Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!
I liked this book far better than the first one. While the characters in the first book seemed a bit awkward, the characters in this second book really worked for me. The hero was strong, tormented, alone, but kept his dignity. The heroine is of high rank, but not b/c she was born with a silver spoon, but because of her own merit (she's the Supreme Judge in their...
Published on December 3, 2003 by Wm19

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first
The story wasn't as good as the first. The characters were flat. The uncle is just pure evil. You aren't given any background on him-just statements about the evil things he does. Also the relationship between the two main characters isn't well developed. The two seem to just fall in love at first sight. I wish Owens would have developed the characters and their...
Published on April 16, 2007 by LovingRomance


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, December 3, 2003
By 
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I liked this book far better than the first one. While the characters in the first book seemed a bit awkward, the characters in this second book really worked for me. The hero was strong, tormented, alone, but kept his dignity. The heroine is of high rank, but not b/c she was born with a silver spoon, but because of her own merit (she's the Supreme Judge in their city), and she's also gracious and strong. Unlike the other review, I really liked the conversations with the Fams (telepathic pets) b/c it showed how the Hero had someone to care for him when he was exiled and condemned. Both main characters were admirable people and they acted like adults (no shallow, selfish stupidity or annoying misunderstandings with this author). Considering the story is set in an imaginary world where almost everyone has a mental/paranormal power, their story was well-fleshed out and believable. Their powers, while seemingly irreconcilable, meshed perfectly. This was an excellent book. I'm supposed to be studying for my law exams, but I stayed up until 4 am to finish this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensual, Magical, Wonderful!! I love this book., July 26, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a keeper (one of those rare books that I keep forever instead of give away when I'm done). I don't have much space, so a book really has to be special to keep. This is a sequel to Heart Mate released last year. Ruis and Ailim live in a fictional world where almost every one has magical powers. They've lost the art of science (which is Ruis's specialty since he is one of those very rare people who has no powers. In fact, he is a Null meaning other magic can not work in his presence). Ailim can read emotions and gets great relief in Ruis's presence. I can't begin to describe all of the ways I love this book, but I especially enjoy the science fiction and magical aspect in the amazing world Robin creates.
It was enjoyable to see again the characters from Heart Mate and see how they were doing as they blended into this story. Keep writing, Robin! You are one of the best and deserve the awards you've won.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic sequel, July 8, 2003
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Read `Heartmate' first, because it's such a good book and because both Rand and Danith also appear extensively in Heart Thief. The story here is strong enough to stand on its own, but why not deepen your enjoyment by reading the first book. I loved it in part because it stood up so well to it's predecessor. We're still on the world of Celta, where psychic talent is called Flair and is so common that everyone in the history of Celta has had some degree of it. Except for those like Ruis Elder, a Null, whose mere presence at best unravels and at worst destroys flair. Imagine living - or even just surviving - in a world where you can't even do the simple things that everyone else can do, because no spells will work for you. Everything becomes that much harder, that much more of a struggle.
We first met the rage filled Null very briefly in Heartmate, as he stole T'Ash's HeartGift. Heart Thief is his story, as he is captured and brought to trial. The reader finds out some of his awful history of being abused and cast out by those who should have sheltered him - his Family. And now he is to be cast out Druida City, for sins that at least in part should not be attributed to him. Ailim D'Silverfir has recently become Head of her Family. She has great Flair in empathy, and is a Judge. She and Ruis meet and she finds incredible relief in his Nullness - at last she can relax her mental shields and just experience life with her other five senses - a luxury she cannot normally allow herself. But Ruis is supposed to be banished, and she is a Judge...
Although a sequel and sharing many characteristics, the story of Ruis and Ailim is very different from the earlier book. Ruis is such a damaged, rage filled man, Ailim a woman who exudes calm. Both of noble stock, and both very aware of that and the duties of Family which that entails, even as both in one degree or another are betrayed by their Family (whereas Rand and Danith each had none and longed for Family). Ruis has an awful lot to work through as he finds his place in life, and in his world. This part of the story is easily as touching as the romance that he finds with Ailim, and unusually the story is told probably more from his perspective than hers. After all, he has the most to combat and to overcome: certainly his is the longest emotional journey. But Ailim has her own hurdles to overcome too. The Nullness is very different, and it is something I as a reader had to overcome - that there is no psychic bonding between the two central characters was a hurdle for me as a reader. But there is no denying the strength of the story. The Ship and the emergence of Ruis's technical talents, and the ultimate importance of his very Nullness to Celta was well done.
And of course, the Fams... not to forget the Fams. Even if they would let us.
Sometimes I found the pace a trifle slow, and wanted to urge Ruis and Ailim to get on with it as things got a very little bit repetitive. This might be a niggle in me, and not the writing. This book is also more overtly erotic than HeartMate, which might be a surprise to some readers. The book closes with a peek at the next one - ah yes, one of the Fighting Holly's is about to meet his match. Bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite keeper, September 6, 2003
By 
Cynthia Woolf (ARVADA, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I just finished HEART THIEF. What a great read. I loved the first book, HEART MATE, and it is still my favorite, but this one is oh so delicious. Ruis is a wonderful, wounded hero. He has so much anger and pain to over come and with Ailim's love and help he does but that is not the whole story. The story is of two people, outcasts in their society, one because of her great psi powers and one because of his lack of them, who come together and find joy, love and peace within themselves and each other.
Samba, Ruis FAMcat, is a treat. She is just what you would think of if all cats could talk. She is prissy, has a superior attitude and yet is loving. When it suits her!
