Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


263 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healing Trauma
If you bring forth that which is within you,
Then that which is within you
Will be your salvation.
If you do not bring forth that
Which is within you,
Then that which is within you
Will destroy you.
~The Gnostic Gospels

What a way to begin a book! While this "riddle" has been unlocked by scholars and they claim it means we...
Published on September 2, 2005 by Rebecca of Amazon

versus
68 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Intentions, Awful Presentation
What a disappointment this learning course was! First of all, it's just too long, too tedious and repetitive, and in serious need of a major edit and re-mix. There are some good ideas intended to be presented here, and sometimes they actually work--like on the third disk, with the presentation of the story of Marius, a young man who had been attacked and bitten by a pack...
Published on June 24, 2007 by elvee


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

263 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healing Trauma, September 2, 2005
If you bring forth that which is within you,
Then that which is within you
Will be your salvation.
If you do not bring forth that
Which is within you,
Then that which is within you
Will destroy you.
~The Gnostic Gospels

What a way to begin a book! While this "riddle" has been unlocked by scholars and they claim it means we should transform through love, unlocking the physiological roots of emotions can be somewhat trying.

How do you heal what you have forgotten? When the trauma has been forgotten, the results can still remain and can slowly destroy you, causing overwhelming emotions that interfere with your daily life.

Survivors of accidents, disasters and traumatic situations of all types can experience anxiety, depression, unexplained physical pains and seemingly unrelated illness. At times suffering can be a doorway to awakening and then it can also be a very dark place that brings debilitating symptoms.

"When people have been traumatized, they are stuck in paralysis-the immobility reaction or abrupt explosions of rage." ~ Peter A. Levine

Through guided somatic Experiencing Techniques, Peter A. Levine brings the reader from a place of disconnection and disharmony to a place of accepting an experience occurred and healing the trauma. This is a Twelve-Phase Program with an Integrated CD.

This CD could be used by anyone who has:

Survived a natural disaster or life-threatening event
Experienced the loss of a loved one
Undergone a recent medical procedure
Witnessed Violence
Endured emotional abuse
Experienced a car accident

If you start reading the book before playing the CD is works better and the feeling of the CD is like a psychologist leading a patient through guided imagery. While the process is supposed to take 7-14 days, you can listen to the CD all at once to find out what will work best for you. The book has lists of descriptions to help you analyze your emotions and there is information on how our bodies react to extremely stressful situations.

