Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEATH METAL TURNING POINT!!!
I owned this cd few months later its release back in 1993 when I was deep into classic death metal (Entombed, Morbid Angel, Dismember, Sepultura, Death etc...). I consider "Heartwork" the turning point of my "career" as guitarist and, most of all, as death metal listener. I love "Necroticism" too as it's another great pice of death metal art, but I hate Carcass previous...
Published on June 28, 2006 by Andrea Moretti

versus
7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Blueprint For Selling Out
You want a blow-by-blow guide to selling out by the numbers? Well then, Heartwork is the model for you. Start with a band with artistic credibility (say, one that had released two of the most influential and widely praised grindcore albums of all time). Remove every violent, feral and interesting element from the band's classic sound, and replace them with banal...
Published on December 3, 2007 by Planetary Eulogy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEATH METAL TURNING POINT!!!, June 28, 2006
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
I owned this cd few months later its release back in 1993 when I was deep into classic death metal (Entombed, Morbid Angel, Dismember, Sepultura, Death etc...). I consider "Heartwork" the turning point of my "career" as guitarist and, most of all, as death metal listener. I love "Necroticism" too as it's another great pice of death metal art, but I hate Carcass previous releases ("Simphony" and "Reek" are to death/grind oriented and they sound chaos to my ears!). Amott forcing his way through the song writing of the band is the real point that makes Heartwork their best album ever in my opinion. The swedish guitar player is a great artist with amazing musical/compositive tastes and amazing ideas! I'd describe his style as a cool mixture of classical and death metal riffs, just listen to "Death Certificate" (WHAT A SONG!!!) and "Embodiment", tracks where his influence is stronger, and you'll get my point of view. No weak episodes inside "Heartwork" mates, 10 intense songs...unforgettable moments listening to "This Mortal Coil", "Arbeit Macht Fleisch" and the title-track itself! Walker vocals are unique in the genre, they catch you by the balls...There's only one thing that don't allow Carcass to reach perfection: lyrics! I've read in other costumers reviews you often need a vocabulary...well, as I wasn't born english mother tongue it's difficult to me to understand and memorize their songs at once...That's not too serious, I mean I'd rate the band 4.9 out of 5 for that...eheheh...yet at the same time I must admit is something intriguing..."A grim myriad, a grey kaleidoscope, sterile, contrasting...cross index, cross dissected, cross referenced, contabescence..." YEAH!!! BUY IT AND DO NOT MISS AMOTT'S ARCH ENEMY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Carcass disc, August 27, 2007
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
Carcass' sixth full length album, 1993's "Heartwork," was a very important album for two very different genres. It was one of the first and most important melodic death metal releases, but it has also become a vastly influential and world-renowned landmark for grindcore/death-grind metal. Countless grindcore bands (i.e. Dying Fetus, Aborted, and Impaled to name just a few) would go on to incorporate some "Heartwork"-style groove into their patented brutality.

"Heartwork"'s groovey riffs, memorable hooks, melodic parts (including harmonized notes and bluesy guitar soloing), and overtly conventional song structures made it a lot more commercially accessible than previous albums, thus launching Carcass into the mainstream. Of course, as a result, many longtime fans claimed that the group had "sold out" (this is also considered to be one of metal's first and most famous "sell-out" albums), but this was clearly a band on its way up, and a band that was obviously more concerned with expanding its dynamic range, sonic soundscape, and listening fanbase than just rehashing the same music to please old-school fans. And don't worry, "Heartwork" is still plenty heavy - it is filled with intricate, thrashy, white-hot riffs, muscular rhythms, technical, winding, Megadethian solos, complex yet precise blast beats, and wicked vocals. (In addition to laying down some black metal-inspired shrieks, vocalist Jeff Walker hisses and snarls like a possessed cat as he spews forth his lyrics like venom.)

"Carnal Forge" and "Embodiment" are two particularly catchy numbers and boast pounding rhythms with ultra-heavy, churning riffs, and the title track has blistering, rapid-fire power chords. Two of the other best and most brutal tracks are the thunderous, machine gun riffs on "Arbeit Macht Fleisch," and the scorching, awesome-sounding "Blind Bleeding the Blind." But, on the flip side, songs like "No Love Lost" and "Doctrinal Expletives" sound somewhat restrained due to their melodic, wailing solos.

