Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read Anything Bowden has to offer
After being glued to his book: The 150 Healthiest Foods On Earth, I went ahead and ordered The Healthiest Meals on Earth.

Having made a huge change in my own personal diet 3 years ago(after reading Ultrametabolism), after reading Jonny's 150 Healthiest Foods On Earth helped me tweak my diet that much more. But the problem at home has been that my wife doesn't...
Published on July 21, 2008 by Dr. Todd M. Narson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One hundred pages lost between versions of same book!
Beware, there are two versions of Bowden's book "The Healthiest Meals on Earth", both under the same cover, one is a lean 256 pages long and the other is a more comprehensive 369 pages. They go by different ISBN numbers 1592334709 and 1592333184 respectively. The Product Details of each has the correct page count, the Editorial Review does not. Both (at the time of...
Published 12 months ago by Harry Brindley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read Anything Bowden has to offer, July 21, 2008
By 
Dr. Todd M. Narson (Miami Beach, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
After being glued to his book: The 150 Healthiest Foods On Earth, I went ahead and ordered The Healthiest Meals on Earth.

Having made a huge change in my own personal diet 3 years ago(after reading Ultrametabolism), after reading Jonny's 150 Healthiest Foods On Earth helped me tweak my diet that much more. But the problem at home has been that my wife doesn't know what to cook for me.

This book has recipies for incredible meals based on a solid foundation of real nutrition. Eating with your health goals in mind, you get meals power packed with healthful nutrients that are very appealing visually and pleasing to the olfactory senses (smell).

It's not just a recipe book, but an explanation of the foods and spices that make up the meal.

There are some wonderful charts in the book that cross reference various foods with their healthful benefits.

He does the same for healthful oils.

If you are big into nutrition, this and his "150 healthiest foods" book are essential for your library.

Whether you are eating because you want to just be healthy or you have a specific condition you want to target with the proper nutrition, this book is great.

The bottom line: Jonny Bowden's nutritional advice just makes sense!

Thank you again Dr. Bowden for another great masterpiece!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low-Carb Living Never Tasted So Good!, November 16, 2008
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
One of the most prolific and talented low-carb writers in the post-Atkins era has got to be Dr. Jonny Bowden. Enthusiastic doesn't even begin to describe this man who is devoted to helping people live better by making better choices about their diet, exercise routine, and life itself.

His latest project is a companion book to the bestselling 150 Healthiest Foods On Earth sharing some great-tasting recipes using many of the ingredients in that robust list of "healthiest foods." Written in typical JB-style with loads of fun-filled yet informative explanations where appropriate, this is one of the best cookbooks you'll ever lay eyes upon! Low-carbers will especially appreciate all the attention to the healthfulness of consuming fat as part of these collection of meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Healthiest Meals - Practical and Fun, October 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
I purchased this in hopes that I was going to get a practical set of recipes that wouldn't require exotic, hard to find ingredients. Not only did I get what I hoped for, but the author has written in a very personable and fun to read style. This one will get lots of use in my kitchen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One hundred pages lost between versions of same book!, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beware, there are two versions of Bowden's book "The Healthiest Meals on Earth", both under the same cover, one is a lean 256 pages long and the other is a more comprehensive 369 pages. They go by different ISBN numbers 1592334709 and 1592333184 respectively. The Product Details of each has the correct page count, the Editorial Review does not. Both (at the time of writing) share these same customer reviews.

ISBN 1592333184 Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why has 369 pages
ISBN 1592334709 The Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why has 256 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars where is the nutrition info, June 28, 2009
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
i was really surprised the book did not include nutritional info. i really wish he would release an addendum on his website with that info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, October 16, 2009
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
The book is a sumptuous banquet of colorful photos, entertaining and instructional content and great recipes! Jonny makes me eat and cook better! I am feeding myself and my family in a much healthier way. And the food is absolutely delicious!

This week I made "African Peanut Soup" which is creamy and so satisfying on a cold fall day. Very easy to make - from start to finish in 40 minutes - and freezes well for a healthy "grab and go" lunch.

Last week I made the Curried Quinoa with Kale. It was really good!

I think I will be giving copies of this book as Christmas gifts this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lack of nutrient breakdown, July 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
Interesting book from a well respected author. Unfortunately the recipes don't include nutrient breakdown. To make a wise food decision it would be helpful to have protein/carb/fat breakdowns as well as calorie information. Still worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "One of my favorite cook books " from a real foodie:, September 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
This is one of my favorite cook books. I use it all the time. My three year old and husband have loved everything I've cooked from here so far. All the recipes are super easy to understand and the ingredients are easy to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ,my new bible, July 20, 2010
By 
Sara J. Gray (Taos, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
I have dozens and dozens of cookbooks but this one goes to the top of my list. Great information on food and nutrition and delicious healthy recipes. Beautifully illustrated and easy to use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, October 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why (Paperback)
Recipes are clearly written and every meal is explained as to what the ingredients are beneficial for. Each chapter contains a 3-4 meal course and the menus are divided up by their healing properties such as Iron Power, Antioxidants from the Aegean, Anti-Inflammatory Immune-System Boosters and there's even a Healthiest Holiday Meals chapter with lots and lots of tips on how to eat sensibly during the holidays. This is not a traditional cookbook. Even though there are many recipes included, most of them are not very time consuming to make and most of the ingredients are easy to find at the local grocery store, a big part of the book is taken up by useful little tid bits regarding the meals. Examples of these sections are How to Poach Fruit, The Best Natural Sweeteners, To Grill or Not to Grill, Cacao vs. Cocoa, The "Dirty" Dozen of Food (what's worth buying organic and what's not) and so on. I especially like the Notes from the Kitchen section which is included with every recipe. The content here varies, but always very interesting and the tips are useful as well. It is so much fun to read all sorts of interesting facts about the meal you're making.

Most of the meals are low carb, but not all of them and it would have been very useful to include a nutrition section, especially for people like me who have to follow a low carb, low GI diet. It is a bit of an inconvenience to always have to calculate carb content myself, but this is my only complaint. Other than that, I love the book and use it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Healthiest Meals on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What Meals to Eat and Why
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.