Peter A. Levine explains how you can discharge and transform the negative energy and he gives techniques for bringing the nervous system back into balance. Even after just watching violence I think you can become somewhat numb from the shock, so this CD can even help anyone who has been shocked by the realities of our violent planet.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begin to heal, July 2, 2003
By 
H. Row "in1ear" (Arvada, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two years ago, I suffered respiratory failure. I was placed in a coma and paralysis for five weeks in hopes to prevent brain death / death. I lived, but have suffered an atrophied muscles, osteoporosis ( I'm a 50 year old male) and neural damage and since the trauma, I have suffered tremendous pain throughout my body. So far, no doctor, no medical testing have been able to relieve the pain or even find a cause.
I truly was contemplating suicide. My only alternative was to see if I could control the pain with my mind.
On the advise of a counselor, I borrowed this eight tape set. No matter what you have had happened to cause the trauma, I sincerely recommend this tape series! Peter Levine has a series of exercises and case studies that in some manner will be able to help victims of trauma to relieve the pain emotionally or physically.
I can't promise you 100% relief. But the series helped me.
The tape series describes some of Levine's cases, the trauma and the aftermath for each patient. What I found was (despite what the trauma was) that the patients thoughts and healing processes were appropriate to what I felt in my own situation.
I wouldn't suggest that the tape series is the stand alone cure for the traumatic incidents in everyone's lives. But, would HIGHLY recommend it as a helpful tool in conjunction with other treatment, be it medical or mental health.
I listen to these tapes when I need some extra emotional support to get through especially painful times.
John Row
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing insights, March 12, 2000
By A Customer
These tapes are for everyone. He addresses heavy duty physical trauma as well as everyday stress. It incorporates past and present experience. This audio cassette draws on meditations that I have become used to from psychology, but the wonderful difference is the author's explanation of trauma in biological terms. Animals have natural responses to stress and attack. (I particularly was interested in his explanation of immobilization as a biological defense.) Animals also have natural ways of coming out of trauma. I now have a biological context for what I once only knew as abstract psychological truths. I understand my own personal immobilization as a healthy biological defense rather than as some sort of psychic deficiency. Understanding this helps me come out of immobilization at a physical level. I am grateful to these cassettes for this insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, something for vetwives struggling with Secondary Stress, May 30, 2006
Dr. Levine's book is the first and only answer that I've found in four years of searching to the problem of Secondary Stress in the wives of combat veterans suffering from PTSD. With his program, we can finally get real help with the problems we face every day in this tumultuous life of living with PTSD in veterans. If you are a vetwife, buy this book. It will change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource for All, January 29, 2008
By 
Karen Caffrey (Connecticut, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a psychotherapist who has received extensive training in Peter Levine's technique of Somatic Experiencing, I find this book to be a helpful resource for my clients who are working through past trauma. The exercises are simple yet powerful. The text contains a lucid and clear explanation of how the nervous system can store undischarged activation from past events, and the process required to release this activation. The result is a letting go of living in the past and the tremendous freedom of living in the present. I recommend this book very highly to all who are interested in exploring how to heal trauma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and worthwhile, September 14, 2009
Bought this book and as an adult survivor of childhood abuse found this book extremely helpful. It was especially good in helping with body memories and re-establishing protective boundaries - both integral to the ongoing healing process. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illumining a Path of Healing, June 29, 2009
This review is from: Healing Trauma: A Pioneering Program for Restoring the Wisdom of Your Body (Paperback)
Everything I know and have experienced about trauma, meditation and the healing process has been magnified a thousand fold in reading Peter Levine's book, Healing Trauma. One of the most helpful aspects of this book is that it is a short-read, and is written in simple language with an accompanying CD of exercises. The author walks you through a step by step process, clearly and resonantly illumining the path of, "Restoring the wisdom of your body."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! a user-friendly manual for both therapist and patient working on trauma!, August 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing Trauma: A Pioneering Program for Restoring the Wisdom of Your Body (Paperback)
As a psychotherapist who specializes in working with individuals who have a history of trauma, I have sought for the past 20 years in books and seminars all the latest in treatment. I recently discovered Peter A. Levine's remarkable and compassionate books on the subject of trauma and its treatment; "Waking the Tiger" and "In an Unspoken Voice." Everything I had ever learned practiced, or observed in 20 years of practice came together in his work. What I like best is how Levine gets into the body and the emotions of the sufferer. His explanations are natural and flow from a profound understanding of the biology and the experience of trauma. He avoids scientific jargon and sterile, clinical terminology to prove his scholarly understanding of the subject. He defines, explains, interprets, and illustrates -- through masterful integration of science and clinical experience.
How surprised I was when I discovered the small, instructive manual, with CD teaching of its exercises, "Healing Trauma: A Pioneering Program for Restoring the Wisdom of Your Body"! This small book with its very concise distillations of Levine's understanding of how trauma affects the body, together with specific healing exercises, is invaluable for patients and their therapists working together. Another Levine triumph: helpful, informative, with the same caring concern for the healing journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Intentions, Awful Presentation, June 24, 2007
By 
elvee (Santa Cruz, CA) - See all my reviews
What a disappointment this learning course was! First of all, it's just too long, too tedious and repetitive, and in serious need of a major edit and re-mix. There are some good ideas intended to be presented here, and sometimes they actually work--like on the third disk, with the presentation of the story of Marius, a young man who had been attacked and bitten by a pack of dogs as a child, and who undergoes the process of healing his trauma and reclaiming his personal power. The rest of the course, however, fails to impress or deliver.
For the most part, it is overly cerebral and conceptual. And the exercises are too general and contrived to be personally useful. Since most trauma healing is a deeply emotional and personal process, I would have liked to see healing exercises that were more open-ended and allowed for the listener's own imagination to wander to its own destinations, and come to its own conclusions, rather than to be told where to go, which "herd"of animals to travel in, how to feel, and how and when to resolve its own traumatic experience. Thumbs down for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DONT PURCHASE as ebook, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book requires an accompanying CD and does not provide even transcripts of the missing audio tracks. It renders you unable to complete the steps to heal trauma as the title suggests. Contacted the publisher, Sounds True, and they were unable to resolve this and blamed apple copyright laws for their creation of a product that was never going to be able to be used as intended. Seems like careless disregard, or profit oriented product development that never considered that hurting people could be hurt further by this product lacking the necessary components. Yes, they do note that it is missing the audio CD, but they fail to mention that it renders the product unusable. I expected more from Sounds True.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Healing Trauma: A Pioneering Program for Restoring the Wisdom of Your Body
$14.95 $11.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.