Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best So Far - An Operational Status Review.
This is a partial review. I want to provide some feedback quickly in case there are others in my situation. I call this an operational review because I just want to become operational/proficient in iPad development - I'm not someone who can write pithy reviews.

First so that you understand the context of my comments, I am a retread. I've never programmed on...
Published on July 9, 2011 by J. Lawler

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars XCode 4.2 makes this version very frustrating
The newest version of XCode makes this book (second edition, the latest one) frustrating to follow in some places and impossible to follow in others. I abandoned the book after realizing I could not complete chapters 7 and 8 with XCode 4.2. I would strongly recommend waiting for the next edition to come out.
Published on December 10, 2011 by Matt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro at the time, may need to check for updates, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
This book was a very good intro at the time I ordered.
Still probably a great start, but be sure to check for updates.
There are a number of good shortcut tools available now - but knowing the basics is still key.

Nice writing style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great reference for professionals and newbies in iPhone development, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
Easy reading and the content matches with the XCode Dev Interface. The Head First methodology or approach is EXCELLENT and very intuitive and easy way to learn programming languages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good iOS Starter for iPhone/iPad, July 9, 2012
On the down side this book lacks color, app books really are only their best in full color as well as in print. I would not consider using this on Kindle but is a great addition to my reference material I use professionally. Albeit a bit of drinking Apple Koolaide this is a great well done book on iOS (iPhone/iPad). I highly recommend it for those getting into this kind of work. Granted with new versions of xCode this book can have a few issues and I look forward to seeing an updated version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good for starting out, September 19, 2011
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
Good:

This is a good starter book on iOS development.

Like all other Head First books it uses layman's terms and tries to make reading interesting.

Bad:

I think Head First needs a separate Objective C and C book.

It doesn't cover all Cocoa. Unfortunately since Apple development had been a niche area for decades until the advent of iOS, it's a little harder to learn especially since some portions of Cocoa don't always have an Objective-C interface. I would pay more money if the author covered more areas. .NET and Java are easy comparatively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date :/, October 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
While it seems like a great purchase, if you look closely in the top right corner it says "now supports up to iOS 4" ... We are on iOS 8.1 :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meandering, August 20, 2011
By 
Running Bill (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
The book starts by saying you don't have to know much programming but it helps, but then it goes into deep, obscure computer-speak that only a seasoned programmer would know. I come from a web design background but I have PHP and Actionscripting experience and comfortable with OO programming. I don't claim to be a programmer by any means...which is why I bought a Head First book instead of book aimed at one. But this book will frustrate the hell out of you. The author will dwell on things that seem obvious but throw advanced terms at you with no explanation. And the magnet quizzes are sometimes impossible where you'd have to be a mind-reader on top of a programmer to know the answers. The whole book feels very rushed and as I said in the title it just meanders seemingly with no sense of organization. I expected more from a Head First book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read, but a bit to childish, July 16, 2011
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
The Head First series are always a great way to get started in some new technology. This book is no exception to that. This second edition is completely rewritten to match the new iOS and Xcode versions. The authors take the reader with them on a path to learn these new technologies. Every aspect of developing for the iDevices is shown and discussed. Real life examples are used to build complete applications that can be submitted to the App Store. The book starts out with a simple iPhone application which is then expanded to incorporate more advanced stuff such as iPad support, device orientation, Core Data and usage of the Camera. Every part is explained in detail with code samples and screenshots.

Overall the book is a great way to get introduced to development for iOS. The authors try to cut lose from boring introductions. Code samples are alternated with screenshots, in dept explanations and silly interviews. This way the book stays fun and interesting. However, I found the style a bit to childish from time to time. Interviews with GUI controls are not the content that I would expect. It does make this book useful for teenagers that want to get started. I think the content could be made a little more dense and less childish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, concise and comprehensive -- but not on iOS 5 yet, April 20, 2012
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
Many books don't explain iOS well. Key topics like Core Data (data persistence) are usually lacking. And a lot of more. Applications? Too many toy examples in other books. But not on this one. It has all the key subjects. And many different use cases to show how iOS can be applied to different situations and applications.

