Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on January 26, 2012
I read this book in hopes of learning exactly what the new rules of the hiring secrets are, and I definitely found the answers. So much has changed since the days of simply filling out applications or shooting resumes off via the internet. This book is very direct and includes samples of actual interviews. It tells you what should and should not be said during phone interviews as well as the actual face-to-face interview. The only problem I have with the book is that it seems to be geared more towards the professional job seeker (college degree) and not so much for the average Joe. However, anyone seeking a job today will become better prepared and gain insightful knowledge from reading this book.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2011
I don't write many reviews, but promised myself that I'd start because they do influence decision making and when you are looking for a new career, it is important to use your time effectively.

The Good:
- Agree with most of the information and approaches
- Learned a few new things that I haven't seen discussed
- Would be a good book to begin your career search

The Bad:
- Some outdated information (i.e. Yahoo Hotjobs is mentioned, even though they merged with Monster last year)
- There is too much time spent on telephone scripts - showing how the conversation should go when you talk on the phone
- I don't agree with some information posted (cold calling employers, making 50 contacts a day).
- There is a soft sell pitch in the book about using his firm for services (like coaching)

The Bottom Line:
It gets 4 out of 5 stars.
44 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2015
Great guide in planning your job hunt. This is a very pragmatic guide that pulls few punches. It's not about finding/following your passion but the nuts and bolts of getting a job in a tough market - i.e. the branding and selling required and that the people looking at your CV because of the volume will be looking at reasons to discard it to make the pile smaller. It shows you how to get through the hoops until you can get in front of the hiring manager, and then how to prepare for the questions in the interview - including the curly ones. At the kindle price it's an amazing bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
I am looking for a job in sales or marketing and this book literally takes you by the hand from start to finish, it suggest quite an unhorthodox way of finding leads and uncovering opportunities, but that's maybe unhorthodox for me as I've never done it before. I can definitely see this working as it's an approach that differentiates you from the pack, although I haven't had any interview out of it yet.

One question for Skip if he's around: what's your response after they say "you need to apply through our website"? I used the one you gave in the book but it's never worked so far, their answer is always "I'm afraid that's standard procedure", so it's a no. Not saying it's a bad answer, just asking how you would deal with it to get the meeting. Also if they say "we're not hiring right now", do you still push for the informal meeting? If so, can vacancies actually be created out of it?

Thanks
66 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
job search is much about being logical. anyhow there are couple of traps that you should read of and be knowledgable about. this book sheds light on those items, such as
- question on salary
- how to tell of your background
- what to be aware of in the process
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
Exclamation!, bold, italicize , CAPITALIZE, and large font is the only way to convince/motivate people:
Call it a personal pet peeve, but I cannot stand to read a book written by an author that feels the need to bold, italicize, or CAPITALIZE every other phrase. It's distracting, and for some reason they're never as good as books that use it tastefully or not at all. With that said, this book had a few helpful tips (once you got past the fluff), hence the 3 stars. I think 2.5 would be more accurate.

Update*

After re-visiting this title I've decided to give it an extra star, I left my old review above. In an over saturated genre this book stands out. On first glance it seems like any other mediocre title written by an author trying to make a quick buck on an e-book. After a more in depth review you'll find most of this book very useful, and the amount of original content is impressive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2012
This book gave a good overview of the new hiring process, it explain the differences between the traditional hiring process and the new hiring process that is current in the big companies. It provides examples and tools in order to identify your strength and weaknesses that are going to help you during the different interviews. As an HR professional I really recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
This book is more useful for professionals who have strong work experience. Not so much for graduates. But there is still lots of good stuff for everyone. Lots of repetition but in this topic I think it is actually good. Nice book overall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
The book is helpful and worth the $5.99 I spent on the Kindle edition, but is substantially similar to the other job seeker books out there.

If you're someone who understands the importance of networking and believe in adhering to the traditional, perhaps formal, rules of job-seeking (sending appropriate thank you's after interviewing, etc.) then there isn't much new content. It can, however, help you organize and categorize the different facets in your search.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
"Headhunter" Hiring Secrets is a great book that gives you relevant, practical ways to get that new job or other business opportunity. It's written in a way that pushes you to think about trying different angles to reach your goal. Anyone looking to make bold steps in their job search should consider this as a tool.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse