Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Graduate Students and "Okay" for IT Professionals
I bought this book to help me transition into an executive position in healthcare IT management. I have 15 years total of deep backend UNIX, networking, database, and SOA experience. The last 5 years have been in IT leadership. My main goal for this (very expensive) book was to get an understanding of IT healthcare specific protocols and HIPPA IT compliance...
Published on February 22, 2011 by Glancyguy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated
While the text has some erudite points about the meaning and purpose of medical records, it is out of date and never mentions the VA medical system which has completely automated, integrated medical records for all of its facilities. Like all IT matters, this subject needs to be updated continually and clearly hasn't been.
Published 12 months ago by Claude Lieber, MD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Graduate Students and "Okay" for IT Professionals, February 22, 2011
By 
Glancyguy (Bixby, OK, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me transition into an executive position in healthcare IT management. I have 15 years total of deep backend UNIX, networking, database, and SOA experience. The last 5 years have been in IT leadership. My main goal for this (very expensive) book was to get an understanding of IT healthcare specific protocols and HIPPA IT compliance standards.

If you are in the same situation as me, then you will find 50% of this book useful. Chapters 1-3 and 9-10 deliver the information required for a seasoned IT veteran to make the "jump" to healthcare IT. All the other chapters cover executive level IT material at a very elementary level. Even though this material is healthcare related, it is all the very basics of creating business requirements, acquiring systems, and building out sustainable architectures (all "theory" discussions with no practical "bit level" concepts). One of the chapters is a review of basic computing principles (like TCP/IP stack and RDBMS definitions). If you have been in IT leadership before, this is nothing new and stuff you have learned through the school of hard knocks. For those of you who are studying for an entry level IT management position with ZERO technical experience, this is a great "book learning" book to protect you from sounding stupid in meetings.

Overall, the book accomplished the mission. Given that there is sparse material on the subject, it was worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While the text has some erudite points about the meaning and purpose of medical records, it is out of date and never mentions the VA medical system which has completely automated, integrated medical records for all of its facilities. Like all IT matters, this subject needs to be updated continually and clearly hasn't been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management (Paperback)
This book is very informative and provides a detailed explanation of internet technology as it applies to a healthcare setting. It is very basic so non-technical managers can benefit the most but if you have any experience in IT, this one will be pretty much a review. If you are new to IT, this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book and fast delivery, February 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management (Paperback)
I brought this book for a class I am taking, but this is one book that will definitely stay in my library. Great information and very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and informative book, October 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management (Paperback)
This book is very informative and good for a person trying to get a career in health care informatics industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good but only for the US, December 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management (Paperback)
It is complete vision of health care. Very good in the funcional point of view, I only missed some technology trends and european specificities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for beginners, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management (Paperback)
Good book, but lacks depth in the field. Recommend to healthcare professionals who need to wish to participate in IT projects in healthcare field. Also might be useful for students for the relevant topic.

But for Healthcare IT workers this book contains too basic information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction., November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management (Paperback)
This book was a 2 sided coin. i hated the subject matter and had absolutely no interest in the material, but the way it was presented was informative and gives the reader a solid overall understanding of how things work in the healthcare information systems world.

It's easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on health informatics, November 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked this book. I bought this book for my final Masters class at the University of Maryland. It is a very comprehensive book and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management (Paperback)
I needed this book for school because I prefer reading the actual book over reading it online. It was a quick shipment and came exactly as the description stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Health Care Information Systems: A Practical Approach for Health Care Management
$90.00 $79.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.