As if it wasn't enough, it is also fun to read! With beautiful color artwork and screenshots. All in a conversational style that is concise but clear. Sure, some readers may not like the typical Head First style (that may come across as childish) . But they may be losing a lot by being so conservative. Yes, the Head First series style could be improved, but it doesn't hurt much either as it stands.

Unfortunately, it doesn't cover iOS 5. But it is just a version behind, so it is fine. One can easily learn from Apple's own documentation what is missing. This book is not out of date because of that! Much to the contrary: it teaches valuable iOS development skills that are useful now and likely in future versions of iOS. In a few months, iOS 6 will certainly be out, yet the solid ground laid out by this book shall still stand what is new.

However, the new version of Xcode may pose problems to readers who try to follow the book examples, but it is not critical. With attention and care, they can still be followed. Anyway, the new, 3rd version of this book with iOS 5 and the new version of Xcode is on its way. Unfortunately it may only come out in June 2012.

Two other excellent books deserve mention: "Learning iPad Programming" and "iOS 5 Programming Pushing the Limits". They both cover a lot more than this book, but can be read afterwards.

While other books focus on one target application or in many toy applications, this book finds the right balance by attacking different and interesting use cases where iOS is put into practice, teaching many important skills and covering key topics that many other books don't cover. An outstanding book. Too bad it does not cover the latest Xcode and iOS 5 yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Head First iPhone & iPad Development / Brain-Friendly Learning & Use!!!..., October 4, 2011
By 
Michael GreenGold (GLENWOOD, ILLINOIS, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
>>>..."Head First iPhone & iPad Development" is a Brain-Friendly Guide for those that have Ideas for Killer iPhone or iPad apps and will need help to get your first applications up and running!!!...
>>>...If you can answer "yes" to all of these : 1 - Do you have previous development experience? / 2 - Do you want to learn, understand, remember, and apply important iOS design and development concepts so that you can write your own iPhone and iPad apps and start selling them in the App Store? / 3 - Do you prefer stimulating dinner party conversation to dry, dull, academic lectures? --- this Guide is for you!!!... You will learn to use iOS SDK tools, including Xcode 4 & Objective-C programming principles that will make your apps stand out!!!...
>>>..."Head First iPhone & iPad Development", from Team Dan / Tracey Pilone & Teammates, which covers 634 pages, is a Complete Learning experience for creating eye-catching, top-selling iOS applications!!!...
>>>..."Head First iPhone & iPad Development" is a Cover-to-Cover Learning & Use experience that is using the latest research delivery of cognitive science and learning theory to craft a multi-sensory rich visual format designed for the way our brain works, not a text-heavy approach that puts us to sleep!!!...
>>>...Going Forward...Invest in your PurchaseReview of "Head First iPhone & iPad Development" if your are an above-determined "yes" person!!!...Today / Now...to determine if it will work for you!!!...Carpe Diem - Seize The Day!!!...Michael!.Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating and Filled With Errors, September 21, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Head First iPhone and iPad Development: A Learner's Guide to Creating Objective-C Applications for the iPhone and iPad (Paperback)
I bought this to try to understand xcode 4 and objective c. I have experience writing database code and HTML so I'm not a newbie at writing code.

The first project was very simple and easy. I'm into the second project and am very frustrated by the errors in the code that the book instructs you to enter into xcode.

When I enter the code, I get all kinds of error messages. Some errors are fixed within xcode 4 but some aren't and I don't understand what the error messages are. I check the code letter by letter and still get the error messages. I have spent many hours on just this one project and not even one sixth through the book. I'm about to dump this book and find another.

This book looks like it would be easy to use and understand but in fact it is very frustrating. The system of teaching using different methods to reinforce each other is good but it's just not working for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.