Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every basketball player should read this!
As a coach I am always looking for ways to "speak" to my players in words they will understand and take to heart. I bought this book and lent it to my daughter to preview. I have never seen her so into a book, and we had several conversations brought about because of something she read. Her season started and she was a changed player, not in terms of skill but...
Published 22 months ago by David Boehm

versus
0 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Women's college basketball
The book and delivery were fine. My complaint is that I thought I had successfully cancelled the order on line shortly after I placed it. I was surprised and disappointed to receive it since I no longer needed the book, hence I was unhappy about paying the bill!
Published on April 27, 2009 by Mary A. Flatt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every basketball player should read this!, February 24, 2013
By 
David Boehm (Orlando, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a coach I am always looking for ways to "speak" to my players in words they will understand and take to heart. I bought this book and lent it to my daughter to preview. I have never seen her so into a book, and we had several conversations brought about because of something she read. Her season started and she was a changed player, not in terms of skill but in terms of mental tenacity. Mel does a great job of not only telling her story but in relating to basketball players on their level. She inspired my daughter in ways that I could not. She is a great role model for female athletes and her story lays out the sacrifices needed and the demands placed on elite level athletes. I especially valued the emphasis she placed on how the good of the team supersedes the needs of the individual.

I coach a girls varsity basketball team and this book is going to be required summer reading for my returning players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, December 28, 2011
By 
J. Downey "SAHM2A&E" (Waterbury, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed reading about the Uconn program through the eyes of a great player. Funny anecdotal stories about the team & coaching staff. Good book, quick read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sincere and well done., February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heart of a Husky: Determination, Perseverance, and a Quest for a National Championship (Paperback)
This story is told from the heart. It could be an inspiration to any young athlete, but especially young women who want to play basketball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for any girl hoping to play college basketball, March 24, 2013
This review is from: Heart of a Husky: Determination, Perseverance, and a Quest for a National Championship (Paperback)
Well written interesting look into that UConn basketball program but more than that a great story of hope hard work and determination can help you achieve your goals. Nice intro by Geno
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heart of a husky, November 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heart of a Husky: Determination, Perseverance, and a Quest for a National Championship (Paperback)
I owned this book before. Lent it out to somebody, don't remember who, never got it back. So I had to order an other one. Just love the book and keep it in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, May 14, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has an amazing insight into what it takes to work hard and try to be a national champion! I love Mel Thomas when she played at UCONN you can see the hardwork that she put into her career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Uconn Sports Book, October 28, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mel captures the flavor of Uconn Ladies Basket Ball and the States love affair with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Uconn! Always number One for us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Women's college basketball, April 27, 2009
The book and delivery were fine. My complaint is that I thought I had successfully cancelled the order on line shortly after I placed it. I was surprised and disappointed to receive it since I no longer needed the book, hence I was unhappy about paying the bill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Heart of a Husky: Determination, Perseverance, and a Quest for a National Championship
Used & New from: $4.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.