Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Indie for the Holidays in Prime Music Shop Now Tikes

Format: Amazon Instant VideoChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on March 4, 2003
Jennifer Love Hewitt and Sigourney Weaver are absolutely terrific as mother-daughter con artists out to rob rich men of their money. After pulling off what was supposed to be their final heist before parting ways, Weaver persuades her daughter to go through with one more.
Gene Hackman is hilarious as William Tensy, their latest target, a chain-smoking millionaire who doesn't appear to have much longer to live. Ray Liotta is fantastic as one of their past cons, who was truly in love with Weaver. The always energetic Jason Lee is the guy in love with Hewitt's Paige, who is also beginning to fall for him.
It's a wonderfully complicated love circle with some hilarious results. Hackman steals the show, and Weaver is quite funny and amusing, especially when sporting her Russian accent. Anne Bancroft delivers her usual good performance in an almost cameo role as Weaver's mentor.
Heartbreakers is not as cruel as it could be, but always a delight to watch. Some have found the length a bit much, but it moves along at trip-hammer speed, engrossing all the way through. I feel it is a truly underrated comedy and one of the best 2001 had to offer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2008
This is a must-have for any hetero male who can't wait for it to come around again on cable TV. Forget all the bad reviews; all that matters is that Jennifer Love Hewitt is painfully hot in this movie. Actually it's a half-decent film that rises above the level of sex comedies aimed at the 18-35 knuckle-dragging audience. But that doesnt' matter. Yeah, it's light fare but you won't care. The cast is full of A-listers (Gene Hackman, Sigourney Weaver, Ray Liotta, Jason Lee, Anne Bancroft, Nora Dunn, Sarah Silverman, Carrie Fisher) who turn in professional performances, but you might not even notice. Hackman is so adept as a hacking, liver-spotted geriatric that you might be grossed out, but you'll get over it. All that really matters is the amazing Hewitt bouncing around in an endless series of slinky micro dresses. I have a friend in the film/video industry who tells me that all the studio execs wish JLH was their girlfriend, and after seeing *Heartbreakers* I'm not surprised.

A definite desert-island pick.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on August 10, 2001
This evil, seductive and intriguing story of two con women who happen to be mother and daughter works surprisingly well. I went into the theatre thinking I wanted to like this movie but when you're actually watching the film it takes no effort whatsoever to enjoy the show. The film is original, crude and witty with heaps of cool plot twists and a great script that dishes up plenty of laughs and shocks. The performances are superb, with Jennifer Love Hewitt giving the best performance of the film as the sexy, smart daughter of a con woman who follows in her mother's footsteps but inside is really just a young girl looking for the right path in love. Hewitt gives a dazzling show and shows there is more to her ability than running from a hooked hand. Sigourney Weaver's neat turn as naughty mother gives her a much-needed villain character (sure, there's Alien, but we're starting to tire of that!) and Ray Liotta's good-turned-bad character is displayed well by his skills. Liotta is having a good year; Hannibal also really impressed me. Maybe Hewitt's continuous running-away-from-love can be irritating and the film runs too long, but otherwise this is a groovy and entertaining movie with neat ideas. Heartbreakers allows its audience to have a fun time - you just have to be willing. Recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on December 14, 2004
I believe that this was a great-great commedy. The actors where hillarius with very good roles. The story was nice and clever and personally I enjoyed each and every line-dialogue that existed in the movie!! The atmosphere in the movie was great and I believe that the director did a talented and wonderfull job developing the movie as he takes the maximum out of every actor in the movie.

The romance within the comedy kicks in just about the right time and despite the high speed with which the movie goes on(its just a movie after all) I really loved the whole concept.

To all people who like comedies-romantic comedies you will certainly like this one more or less.

As for me this is one of the best comedy films I have ever seen and it came as a great surprise as I rent it from the video club not knowing anything about the plot or the movie.

