Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is a band
I can't seriously think of a better band than Discharge. They are tighter than a crab's [back] and the formula is intact: riff, riff with verse, riff #2, riff #2 with chorus, then repeat twice, then end abruptly. AWESOME. I mean, don't cut corners. When this album was in my collection in high school, I deliberately played it to piss people off. Listen to the bass solo on...
Published on January 13, 2006 by Garbageman

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Killed punk
Repetitive nonsense which seemed innovative at the time and sort or was, I guess, it still helped killed punk - BAD BAD BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Discharge is pretty repetitive and not really as exciting as all that after a listen or two!!! Still SCHOCKED that punks thought and still think this is so good! Gonna have to go with Rudimentary Peni or Amebix instead.
Published on October 24, 2011 by N. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is a band, January 13, 2006
By 
Garbageman (the other side of California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
I can't seriously think of a better band than Discharge. They are tighter than a crab's [back] and the formula is intact: riff, riff with verse, riff #2, riff #2 with chorus, then repeat twice, then end abruptly. AWESOME. I mean, don't cut corners. When this album was in my collection in high school, I deliberately played it to piss people off. Listen to the bass solo on "The Final Bloodbath" at about the :39 mark: it's going so fast, it disintegrates into total unstructured noise, AND IT'S ONLY A ONE-NOTE SOLO. Good God. "State Control" is one of the top 10 punk singles ever. And "I Won't Subscribe" is the blueprint for every punk song in history. Rancid should be servicing these guys after a show, they are so brutal. Nothing even comes close. "Drunk With Power" is almost unintentionally funny it's so good. This album is worth it for the small (they were bigger on the LP) photos of the band alone, playing their instruments in some live setting: the lead singer Cal looks like he is screaming his freakin' lungs right out of his body. Also, the lyric sheet. Get a load of these profound poetic phrases: "Britain among others deal in death when selling arms to developing countries / to developing countries they sell death / where there is urgent need for medical programmes". And that's the whole song. No, really. I mean, why ramble on, get your point across and move on to the next one. I wish I could have sat around and watched these guys practice in their prime, I bet they would run through about 150 songs in an hour. Simply put, this album is loaded with extra tracks, has the lyrics, photos, supposedly it's remastered (not that it matters, it still sounds like a freight train of at least thirty overdubbed guitars playing the same riff). I seriously cannot think of one album in any genre of music that this couldn't obliterate with one song. What more could you possibly ask for? Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEAVIEST H.C. PUNK EVER PLAYED !!!!!, October 26, 2004
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
This is a classic masterpiece of the genre and hardly needs any reviewieng at all.But since this is a REMASTERED edition with bonus tracks added,let's concentrate on those aspects.Having until recently owned the first cd edition,I can tell you it lacked lower and upper ends of the spectum,meaning weak drums and no cymbals to boot.The remaster has tons of thundering drumming and ear-slicing upper treble,adding to overall clarity and loudness.The 10 bonus tracks are not random but are several singles immediately following the Lp recording.The jewelbox is encased in a carboard slipcase replicating the lp artwork.Liner notes are very complete.What else could you ask for ???!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Single greatest Punk/Hardcore album ever!, December 25, 2004
By 
Ultra Magnus (Autobot City, Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
Discharge's HEAR NOTHING SEE NOTHIG SAY NOTHING was my first punk/hardcore album and absolutly loved it. It was so differant to what i listened to before but it made me want to learn more about this kind of music. It is so brutal that words can't describe it, all you have to do is listen and hear the anger from these chaps and be consumed by their wall of sound.Probably the most angry album i'v listened to in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crustcore pioneers, June 23, 2004
By 
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
I can't believe nobody has reviewed this cd yet! This is true hardcore/punk analog nuclear devastation! This time period gives you the true feeling of 80's hardcore where you raised your fist in the air and spiked your hair up high(so you wouldn't look like a hippy or a business yuppie) and stomped on anybody in your way with your boots! This destroys all 90's millenium prettyboy, tight shirt, low rise blue-jean wearing trendy hardcore kidz. This is crust-core alcohol fueled violence! What separated this from your anverage 3 chord punk songs was the unpredictable, wild, leads all over the place and the chaotic feedback. Anthrax even named one of their songs after them on "Persistence of time". Anthrax even covered one of their songs on "Attack of the killer B's". Scott Ian sang on that one and played the lead. In the 80's they ruled the hardcore scene along with the Exploited. Everyone had either a DISCHARGE or EXPLOITED patch on the back of their denim jacket. You can't get more drunken power than Discharge! Politically, charged, and full of hate! This ain't no Nu-metal, image, corporate, clean production, business men of the millenium. It is outdated poverty punk at the core! This is the beginning of all blistering hooks. Harsh and antisocial maybe why they never got trendy. Al Jourgenson adopted their drummer on earlier live shows. Broken bones was formed by the guitar player by I don't even remember his name. I'm am drunk with power. u can't get more punk than that. Being Amazon I know someone will tell me the member of Broken Bones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Last NEw Idea in Rock & Roll, December 31, 2007
By 
R. F. Mojica (Staten Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
I had this album on vinyl way back when. It's about 25 years old now, and you'd never know by listening to it. It sounds like it coulda been made yesterday.

