Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine French Fluff
HEARTBREAKER ('L'ARNACOEUR') is a delightful bit of French fluff, created as only the French know how. There are 'quotes' from certain films and songs that mix the two main characters together and add to the meringue of the farce. Based on a light story by Laurent Zeitoun, Jeremy Doner, and Yhan Gromb and directed with a fine sense of comic timing by Pascal Chaumeil,...
Published on November 16, 2010 by Grady Harp

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible movie.
This movie was boring and unbelievable. The plot is tired, cliche, predictable. I didn't care about the characters at all. The gigolo is so unattractive and crass that it makes it hard to believe that any women would constantly fall head over heels with him or, shudder, lock lips with him. Ugh. I would rather make out with a rotting mango or maybe even week old raw...
Published 8 days ago by naware


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine French Fluff, November 16, 2010
By 
This review is from: Heartbreaker (DVD)
HEARTBREAKER ('L'ARNACOEUR') is a delightful bit of French fluff, created as only the French know how. There are 'quotes' from certain films and songs that mix the two main characters together and add to the meringue of the farce. Based on a light story by Laurent Zeitoun, Jeremy Doner, and Yhan Gromb and directed with a fine sense of comic timing by Pascal Chaumeil, this is one of those examples of the farces the French do so well.

Alex Lipp (Romain Duris), his sister Mélanie (Julie Ferrier) and her husband Marc (François Damiens) run a little business: they coordinate efforts to breakup undesired relationships for pay. After a few examples of how the trio works its magic, an assignment takes them to Monaco where they are hired to stop the marriage between Juliette Van Der Becq (Vanessa Paradis) and her wealthy humanitarian fiancé Jonathan Alcott (Andrew Lincoln) - in 10 days time! Alex is avoiding previous client debts represented by a bodyguard Goran (Jean-Marie Paris) but plunges into the formula courtship destruction mode with Juliette; the difference this time is that Juliette seems happily ensconced in the marriage plans and has little time for Alex's plans. But of course through the period of time allotted, Juliette finds qualities in Alex that are missing from her 'perfect' fiancé and Alex breaks his cardinal rule and falls in love with his marked client Juliette. The manner in which the story is resolved is clever and entertaining and heartwarming.

This may not be a great movie but it is a well-acted refreshing little romp to cleanse the palette! In French and English with subtitles. Grady Harp, November 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Long, but a Pleasant New Twist on an Old RomCom Theme., February 14, 2011
This review is from: Heartbreaker (DVD)
There have been a lot of romantic comedies about prostitutes and gigolos, but "Heartbreaker" (L'arnacoeur) puts a new twist on the lover-for-hire theme. Alex (Romain Duris) specializes in breaking up relationships. With the aid of his sister Mélanie (Julie Ferrier) and brother-in-law Marc (François Damiers), Alex saves women from unhappy relationships by seducing the ladies away from their beaus. He's a pro. And he owes people money. So, when a rich flower magnate hires him to break up his daughter Juliette's (Vanessa Paradis) engagement to a very nice, affluent British man (Andrew Lincoln), Alex accepts. But this case presents some problems: The couple are genuinely happy and well-suited. And Alex is smitten with Juliette.

Most of the movie takes place in Monte Carlo, where the bride is planning her wedding and Alex is attempting to be a convincing bodyguard. Since Juliette is being manipulated, she is the straight man. Her dilemma seems real. Many of the laugh-out-loud moments are thanks to the antics of Mélanie and Marc. Their little team is much too high-tech for such a ramshackle operation, but that's the kind of suspension of disbelief that comedies can get away with. I think there should be a rule that romantic comedies not run longer than 90 minutes, and this one runs 105, but it's fun and makes good use of the new twist on an old theme. The only bonus features on the DVD (MPI 2011) are a trailer (2 ½ min) and a TV spot (30 sec). Subtitles are available in English SDH, English, and Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Man Who Breaks Hearts...Even His Own, January 26, 2011
This review is from: Heartbreaker (DVD)
Alex Lippi (Romain Duris) has an odd occupation. He gets paid to break up relationships. Assisted by his sister Melanie (Julie Ferrier) and her husband Marc (Francois Damiens). Together, they construct elaborate schemes aimed toward getting the women to recognize their own doubts about their relationships.

The team employ an intricate strategy, gathering extensive intelligence on their targets before they put their plans into action. There are also rules. The team will not break up a happy couple. This presents a problem when Alex agrees to take up a challenge named Juliette (Vanessa Paradis). Heavily in debt and faced with a moral dilemma, Alex complicates matters by falling in love with his target.

The film had great dialogue and well developed characters. The comedy was subtle, but fresh. While the plot was predictable, I enjoyed watching it develop. The ridiculous schemes that this team hatches makes for some interesting interactions and sets the foundation for some great situational comedy. It is a light, fun and unique story.

While it is predictable at times, the situations offer some unique opportunities for fresh humor. Strong dialogue, good character development and a skilled cast give life to an excellent screenplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Love Love This Movie! Watch it over and over!, November 19, 2013
I love love love this movie! Good story and great acting. I felt there was truly a connection between the characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give this one a look at for a lighthearted couple of hours!, September 15, 2013
Great movie! Witty, smart, fun entertainment with a fun ending and a few lighthearted twists .Bring out the chocolates and wine !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite movie!, October 5, 2013
I love this movie, although if you don't like sub titles it's not for you. It's a hilarious, romantic comedy and it's my favorite. I've watched it 5 times already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For only moment we almost stopped due to subtitled, but very entertaining., September 18, 2013
By 
R. Cross (Poway, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Extremely entertaining. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We both realized within a few minutes that we were almost forgot we were reading the sub-titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romain Duris Peut Bien Sur Etre A ArnaCouer, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heartbreaker (DVD)
This is my all time favorite Romain Duris movie and this is also my all time favorite French comedy ever made! My favorite thing about the DVD release is the audio quality because everytime when a rock and roll song or rap song would come on, it would sound like a radio is on with really lound speakers that are turned all the way up! My two favorite songs throughout the whole the film is America by K'naan and The Joker by The Steve Miller Band!

The whole point of the film is this guy Alex Lippi (Romain Duris) who breaks up bad relationships. So, he finds this couple (Vanessa Paradis, Andrew Lincoln) that are about to get married 10 days and he turns out to be the bodyguard for Juliette (Vanessa Paradis) and they start to like each other before Alex breaks them up!

This is a really good movie I mean REALLY, REALLY good movie for everyone but it's not rated when it should be rated PG-13 for langauge but the langauge is in the subtitles but the langauge is not strong!

When will IFC pictures put "Heartbreaker" on bluray in America?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review of Heart Breaker, August 31, 2012
By 
Paul Kao (Sacramento, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heartbreaker (DVD)
Roman Duris plays a man who is used to break up unsuitable engagements. A girl's family hires him when they think the girl's fiance is wrong for her. Duris' character's back-up include his sister and her husband.

Vanessa Paradis's family think that her English fiance is not right for her. Oh, he's rich and not bad looking. It's just that he's also very boring.

If you've ever seen Frank Capra's It Happened One Night starring Clark Gable and Claudette Colbert, you know how this film ends. This film mostly takes place in beautiful Monaco rather than in rundown trailer camps.

Still, I recommend this film as being funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, July 5, 2013
I originally saw this movie through Netflix and since then I must have seen it 5 other times. I loved this movie. It is incredibly funny and nothing gets lost in translation. The movie was different than what I thought it was originally about but I would definitely recommended it to anyone looking for a carefree, lighthearted, romantic comedy. I even forgot it was in French at some parts. MUST WATCH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.