What is "Heartwork"? A complete and total cuh-lassic. There's nothing more to it. It's just one of those albums that you need to own or you will forever be un-metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwork, it's more like Headwork., February 3, 2007
By 
Alex A. Fintonis (Bay City, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
One will need some headwork after listening to this album. It's that good. Carcass were one of those bands that helped make death metal a little more widely known and is one of the genre's leaders. This is due to the fact of their release of "Heartwork". This was their first release on a major label Columbia records. Carcass being on major label definitely influenced them. But in my opinion it was still a head banging release, unlike most times when an extreme band moves to a major label it turns them soft. Not the case with "Heartwork". Granted it is more polished, the vocals are cleaner and the band definitely sounds less raw. But Carcass pulls it off extremely well.

This record is still extremely heavy, filled with rip roaring riffs and pounding drums. Some people might consider this Carcass's sell out album; by no means this is a sellout record. Tracks like " Carnal Forge", "Heartwork", and "This Mortal Coil" shred with some really heavy and brutal grooves. One of the better-known tracks from the album is "No Love Lost" which was a bit of odd song for Carcass at the time. It took me a few listens to get use to it but the raspy vocals still give the track that Carcass signature sound.

Carcass was one of top influential death metal bands in the early 90s. They defiantly were one of the leaders on the European side of things. While there were bands such as Morbid Angel, Death, Obituary, and Suffocation on the American side, there were bands such as Carcass, Napalm Death, Entombed, and Dismember on the European side. Although "Necroticism: Descanting the Insalubrious" is considered one Carcass' best and most influential one can not over look "Heartwork" and it's brutal aggressiveness in the world of death metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Death Certificate, April 2, 2006
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
Heart Work...is, simply put, probably the greatest death metal album ever recorded. In my opinion, these guys have achieved a genius combination of brutality, finesse, complexity, sophistication, technicality and emotionalism unmatched by any other band. They leave the rest in the dust and make them seem like children playing on Sesame Street. Don't waste your time, this album and Necroticism: Descanting the Insalubrious, is all you need really...toss the rest out. Death Certificate is all you need to know...and it's over. Literally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Beautiful, Angry, and Awesome, June 13, 2009
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
I'll never forget the weekend off from military school in 1994 that I first heard Carcass. With the weekend off I switched on "Headbangers Ball". I missed the credit intro, but while the tv warmed up I could hear the beginning guitar harmonies of "Heartwork". I couldn't believe what I was hearing. It was the heaviest most a$$ kicking yet melodic and angry music I had ever heard. And then that voice came punching through the speakers like a person whom had enough of corrupt society and was going to let you know about it. I have been forever hooked from the point on.

This album was a break through for the deathmetal/grind genre. Bill Steer, Jeff Walker, Ken Owen, and Michael Amott went to another dimension with this album. Producer Colin Richardson cleaned up the sound for this record generating the sonic punch the band and the genre deserved. For a long time Death metal had been plagued and discredited for lame and shoty production and mixing. This album proved that the genre was indeed just as, if not more, technically and melodically creditable as any other music. Carcass proved Death Metal can be a joy to listen to when properly produced, engineered, and mixed.

Michael and Bill proved a powerful team for the band and this album. Bill has a more laid back and organic approach that allow the vocals to be front and center while it balances out Amott's technical and orchestrated hooks. Ken's drum work righteously serves the melody lines and never distracts from the modal machinations of Steer and Amott. Jeff's voice adds the vocal edge the music deserves and his bass lines compliment every chord progression while at the same time adding dynamics both harmonically and rhythmically with every beat of percussion.

This album is a very raw yet precise representation of Carcass and what the genre should be. Carcass possessed an attitude, intellect, and integrity that served death metal very well and has yet to be duplicated. I recommend this album to any serious musician, composer, or music lover. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST metal albums of the 90's, May 29, 2007
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
CARCASS made a turining point in 1994 with the release of this album. Earlier records were decidedly for a very limited audience, an audience with a knack for hyper speed blasts and basement quality production values. I honestly think the band were just having lots of fun doing their first two albums ("Reek..." and "Symphonies..."), but when "Necrotisim..." was released in 1991, the band showed an improved production and increased musical prowess, particularly in the guitar department.

