Heart of Home: People, Wildlife, Place and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials; notes or highlighting may be present. Ships within one business day via USPS.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Heart of Home:: People, Wildlife, Place Hardcover – December 16, 1997


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$19.48 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Pedro by Pedro Martinez
Pedro by Pedro Martinez
Check out the newest book by Pedro Martinez. Learn more

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

In this collection of magazine pieces, mostly from Sports Afield and Outside, hunter and outdoors writer Ted Kerasote (Bloodties) offers his well-considered thoughts on matters such as the ethics of killing wildlife for sport, the merits of catch-and-release fishing, and the necessity of habitat preservation in a time when so much wild land across the world is being threatened by development. We need, he writes, to take a more active role in protecting such places, "to participate, to plunge our hands into the consonant and sometimes poignant beauty, the authentic living and dying, that remain on the planet." Some readers will find his views on blood sports controversial, to be sure. The collection is a mixed bag, with the strongest pieces drawing on Kerasote's varied experiences in the wild--mostly in the northern Rocky Mountains, but as far afield as Chile (during the Pinochet coup) and the Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan.

From Library Journal

In these 20 previously published essays, Kerasote, a hunter and angler since childhood and the "EcoWatch" columnist for Sports Afield, explores the bonds among the land, wildlife, and hunter. No knee-jerk apologist for the National Rifle Association, Kerasote disparages the sport hunter who intrudes into the wild, shoots, and leaves with a trophy. Rather, he is concerned with hunting the way our hunter/gatherer ancestors did: with a near mystical respect for the wildlife who are the prey. Kerasote divides his book into two sections. In the first, Kerasote, a "catch and release" fisherman, tells of his search for the perfect trout stream and the big catch. Then he turns his attention to hunting, and his writing becomes dark and more introspective. Whether describing an elk hunt or championing conservationist causes, Kerasote's easy-to-read, lyric prose is always moving. Highly recommended.?Randy Dykhuis, Michigan Lib. Consortium, Lansing
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 250 pages
  • Publisher: Villard; 1st edition (December 16, 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0679450122
  • ISBN-13: 978-0679450122
  • Product Dimensions: 1 x 6 x 8.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,389,401 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Ted Kerasote is the author of many books, including the national bestseller "Merle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking Dog" and "Out There: In The Wild in a Wired Age", which won the National Outdoor Book Award. His essays and photographs have appeared in Audubon, Geo, Outside, Science, The New York Times, and more than sixty other periodicals. Focusing on the interrelationship between people and nature, Ted's writing continues to take him from the Arctic to Africa and many places in between. His home, and the place he finds his peace and inspiration, remains Jackson Hole, the high valley that lies between the Teton and Gros Ventre mountains in northwestern Wyoming.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 9 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Peter Pavlowich on April 29, 2005
Format: Paperback
Heart of Home is a wonderfull collection of essays by a man who appreciates the natural world and writes about it beautifully. Kerasote writes from personal experiences in a very intimate manner. He is a believable and knowledgable author, resulting in an easy to read collection of pleasant essays. Also in this collection are some essays about vegetarianism and veganism that are quite refreshing and unique. Fans of Doug Peacock, Barry Lopez, or even Thoreau will enjoy Kerasote's work. I can't see someone being dissappointed with Heart of Home.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
From my own embattled childhood, I came to believe that happy people were, by definition, shallow. Fortunately, I eventually met someone who wasn't, who opened my eyes to the possibility of deep joy in mindful participation in life, in love of the messy old world, without denying or diminishing the unavoidable pain. Ted Kerasote's work is steeped in this experience, and Heart of Home is one beautiful expression of it. Never a partisan of causes like animal rights, still his compassion for even the smallest, most easily overlooked lives -- rodents nesting among the roots of a tree being cut down to build a house, earthworms killed when planting a garden -- inspires him to think hard about how he might avoid or minimise harming them, to incorporate these thoughts in his actions, to feel sorrow for what can't be avoided whatever one chooses, and yet to joyously build his house and grow his vegetables in a spirit of gratitude. This book is a rigorous yet gentle response to hard-liners of all persuasions, and illuminates a life of full participation in the world, body, mind and spirit, that somehow softens and makes permeable the boundaries we like to think separate these realms.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
If you love to hike, climb mountains, hunt, fish, and etc., this is an excellent book for you! Ted does all these things, and then studies them in the process. This book is drawn from his extensive experience doing all the things I have suggested and more. His home is in the Western Mountain area where he has spent much of his life. Also, if you are a dog-lover, be sure to read his books on canines... and become acquainted with Pukka, his much loved present dog and companion.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
More wonderful writing from Ted Kerasote. His ability to capture the wild places that he visits/lives in is really remarkable. The essay "Heart of Home" is one of the most beautiful I have ever read; makes me cry every time I read it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By frank king on February 9, 2014
Format: Hardcover
I'm reading all of Ted Kerasote's books right now; this one let me into the mind of a hunter and along for the ride into beautiful country. Best of all, Merle was alive when this book was written and he appears in a couple of the essays.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again