Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Healthworks Maca Powder 16 oz Raw Organic Certified 1 lb
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Size: 16 Ounce|Change
Price:$18.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 17, 2016
My face started breaking out after the first use!

**update** their customer service department is fantastic with understanding my concerns. I am impressed with their quick response! I will not hesitate to try their other products.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
I have hypothyroid disorder, which was controlled until I added this to my morning fruit and vegetable smoothie. Within 2 weeks I had severe heart burn, which caused terrible anxiety. Thought I was surely having a heart attack. I have been doing the insanity workout for 3.5 weeks and have gained 5 lbs. I looked up side effects and it said that it has a lot of iodine in it, and not to take if you have thyroid problems. I stopped taking it 3 days ago, the chest pain, palpitations and anxiety are gone. Hopefully in a few more days I will be back to normal.
33 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 24, 2015
The Healthworks Maca Powder is some pretty amazing stuff. Please note that this is RAW, not GELATANIZED Maca Powder, and the uses and expectations should be slightly different. Raw is uncooked and unprocessed other than of course the drying and powdering of the maca root. This may or may not cause some abdominal distress until you get used to it, but many also claim that it is the most nutritious with all the natural goodness retained. The gelatanized version is easier to digest and somewhat more potent. I personally can't tell the difference, but those with tender stomachs might take a little longer to get used to it. It should be noted that if you choose to cook with Maca Powder, this is the version you should go with because cooking it breaks it down and is as easy to digest as the gelatanized version.

If you haven't already read the health benefits of maca, you should do so. There are much better versions and I'm not here to talk you into buying maca, but to give information about this brand of maca. Nevertheless, the short version is that over time, maca has certain libido enhancing effects on both men and women. I haven't been a big believer in such things, but I can attest to the truthfulness of that statement. It also increases the flow of blood through capillary areas and this will also offer some minor help in performance areas. Increase energy, alertness, and libido enhancement are definitely reasons to give it a try. I've also understood from several sources that regular maca consumption also may as much as triple the ability to conceive, though that has not been my personal concern. Enough said about that.

There is no indication on the package as to whether this is a red, black, or yellow maca. I suspect it may vary depending on availability. While there are some minor advantages to each of these variants, I've typically found most of the benefits were available in all varieties to a substantial effect.

The smell of the Healthworks Maca Powder is pretty typical. I have found that most people like its somewhat malty flavor with nutty overtones. Most of these disappear when you put it into a smoothie, but are still quite noticeable when putting it into something like a Greek yogurt. It tastes just about like it smells, and that is quite pleasant.

Ingestion rates are one of the most asked questions, and while there will be variances in response, most sources suggest 1-3 tsp per day. Start on the small end till you know your digestion can handle it and move up from there. My experience is that it takes a good 40-50 days to hit maximum effectiveness. Potential digestion issues may include some very minor cramping and some gas until your body gets used to it. Cut back a little and let your body get used to it.
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
I am not here to say this product does not raise energy or any of the other claims. However, as soon as I added it to my green smoothies I started getting stomach cramps so severe I had to leave work once and lay down! It took me a week to realize that it could be the maca and sure enough, a search of "maca room cramps" shows MANY MANY people who have a adverse digestive reaction to maca, even small amounts. The symptoms I experienced matched exactly what I was feeling. I stopped using maca and I feel great. I wish I could use this product, but it does seem to cause stomach issues for some users. Keep that in mind if you seem to have a reaction.
1919 comments|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
I've tried organic maca root capsules too which work well but I like the powder better--works faster, its a better bargain and I think it's more effective as well. I've been on three diff prescriptions for depression (which, in my case, means terrible exhaustion), the last one was Welbutrin. It helped a little but not much and I know long term use of pharmaceuticals can have seriously bad side effects so when my friend recommended this stuff I tried it. Nothin' to lose, right?
It worked great from the first day and continues to do so. I started with 1/4 teaspoon and since it's thick of winter now I take a slightly rounded 1/4 teaspoon. It's like someone handed me a miracle on a silver platter and I'm not exaggerating.
My friend has been taking it for three plus years now and she's at 3 capsules a day bcz it seems your body eventually gets used to it so you need more in time.
Not great for everybody, my sister can't take it at all, said it gives her extreme stomach pains. But then again, my sister doesn't really like anything herbal/supplemental...likes her little fun-colored pills from the doctor.
But I try to approach my health more naturally as much as possible. I'm also eating a greener, better diet now; have nearly eliminated all sugar, coffee, processed foods, and a lot of meat. I don't take Welbutrin or any pharmaceuticals anymore and I'm not missing them. I'm still less energetic and ambitious bcz its winter but still, maca root makes a world of difference for me.
It's also suppose to increase your sexdrive-stamina-whatever. Like I care. I'm just trying to get through a load of laundry and get a little dinner on the table. Real world calling...life is hard, this stuff is worth its weight in gold!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
I have been buying this maca root for over a year and have thoroughly enjoyed the quality of this product. I received my shipment today and am incredibly disappointed! I ordered one pound of maca root and this bag weighs 9.8 ounces on my kitchen scale. The bag is half empty!!! VERY disappointed! Looks like I need to find a more reputable maca vender...
review image review image review image
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
OK, for those of you who don't know, this product is like a natural form of Viagra for both genders. I bought it for myself to help regulate my hormones (I'm in my 40's and about to experience that "change of life"). I had read about the "perks" of taking this product but I really didn't believe it. Well heeeeelllllloooooooo!!!! Lemme tell you, this stuff rocks!!! I've been with my husband for 21 years ... and as of late, you would think we were back in our 20's. Don't know how this stuff works, and I don't care. For now, I'm putting a tablespoon of this stuff into our morning smoothies and enjoying what it does by nightfall. Thank you Amazon!!!!
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 28, 2010
I ordered this with absolutely no idea what to expect. I am the same girl whose 1/2 lb of hemp powder has been festering in the bottom of the fridge for 2 years since it was too expensive to throw out but, frankly, tastes like dirt. The cats, who love it, are slowly working their way through the 5 pounds of nutritional yeast that were going to be the next mirace powder. So this order was a triumph of hope over experience for me. But this is actually going to get used! It's slightly sweet and inoffensive in both smell and taste. It blends into hot and cold liquids pretty well and is extremely nice mixed with low fat powdered cocoa peanut butter before reconstitution. And it does seem to fill me up much better than those obnoxious diet protein powders, without containing any animal products.
77 comments|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
Great product. My neurological pain has greatly subsided and my overall well being has improved.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
I decided to try this stuff despite the negative review and I am so glad I did. While a few people do not like the smell or taste when taken straight, I found the smell not unpleasant and it tasted very good in something like chocolate milk or mocha coffee mix. It is horrible taken straight. The only fault so far is there is no information on the package. I took 1 teaspoonful once a day and felt great. I have not taken it long enough yet to know how long the effect will last but if it begins to diminish, I will up the dosage or quit taking it for a week or so to let my body readjust. It pretty much is going to be a hit and miss experiment since there is not much information to go on. I agree with others that you should start with a small dose, some recommend 1/2 teaspoonful to start. Beware that a few people complained of stomach cramps, elevated blood pressure and nausea. None of them mentioned if they were taking any other medications or herbs which of course might interacted with the maca root and caused their symptoms. Of course they may just be allergic. There is just not enough information yet to judge.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 107 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.