Which maybe is the point. When I first heard Discharge, I knew Rock n' Roll music was finished. It had nowhere left to go.

When rock n' Roll started back in the 50s, it was pretty simple, rudimentary music. In the 60s, a lot of bands, especially the Beatles and their many imitators, tried to fancy it up and make it more technically and musically advanced. They might have suceeded in doing so, but, to my personal taste, I don't know if this improved the music any. Rock n' Roll is supposed to be basic and fancying it up, making it more "classical" or more "technical", defeats its very purpose. While the Beatles and a handful of others might have had the talent to pull it off, the "progress" of rock n' roll mostly led to real garbage like the Doors, Styx, ELP, ELO, Chicago, and every other really crummy rock group to come out in the late 60s and early 70s, and also the many other imitators that followed after.

Punk Rock was a reaction to this, and the course of Rock history has been the deconstruction of the music ever since. When I heard Discharge, I knew rock n' roll couldn't be deconstructed any further.

This album was basically noise with no real music whatsoever. It consisted of just two thing: fantastically loud and raw 3 or 4 note guitar riffs and a vocalist screaming at the top of his voice about world destruction and nuclear annihilation.

And that's what made it so great!!!!

Everything that has come after, all the thrash and grind and death metal has tried to deconstruct the music further, but it couldn't be done. They tried to make it more shocking by singing about mutilation and sadistic torture and murder and festering corpses, but what are all these supposed horrors when compared to the destruction of the entire planet and the death of all its inhabitants, human, animal and vegetable, by nuclear weapons?

In the days of vinyl records and $99 dollar stereos, this record was an absolute blast. And nothing that came after could beat it. As hard as all the thrashers who came after it tried to be so bad, no one has been as bad as Discharge. If you're into all the different hardcore type metals and punks that have come out in the last 25 years, take a listen to this. You will find that all your favorites never came up with anything new or really so bad. Compared to Discharge, they still all sound like wussies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i can't believe they did this in '82., June 19, 2007
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
it's really just mindblowing. Bathory still had 2 more years before his debut, and you had Venom and Motorhead... buuut. This is just totally devastating. Discharge actually establish a HELLISH, BRUTAL sound that's not cheesy or takes any getting used to, you don't really have to 'gain appreciation' for it.

Discharge is just fkn hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 17, 2005
By 
Andrew Williams (Melbourne , Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
Our friend from "Afghanistan" is trying to wind people up I think. It IS kind of funny but the guy/girl probably has a very uninteresting life, a lack of interests, maybe a lack of friends. Why bother reacting?

Discharge are imperfect pioneers but no pioneers are perfect are they?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore Punk at its PUREST, April 12, 2005
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
I had to write this down: How DARE someone compare this to current bands like BLINK 182, SUM 41 or AVENGE SEVENFOLD??? Although I DO like these bands, they are "accepted" commercial punk bands that, despite being talented, pose no musical threat to ANYONE. DISCHARGE, on the other hand, was one of the most EXTREME bands on the face of earth and the proof is this album: HEAR NOTHING, SEE NOTHING, SAY NOTHING. Released in 1982, practically NO metal band rivaled DISCHARGE for sonic intensity. Only VENOM and MOTORHEAD came close (although, I'd like to point out, DISCHARGE are sort of MOTORHEAD alumni!). The sheer sound of the deafening guitars and non stop speed assault of the drums were pivotal to the rise of thrash metal. Just ask bands like METALLICA, ANTHRAX and VOI VOD who they listened to! This CD not only includes the classic album I just mentioned, but also some latter day releases (Mini albums and singles) that saw the band leaning towards a more "metal" sound, with some decidedly "Sabbath-like" songs. As I said earlier, this has very little to do with what currently parades as "punk" or "hardcore". Bands today have certainly evolved, but they had to start somewhere or else they wouldn't be here. HEAR NOTHING, SEE NOTHING, SAY NOTHING is a brutal album for people looking for raw sounds and anti-war lyrics. It's fast, it's mean and it's the sound of what TRUE hardcore actually trie to achieve! Buy or Rot in HELL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PUNK ALBUM OF ALL TIME, December 22, 2006
This review is from: Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing (Audio CD)
This is as good as it gets.Hostile,seething rage committed to tape.An avalanche of razor guitars,thundering bass,colossal,thrashing drums and the angriest,most demented vocals ever layed down.

Discharge reached their zenith with this 1982 release,and in the process paved the way for Grindcore,Thrash Metal,Death Metal,etc.,etc...

One of the most influential rock albums ever.A sublime,crazed masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best records ever made., February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was the first truly "hardcore" record ever made. Nothing like this before this record, though copied in many forms since.
Almost primal sound, and with heavy guitar and bass that rock like nothing before it (and not much since).
This s%$t is just pure raw sound that will kick you in the nuts, and combined with lyrics that are actually very thoughtful.
Also, a record that probably has the most covered songs ever (Metallica, Anthrax, etc., etc.).
Metal. Punk. Whatever you want to call this, it is unique and stands on it's own as one of the most influential reocrds of it's time.
Greatness!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing
Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing by Discharge (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.