Having seen some negative remarks about this film I am not a great film reviewer or anything and I judge this film without comparing it to other older ones regarding the plot etc. I don't care if this film copied an older or it stole the plot, or the story was silly, of men are silly etc!! Simply this was the best (non-black comedy) romantic film that I saw the last few years that I liked and enjoyed each and every minute of it! Imagine that the second time I saw it I couldn't change the channel and whatch the 3rd Harry Potter film that I had just rented (there goes another extra 2 euros for keeping the film for another day). Instead I watched the film that was on tv (sorry Harry)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on February 27, 2002
Quick. Make some popcorn, settle into your favorite easy chair, and be prepared to enjoy 2 hours of mindless energetic fun. You won't glean valuable insights into the meaning of the universe, as heartthrob Jason Lee innocently seeks in this lightweight offering, but you will have been pleasantly entertained. The unlikely cast of Weaver, Hewitt, Hackman, and Liotta work suprisingly well. Call it "The Sting" lite. This amusing farce revolves around the exploits of a mother and daughter team of gold digging grifters. Jennifer Love Hewitt as the daughter supplies plenty of eye candy, but her acting skills and comedic timing are first rate. I suspect we will be seeing a lot more of her in the future. You gotta love Gene Hackman as an obnoxious, unrepentant tobacco billionaire who's face seems to be perpetually obscured in a cloud of cigarette smoke. Ray Liotta does not look much older than he did in "Goodfellas" and is hilarious as a shady businessman/love interest for Sigourney Weaver who in a rare comedic appearance, turns in a humorous performance. Several cameos by familiar personalities from television and film are unexpected fun. This is a movie that does not take itself too seriously and does not expect you too either. Enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on April 16, 2001
Most way through "Heartbreakers" it wants you to believe to that love sucks, life is a pain, men cheat, and the best things in life AREN'T free. And the odd thing is most of what is says is true lol. But, beneath the icy, cold exterior of "Heartbreaker" lies a movie that has a lot of heart and is actually old-fashion in it's values. This is of course despite the fact that there's a scene where Jennifer Love Hewitt tries to give Ray Liotta fellatio. The movie, many know by now is about a mother\daughter con team the marries rich men and then goes after half of their money in a divorce settlement whenever the "sucker" is caught fooling around with Page Conners (Jennifer Love Hewitt). As the movie starts we see Max Conners (Sigourney Weaver) walking down the aisle about to marry her 13th husband we are told Dean Cumanno (Ray Liotta). After they get what they want out of Dean they decide it's time to move to Palm Beach, where they feel the stakes are higher. After getting a room for free, they go out to check out a long line of "victims". They decide upon William B. Tensy (Gene Hackman). A very wealthy tobacconist. Now, while Weaver is trying to win over Hackman, Hewitt is going after Jack Withrowe (Jason Lee). The only problem is instead of just trying to con him she finds herself falling for him. Now, between all of this there are a lot of laughs to be had. And, incase you were wondering, no, I'm not going to reveal any of them. It's at the end of "Heartbreakers" I found that I had enjoyed the movie. It's at this point of the film that it becomes an old fashion comedy. And, that's what I liked about this film. I thought it was a cute movie, and characters were fun to watch. "Heartbreakers" is not a great comedy. It's not one of the best films I've seen this year. But, if your looking for some simple lite entertainment that will provide some laughs, and keep you interested, I think you found your picture.
p.s- spot Anne Bancroft in three scenes. She doesn't have a "major" character, but, her part makes for some big changes at the end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on April 16, 2001
A movie that proves that what you see is not necessarily what you get, as a mother/daughter team con one well-heeled member of the opposite sex after another, in "Heartbreakers," directed by David Mirkin and starring Sigourney Weaver and Jennifer Love Hewitt. Yes, the con is on, as mom takes `em to the altar, daughter seduces `em (getting caught in the act by mom, of course), and mom settles for a divorce and some big bucks. For the women, it's like having the goose that laid the golden egg, and all is going well; the bucks are rolling in and Cupid's path is being littered in their wake with the carnage of the men they've despoiled. Then Page (Hewitt), much to the chagrin of her mother, Angela (Weaver), decides it's time to strike out on her own and take down a score for herself. But as fate, luck, chance or what-have-you would have it, at that moment the IRA steps in and not only wipes out their bank account, but hands them a bill for back taxes that far and away exceeds the amount already confiscated. At that point, what's a girl to do, but find another mark. Only this time, it has to be one rich beyond their wildest dreams. And with that, the hunt is on.
An amusing, and at times hilarious comedy, the fact that it works as well as it does can be attributed to two things, by category: Weaver and Hewitt; and Ray Liotta and Jason Lee. For what the movie lacks in originality is made up for with the performances of the aforementioned four. As far as the women, such a pair of femmes fatales you've never seen; Hewitt has it and flaunts it, but she's still overshadowed by the gorgeous Weaver. Looks aside, however, what really makes it cook is their shared if-you-see-me-comin'-better-step-aside, take-no-prisoners attitude, a Mae West meets Kate Hepburn persona that gives their con its zing. Weaver plays it to the hilts, saucy, seductive and sharp as a tack. And not to be outdone by her co-star, Hewitt stays right there with her, by giving a performance that makes you believe that this is a young woman who could actually pull this stuff off. Together, their antics on screen are reminiscent of Lemmon and Curtis in "Some Like It Hot," or Caine and Martin in "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels." There's a refreshing lack of pretentiousness about them that really makes them fun to watch.
As for the guys, Liotta gives a sharp performance as Dean, a guy with a hard edge and a soft spot for Angela, and Lee does a notable turn as Jack, a regular guy who finds himself in the eye of Angela and Page's storm. Lee has an especially engaging screen presence, and some of the most memorable moments of the film are in the scenes he shares with Hewitt.
Last, but far from least, Gene Hackman scores some guffaws as billionaire tobacco magnate William Tensy. He gets a bit tongue-in-cheek with his character, who with his tobacco stained teeth and smoker's cough is at the same time hilarious and repulsive. When Angela demurs his attempted kiss, you'd swear you can smell his breath and the reek of smoke from his clothes. And you have to give Hackman credit for this one, because to play this role all vanity had to be stuffed in the closet for the duration.
The supporting cast includes Anne Bancroft (Barbara), Jeffrey Jones (Mr. Appel), Nora Dunn (Miss Madress), Julio Oscar Mechoso (Leo), Carrie Fisher (Mrs. Surpin), Ricky Jay (Dawson's Auctioneer) and Elya Baskin (Vladimir). Director Mirkin must be given credit for his imaginative approach to some fairly unoriginal material, and for making up for it's lack of substance by extracting some top performances from his actors. The real strength of "Heartbreakers," however, is the fact that it never takes itself too seriously. If you look deep enough, you may find some insight into human nature, but for the most part this is a movie that was made with nothing but fun in mind. It's entertaining, there's some laughs and some nice moments, and it's easy on the eyes. If you let it, it's a movie that will let you off the hook for awhile and show you a good time. And for my money, that's not such a bad deal.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on August 6, 2001
I have to admit.. I saw Heartbreakers because of Jennifer Love Hewitt and Sigourney Weaver. They are both beautiful, and full of charm. They fit perfectly into this movie about 2 con-women.
Jennifer had all the romantic points in the movie, which she carried out greatly, while Sigourney brought in some humor, with her Russian accent.
Just don't expect too much, but if you're in for a fun time then definitely see this movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2006
I have to give Sigourney Weaver major props for this movie. Heartbreakers is hilarious and part of the reason for it is her. Sigourney & Love-Hewitt are a mother-daughter con team. Mother & daughter seek out rich men, get them to fall in love with and marry mother (Sigourney) and then trick them out of their money. It's so sneaky & crafty. And the scenery is beautiful (even though I see it everyday since I live in South Florida). Love-Hewitt really works it too, but Sigourney steals the show, especially as she pretends to be a wealthy Russian woman trying to get Gene Hackman's old, chain-smoking-and-ready-to-drop-dead character to marry her. And Love-Hewitt wants to run her own scam which she's doing behind her mother's back. I don't want to give anything else away. Ray Liotta is also very good as Sigourney's first husband (well, the firs husband of hers we meet...she mentions at one point something about all 13 of her weddings were beautiful). It's a funny movie that points out that no matter how hard you try and fight it, one of these days love will catch even the most guarded of us when we least expect it to. It's worth it for the song Sigourney sings at the restaurant.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on August 4, 2004
Are men really as dumb as they appear to be in Heartbreakers? Well if I had woman in my life that acted like the two in this, yeah I'd probaly do what the guys in this do.