We get to see many of the characters from HEART MATE and relive that book as well while enjoying the new ones we meet. There is great evil, adventure, passion, a Ship that is sentient and a great cast of good, bad and simply human characters.
You won't be disappointed but simply delighted. Bravo Robin!! I can't wait for HEART DUEL, the next book about Celta, due out in May 2004. Robin even gives us a little taste of HEART DUEL by giving us the first chapter at the end of HEART THIEF.
Did I love HEART THIEF? YES!!!! It's a definite keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best new author for futuristic romances around today!, September 15, 2003
By 
Cherlin "Artist" (Bristol, CT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have just finished reading Heart Thief, I ordered it as soon as I read Heartmate, and I can't wait for her next book! She writes very well, incredibly witty and keep you turning the pages in thrall of what is happening! Her love seens make your heart throb! Great humor too. I recommend her highly and I hardly ever recommend books. A must read and a keeper for your library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars W O W! Another hit!, June 22, 2003
By 
arlinda sullivan (N. Las Vegas, Nv. USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Robin D. Owens writes another hit! The characters are
well writen and it makes you feel like part of the
action. Keep those wonderful books coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, March 24, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Okay, I usually am not moved enough to ever even consider reveiwing anything, but this book was absolutely the best on that I've ever read. Anybody who loves romances will love this. Or even if you just love science fiction, you'll love it. It's truly an amazing work, and I would recomend it to anyone. I must say though, if you don't like graphic descriptions, you may not want to purchase this particular book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Delight to Read!, August 12, 2003
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
The next best thing to reading a good book is being able to tell people about it. HART THIEFT is one such book. Although not exactly a sequel to HEART MATE it takes place in the same magic/psi filled universe with cameo appearances of many of the same characters.
Slightly darker is mood, but then the main character, Ruis, is about as hopeless a case as you can get on Celta. His 'gift' is anti-magic in a magic controlled world, ensuring him the condemnation and hate of just about anyone he meets, except one, and what a one she is...
Fast paced, action, love, humor and a bit of gut wrenching foul play the story has everything one might want in a romance/fantasy/action novel. In always a suitable companion to HEART MATE. While it is not necessary to read HEART MATE first it is recommended, besides it is one terrific story all by itself.
This is a good one, I HIGHLY RECOMMENDED it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin's best Heart book!, August 29, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Heart Thief is a follow up to the brilliant HeartMate. (Heart Duel is next in the series and i hope to see a long line of Heart books ahead!!) It stands alone, but one has the purest thrill reading them in order. Owens took Ancient Celt-pagan lore & projected it on her imaginary planet of Celta. Centuries ago, Earth-travellers left on 3 ships and stumbled onto a world they called Celta. People of the original families arrived with "Flair", witchcraft or magick, and over the centuries these powers have been refined, amplified. Each person is born with power, which 'specialness' their talents that set them on their course in careers, and if lucky, reveals their HeartMate. Born of 13 royal houses, people of with Flair rule Celta.
In HeartMate, Ruis Elder was the thief who first stole, and then returned, the HeartGift T'Ash had made for his HeartMate. Ruis Elder is arrested for this and other thefts, but he was only using the gems he stole to repair machines the original settlers brought with them from Earth. Ruis finds solace and sanity in repairing these long neglected devices. He tries to pretend he does not care; he is a Null and knows his arrest could end with his death.
Ruis has been hunted by his Uncle Baucus T'Elder. Ruis was the Heir to the House of Elder, but after the death of his father and mother, it is discovered he is a Null. Baucus uses this to rob Ruis of his birthright. Baucus is a villain of the first class. He tortured Ruis as a child, and has murdered to secure his rise to Captain of the FirstFamilies. And he wants Ruis dead, for only then will he rest secure in his hold on the House of Elder.
Ailim D' SilverFir is a Judge of Celta. She assumed the head of her house upon her mother's death. She is a Telempath, who uses her ability to read others thoughts to judge those brought before her. But she has to go before the FirstFamily Council, to beg for a loan because her house is in peril. She is so tired for it's hard to always hear the thoughts of others, to know their inner most feelings. Especially when her family is so selfish, greedy and fights her in everything.
While she waits to be called concerning the status on her loan request to save her House, she is surprised by the man waiting sentencing. Ruis Elder brings her peace. She recognises he is a Null, but instead of being fearful or repulsed, she finds his Nullness gives her tranquillity. With him, she does not have to expend the vast Flair energy just to protect herself from the constant intrusion of everyone's thoughts. Since his Null void stops the powers of everyone around him, she finds a haven of peace when she is with Ruis.
With FamKitty flying around on a mini saucer, a spaceship to make HAL jealous, characters from the first novel, and a potent, sexy forbidden romance between Ruis and Ailim, Owen scores BIG with another Winner! HeartMate was just so original, so special it was hard to envision a writer pulling off a second tour de force and make it as marvellous. Most movies and books with sequels, witness the sequels rarely matching the freshness, the spark of brilliance of the original. That is NOT the case with Heart Thief. If anything, it's even better! Eagerly waiting Heart Duel ( Faster Robin! Cannot wait!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far (in my opinion), July 27, 2004
This review is from: Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
HeartMate was a good book, but I think Heart Thief is even better than its RITA award winning predecessor.

I doubted that a story about a guy without Flair (magical ability/psi power) in a world heavily dependent on magic would work well. It, in fact, worked beautifully, not only providing a very strong character in Ruis Elder, but also adding tremendous dimension to the world Owens has created in Celta. In addition to the splendor of that aspect of the story, Ruis & Ailim are a romantic couple that shines. Well-rounded, complex characters who struggle with their lives, their passion & love for each other, and the difficulties imposed by the world around them.

Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2)
Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Book 2) by Robin D. Owens (Mass Market Paperback - June 3, 2003)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.