No one could prepare us for what was about to come: a metal masterpiece that, in my humble opinion, has been pivotal in the development of the current Thrash/Death Metal resurgence of some bands (SHADOWS FALL, ARCH ENEMY, THE HAUNTED, et al.). Not only does "Heartwork" sport a top notch production (indeed, it sounds SO good it seems as if it was recorded a few months ago...and this was released 13 years ago!)but the musicianship here in will leave a lot of current metal bands in the dust. And do you think CARCASS sacrified their over the top assault for more musical finesse??? Not an inch! In fact, "Heart work" is faster and heavier than " Necrotism", with its blast beats more present than ever (and more clearly recorded). This is, undoubtedly, an extremely heavy album. Songs like "Arbeit Macht Fleish", "Embodiment", "No Love Lost" and the title track simply PULVERIZE everything in its path. The guitar work of maestros Bill Steer and Michael Amott could very well put bands like METALLICA or SLAYER to shame. Their leads are virtuosic but very melodic, which help to make each track a stand out. And the drumming of Ken Owen is also a stand out here as we finally get to hear his playing clear and powerful. Bill Steer's bass playing and vocals are the icing on the cake. The deep "growling" voice of previous records is a bit missed, but Walker does a fine job with his larynx ripping style, a bit similar to that of Mille Petrozza (KREATOR).

Colin Richardson's production was ahead of its time. Without sounding disrespectful, it makes SLAYER's production on recent albums sound wimpy in comparison. People who dig ARCH ENEMY will definitely dig this album (Michael Amott now plays there and thier singer, Angela, sounds very much like Jeff Walker!) .

At the time I bought this album I was kind of going through an "alternative" phase, listening to bands like NIRVANA and PIXIES, but "Heartwork" reminded me just how metal my roots are and I can easily say this is probably one of my ALL time favorite albums of ANY genre. It is so good it's almost a crime!!! By or ROT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carcass sell out album? Who cares, May 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
Why does it matter if they changed their sound, I personally didn't like their earlier goregrind style anyway. This CD really hits the spot if you want something heavy. I like the black metal like harsh vocals. It took me a few listens to really appreciate this album, at first the guitar might seem a little repetitive, but they mix it up during the songs. My favorite is Arbeit Macht Fleisch. Lots of hardcore riffs and they don't overdo it with the solos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 90's Melodic Death Metal Classic, September 27, 2013
By 
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
Released in 1993, "Heartwork" which is the fourth full length release from British extreme metal legends Carcass is without question the best melodic death metal that I've ever listened to by far, as well as one of the greatest releases in the death metal genre in general. I mean words just can't even describe how amazing this album truly is, I mean it is just magnificent in every single aspect, and dare I say it is also responsible for the spawning of the melodic death metal scene with such bands including Sweden's At The Gates, In Flames, Soilwork, Hypocrisy, Dark Tranquillity, Arch Enemy, etc. With flat out outstanding production courtesy of Colin Richardson (who has also produced "Symphonies of Sickness", "Necroticism - Descanting the Insalubrious", "Swansong", and of course the group's phenomenal 2013 comeback release "Surgical Steel"), every song here on "Heartwork" is a pure melodic death fest locked and loaded with amazing guitar work, powerful, intricate, and outstanding drumming, and sickening raspy screaming and snarling vocals that just downright destroy absolutely everything in sight, trust me this masterpiece has it all. Leading the way of course is vocalist/bassist Jeff Walker as he lashes out at the listener with his angry and sickness induced black metal inspired screams and snarls and also lays down some thunderous bass lines as well. Meanwhile drummer Ken Owen pounds his way throughout with his incredibly mind blowing work behind the kit, and of course let's not forget about the guitars which to me are the main focus on here as both Michael Amott (formerly of Carnage and currently in Arch Enemy) and Bill Steer grind out an unstoppable assault of mammoth, colossal, super heavy, teeth grinding riffs and as far as the solos on here go, my oh my the solos and melodies on here are just massive and absolutely eargasmic. They just flow ever so beautifully on each track. There is certainly no question that these guys were such an amazing guitar duo, I mean just flat out amazing. They definitely complimented one another so perfectly on here.

The songs:

Now as far as the songs on this album go, they're all just downright amazing so there's simply no skipping required here whatsoever. The album's opening cut "Buried Dreams" which is among one of my favorites on here begins with a cool opening lead riff, and then the drums kick in with a catchy pounding straight forward driving beat along with a catchy, crunchy and grinding main riff, and there's also some outstanding melodic soloing included as well. Then, the second track "Carnal Forge" is where things really get good. For example this track boasts fast, hammering drum work, furious riffing, punishing snarls and screams as well as some more killer solos including one around 2:45. Next up, we have "No Love Lost" which features a cool classic rock like groove along with more heavy, grinding, addictive riffing as well as another fantastic guitar solo, while track four that being the album's title track is highlighted by various tempo shifts, blasting, thumping drums, beastly, energetic riffage and nice melodic leads to boot. Track five "Embodiment" is another classic riff monster on here that features more massive, grinding, hulking riffs including an awesome Judas Priest "Breaking the Law" style riff as well as some more awesome soloing, meanwhile the following track "This Mortal Coil" (my favorite on the album) is highlighted by fiery, galloping Maiden-like riffs, more great melodic leads, and some killer blast beat sections. The seventh track "Arbeit Macht Fleisch" is another killer riff fest highlighted by more heavy, churning, shredding riffage, along with blazing thrash tempos and brutal raspy growls and snarls, as well as the following track "Blind Leading the Blind" which also features more gnarly riffage, as well as some thrash style drums and tempos, and some killer dual trade off solos to boot. Meanwhile track nine "Doctrinal Expletives" is yet another riff-tastic highlight that boasts more mammoth riffs after another, along with more fantastic solos, and of course "Death Certificate" which closes out this masterpiece of an album in an absolute menacing fashion with twisted, menacing riffs, hammering, thumping drum beats, beautiful melodic soloing with some more bone crushing riffs afterwards, as well as more angry, savage snarling vocals to boot.

So in conclusion, "Heartwork" is an absolute classic in the entire death metal genre if there ever was one. Seriously, everything about this album is just absolutely flawless, I mean with every song boasting outstanding production and sound, heavy, massive, crushing riffs and fantastic melodies and jaw dropping solos, and powerful drum work, and wicked snarling vocal attacks, what more could you seriously ask for? If you've never ever heard of Carcass or this album before, then by all means you are seriously missing out on some killer essential death metal here. Overall, "Heartwork" is truly a serious must own for any fan of death metal, melodic death metal, or just metal in general. Believe me, this is definitely essential listening here and well worth the money...Strongly Recommended!!!

\m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's work, January 1, 2012
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
What can I say of Carcass, a band that changed their style in every album and yet remains one of the most important and adored groups in the history of metal?
Well, there's a lot to say, but all my words will be directed to Heartwork now.
Although Gothenburg scene is claimed to have invented Melodic Death Metal, every Carcass fan knows that Heartwork is the genre's true origin.
Heavy and brutal song structures, beautiful twin-guitar melodies (which sound close to Thin Lizzy's), fast riffs, harsh vocals, melodic guitar solos and powerful blast-beats. All of this perfectly defines Melodic Death Metal, as made in a flawless way by Carcass in Heartwork.
Surely one of the greatest albums of all time, not only of Metal. You can't die without hearing this album first! A must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Grindcore Album, November 29, 2005
By 
J. H. Infante (Guadalajara, Ja, Mex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heartwork (Audio CD)
Along with Napalm Death, Carcass had the nerve to go further in agresivity , speed and brutality, they crossed the line in what could be considered acceptable in musical terms and they not only were sucessfull at that but a new genre with multiple followers were born, grindcore that saw the ligth in Birminham Englad in mid 80s, Carcass released memorable albums, perhaps very dirty and noisy but full of innovation and was untill with Heartwork that they reached the status of a band with a classic album , Heartwork marked the difference in Carcass sound since despite the style idea was quite the same it had many improvements this time in every element, voice, guitars, bass and drums had more structure and production were a little more clean than their past albums, speed and density wasnt compromised either but you can hear that sounds are not that mixed together a necesary separation of every section and a carefull final mix made of Heartwork the best Carcass recording, maybe that brief multinational corporation interest in Grindcore Music helped a few bands to release albums with a commercial quality but a non commercial concept (Cathedral-Ethereal Mirror, Entombed-Wolverine Blues, Fudge Tunnel-Creep diets, etc) you know, "Money Rules" thats the real thing, however, tracks like "buried dreams", "No Love Lost", "Heartwork" and "the sanguine article" are overwelming, Carcass members parted ways time ago, maybe it was for the best, that Gore/Medical concept was way too limitated and we had as reward other current interesting projects, my adored "Firebird" formed by Bill Steer and Jeff Walker is about to release his Country/Blues album consisting of John Denver , Johnny Cash and George Jones covers with a metal angle with guests musics from bands like Napalm Death, Amorphis, Hellacopters and Faith No More, I already checked the first single "youre still on my mind" written by Country legend George Jones, with Nick Anderson (Entombed-Hellacopters)as a duet and im totally blown away this release will be between february/march 2006, you can check this tune at Fractured Transmitter.com, you gona love it!

HM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Heartwork
Heartwork by Carcass (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.