Max Connors(Weaver) scans men. She seduces them and marries them. She then gets her hot daughter Paige(Hewitt) to seduce them and just when there about to you know what she walks in on them. She then divorces them and takes half of their assests. Shes been doing it her whole life and they just did it to Dean(Liotta). It looks like the girls are off for a big pay and Paige looks to go out on her own. That is until the IRS bust them for tax eviction and leaves them broke.

The two head off to Palm Beach to look for big money and they find that in William B. Tensy(Hackman) a tobacco company owner worth 3 billion. He's the play and things are going good. That is until Paige starts trying to play Jack(Lee) a local bar owner worth a couple of million. She's falling in love with him. They also have to deal with Dean who's come back looking for love with Max. The girls now have little time to see if they can play Tensy.

Sigourney Weaver is gorgeous in the movie. It's hard to believe she is in her early fifties dressing the way she does. She is so hot to be that old. Shes funny and her singing Back in the USSR with a bad Russian accent is terrific. You have to love what she does and brings to this movie. It's a different kind of character. You almost have trouble believing this gorgeous woman was once bald in Alien series.

Jennifer Love Hewitt gives one of the best performances of her young carear. Whew is she hot in this movie. She is so hot in all those tiny dresses and thank the lord for the wonder bra. Im 20 years old and shes my favorite part of the movie. Her chemistry with Lee is real good and looks authentic.

Gene Hackman is funny in this. The two time Oscar winner is the disgusting tobacco guru. He's always smoking like a chimney in the movie and he looks horrible. The make up guys did good with him. His love scenes with Weaver kill me. They are so funny with him kissing her and blowing smoke out at the same time. It's even better when I found out Weaver didn't know he was going to do it.

Ray Liotta and Jason Lee are also great. Liotta is always great in his movies. Lee is one of the funniest underrated guys in Hollywood. This is a different kind of character for him. I'd rather see him do more stuff like Mallrats. The two are still good though.

The DVD extras are pretty good. There are 18 deleted scenes. There is plenty of commentary on the movie. There are a couple of documentaries on the movie that are quite interesting. The DVD extras add to the movie.

This is a great DVD. It's a funny movie with gorgeous woman and a happy ending. It's pretty easy to find cheap. I wouldn't rent it because you can get it at a lot of places for a little more than a rental. If you don't like the story the men should at least enjoy the eye candy. So don't miss out Heartbreakers. I'm glad I didn't.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.