Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book if you have LYME and all the co-infections
This guys knowledge is incredible and life saving. After going to several doctors with my partner for Lyme and getting little to none support we have now put our health into the hands of this book and his other one.
The detailed protocol tells you exactly what herbs to buy and where, and so much more.

While she is still seeing a doctor, we are only relying...
Published 15 months ago by Trish Alkaitis

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doesn't always work
I've written 5 star reviews for several of Buhner's books and rank him very high generally. Unfortunately, these recommendations don't always work.

Over the last few years a friend with Lyme and these coinfections (plus Babesia) got rid of them twice - once using Buhner's recommendations- but they all came back, showing they had not been completely eliminated...
Published 4 months ago by D&D


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book if you have LYME and all the co-infections, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
This guys knowledge is incredible and life saving. After going to several doctors with my partner for Lyme and getting little to none support we have now put our health into the hands of this book and his other one.
The detailed protocol tells you exactly what herbs to buy and where, and so much more.

While she is still seeing a doctor, we are only relying on him for the allopathic aspect. This book will detail absolutely everything you need to know about lyme. I also recommend his website as well. If only someone had told us about this guy 3 years ago.

I pray the anyone who has lyme will benefit from this review. Just an FYI this book was designed that you can take all the herbs in tandem with antibiotics. Wishing you the best of luck to regain your health quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bartonella and Mycoplasma Book I Have Found, June 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections, by Stephen Harrod Buhner, is easily the best discussion of Mycoplasma and Bartonella infections and their testing and herbal treatment.

This book is a great bargain,since purchasing a copy of even one of the published studies he discusses would cost more than the entire price of the book. Buhner has obviously read and distilled over a hundred scientific journal articles to write this book. It is obvious he has read the entire articles, not just the abstracts.

The depth of the book and the power of the various herbals to precisely modify the immune system is almost overwhelming. For example, Scutellaria baicalensis, Chinese skullcap, reduces nitric oxide, iNOS, IL-3, IL-6, IL-17, COX -2, PGE2, NF-xB,IxB-a, IL-1b, IL-2 IL-12, TNF-a and VEGF and tends to upregulate IL-10. Amazingly, some physicians claim there are no published studies of herbal medicinal effects! Interestingly, Buhner reports Scutellaria inhibits Cytochrome P450 C3A4, while a journal article, Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet. 2011 Dec;36(4):249-56, concluded it did not inhibit C3A4, in vitro.

I have personally witnessed resveratrol, andrographis, cat's claw, smilax, Isatis and hawthorne herbals Buhner recommended for Lyme Disease, produce favorable results. I have also observed a Western Blot Ig M 41 positive Lyme patient, recover from Herxheimer dieoff faster, using Isatis herbal, recommended by this book. I suspect the Lyme dieoff cleared faster, because Isatis decreases LPS endotoxins.

In addition to treating or reducing severity of Mycoplasma and Bartonella, many herbals discussed in the book are also effective against allergies, encephalitis, arthritis, and other bacterial and viral infections, including Staphylococcus, Shigella, Enterococcus, Psuedomonas, Klebsiella, Malaria, Hepatitis C, HIV, Herpes, Cytomegalovirus, etc.

Buhner reports he has recovered from Lyme disease and has been using herbals to treat people, for about 25 years. With antibiotic resistance, from prescription medications increasing, herbals provide effective treatment alternatives, for many bacterial and viral diseases. Herbals such as Astragalus and cat's claw can also be used proactively, as tonics, to prevent infections, such as Lyme Disease.

Steven Sponaugle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extensive scientific review with a herbal twist, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
The author presents a very detailed scientific review of what is known of two obscure bacterial families, mycoplasma and bartonella. Excellent balance and combination of conventional antibiotic therapy with herbal approaches. A difficult read for laymen, but an invaluable resource for those with an appetite for details. Often he reflects his unusual grasp of concepts that are not generally accepted. The book is modestly priced for its scientific content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can Beat Lyme's in a Safe Way at a Low Cost, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
If you have Lyme's, buy this (and all of Stephen Buhner's other books) on plant-based medicine. This book, and Buhner's other writing, saved my life when "normal" medicine had badly failed me. -F.F., Michigan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Reading Great Bibliography, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
This book is an indispensable complement to "Healing Lyme . . ." by the same author. Stephen Buhner's gift for helping the professional and the non-professional reader understand the microbes and the disease processes behind these illnesses makes this the one among many recent books about Lyme and co-infections that I open most often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
Excellent information and impeccable research for anyone suffering from Lyme disease or any chronic illness that mimics it. Very well written and easy to understand and 113 pages of references. Share it and empower someone with debilitating symptoms to grab their life back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge amount of information!!, July 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book. There is an enormous amount of information as to how Bartonella and Mycoplasma operate and how to deal with them holistically. Very interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative for Bartonella, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
I recently verified I had bartonella as a co-infection along with lyme. I really believe the bartonella is the more stubborn and detrimental infection of the two, although lyme is no cake walk as fellow lyme patients know. This author does a great job explaining the complications of bartonella and how to treat this tricky infection. Bartonella likes to hide and evolve in your lymph nodes, the same organs responsible for fighting diseases, so it makes it hard combat it. The book covers a lot of detail and remedies to try and the author does a great job explaining how these co-infections work together to hide out and survive longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUHNER GETS BETTER AND BETTER. A TOP TREATMENT OPTIONS SCIENTIST OFFERING SELECT OPTIONS., January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
Obviously Dr. Buhner is a strong reader and likely almost full-time, since having done it, you do not read all he does here in a year. The struggle I have is knowing which herbs or other integrative options merit attention, and Dr. Buhner always gives me a couple good ones I barely know.

