more grating than his own in Curb Your Enthusiasm. Hint: she won.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A SHRINKING feeling, August 28, 2009
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Alexandra Wentworth and Steve Landesberg star in this series about shrinks. I think this is Fraiser with an edge

This Starz cable channel show is enjoyable in small doses. So when watch this box set dont watch it all at once.

Otherwise this is cute and full of laughes. It is better thanDr. Katz: Seasons 1 and 2 DVD Bundleany day of the year.

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Psych Major's Dream..., August 5, 2009
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Head Case is superb! :-)

We were skeptical in the beginning and thought the series would be silly, but after watching the first episode, we were hooked.

Head Case cleverly sensationalizes the drama of 'normal' mental life. The fact that the show uses real celebrities makes it even more fascinating. Viewers are able to see their favorite stars in uniquely staged therapy sessions. Discussions are curiously questionable and seem more true than false.

We love the main characters, especially psychotherapist, Dr. Goode who receives daily room service at her Hotel residence. Her motto is, "If celebrities want to build castles in their mind, she is here to collect the rent."

This artistry is certainly not for everyone, especially in-the-box thinkers, but others may certainly enjoy the stimulating cognitive joy we experienced.

-----------------------------

Another great (non-comedic) Hollywood show for those interested in behavioral science is:

* In Treatment: The Complete First Season
* In Treatment- The Complete Second Season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but too fluffy for my taste, July 30, 2009
By 
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
"Head Case" is a funny show. The problem is, it's more of an SNL skit than a solid basis for an entire series.

To give it some credit, it sort of reminded me of "Boston Legal" and "Weeds." But both of those shows are funnier and have much stronger story arcs that pull you in for the long haul.

Given the current state of network TV, this show might be worth a look for some. I'm not sure if it's worth owning, however, as I don't think the show will be good for repeat viewings. It's neither funny nor sentimental enough for that in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not that funny, July 10, 2009
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I was really looking forward to watching this. The idea for the show is a great one, but the show falls flat. It is choppy and boring. There a few funny moments, but they do not make up for the loss of your time watching the series. I would not recommend buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kudos to Starz, June 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I stumbled on this DVD [not having this network] and have loved it. Ms. Wentworth [the orignal Schmoopie from Seinfeld] walks a fine line between clever and stupid [to quote Spinal Tap] and in so doing offers the crazy comic ying to Entourage's more worshipful yang. As those who have gone before have noted: watch Disc 2 first, and be prepared for some broad, improvisionational humor. This is not for the faint of heart--its never going to be on network TV, and its never going to win an award from the American Psychological Association. It should though win an Emmy next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Execellent, Very FUNNY!!, May 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
This show is funnier than anything on television. Ali Wentworth is priceless and the chemistry between the actors is great! I can watch it over and over and still laugh out loud everytime!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1
Head Case: Season 1, Vol. 1 by Jason Farrand (DVD - 2009)
$9.98 $3.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.