While it might have been of use to reference more books, few exist at a top level and many feel papers are more credible--a fairly common practice in science.

I have seen some of his patients and it seemed very clear some treatments were clearly of use. Some with excess sensitivities need very aggressive anti-inflammatory options to reverse massive inflammation, and raise anti-inflammation system, to use these treatments. But the same is definitely true of synthetic options and other treatments.

I think I bought two copies so I can have in my top 200 reference idea books--ones I really look to for people who are not improving as they should.

Finally, I appreciate the reference to misc. immune and inflammation system biochemicals, such as IL-IB, IL-6, TNF-A AND VEGF. Of the ones he mentions these IN COMBINATION, plus some others available at most labs, help to determine effects on Babesia and Bartonella of a treatment.

Currently, I wish I saw this in routine use, but it is not routine.

Dr. Buhner's web site has useful ideas and I appreciate his humility in at least one post--date unknown--reporting he was unsure of biofilm approaches. This is not a fad. Non-biofilm illnesses are now known to be the rare unicorns.

Finally, he will never recover the sweat in doing this book. Thank you for so many hours, week after week, month after month to give to us and make pennies.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doesn't always work, May 18, 2014
This review is from: Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma (Paperback)
I've written 5 star reviews for several of Buhner's books and rank him very high generally. Unfortunately, these recommendations don't always work.

Over the last few years a friend with Lyme and these coinfections (plus Babesia) got rid of them twice - once using Buhner's recommendations- but they all came back, showing they had not been completely eliminated. Eventually we discovered that true cinnamon leaf oil has powerful healing qualities: 2 drops a day for 105 days eliminates all infections, including bacteria, virus, fungus and parasite. Try it for yourself, it's both cheap and easy - but make sure to dilute it in some juice or oil, otherwise it will burn your mouth. Also, many other supplements will work against it - visit lyme-symptoms[dot]com for the full protocol.

You need to look for a products that states it is true cinnamon (zeylanicum or verum) and leaf (it's the oil from the leaves of the cinnamon bush that has the necessary eugenol as the main component) and also "steam distilled"; in my experience, the NuKira brand worked.

Cinnamon bark oil gives the true cinnamon smell and flavor, while leaf does not, it smells like cloves. So it depends on what you want the oil for - smell and flavor or healing...

Also, avoid cassia, or any bottle that does NOT say cinnamon zeylanicum or cinnamon verum AND "steam distilled". They taste and smell somewhat similar but do not work the same way. Cassia is legally allowed to be called "cinnamon" so it's easy to get the wrong kind, which I did initially.

The few alternative oils for this healing protocol are:
- Marjoram (Origanum majorana) aka sweet marjoram
- Thymus Mastichina also known as Wild Marjoram, Mastic Thyme and Marjoram Spanish
- Mandarin (Citrus reticulata) from South Africa

It must state "steam distilled" on the label, not just the website.

Within an hour of taking the first drop of true cinnamon leaf oil in some juice my breathing became easier (for over a decade I had Babesia, a cousin of Malaria which eats red blood cells - these cells carry oxygen throughout the body; unfortunately, there are lab tests for only a few of the many types of babesia, so rely on a distinctive pair of symptoms: air starvation plus recurring low grade fever, usually afternoon or evening). Ugh, the juice failed to mask the taste, just as strong and as bitter as clove oil and oregano oil.

However, after a couple of months several of us (around the same time, some with Lyme and also several coinfections - by then we were all free of symptoms) doing the essential oil protocol together became intolerant of the cinnamon leaf oil - as we had with oil of oregano that we'd been using some years ago for tooth abscesses. As one of us also has a citrus intolerance, we all changed to thymus mastichina from Spain, steam distilled from the leaves and flowers, for the remainder of the 105 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Healing Lyme Disease Coinfections: Complementary and Holistic Treatments for Bartonella and Mycoplasma
$19.95 $15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.