Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Heat Lightning
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars34
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 6, 2006
In Houston, an assailant wanting to silent Voice of Poverty spokesperson Luz Maria Montoya assaults the woman, who ends up hospitalized. Police Investigators Grant Holcomb and his relatively new partner Billy Devlin investigate the attack on the community activist. Grant detests Luz Maria who he blames for the suicide death of his former partner John Zeman when her accusations of his being a rapist stuck; Grant cannot accept that a family man like Zeman would attack crack females.

Luz Maria tells Grant to forget her case since he has an ax to grind. He vows to remain professional, but finds that difficult to maintain as he wants the woman whose cold actions led to his former partner taking his life. Still the consummate cop, Grant with Billy's odd help begin to make inquiries into a sociopath who knows Luz Maria intimately with the assumption being that her former lover wants her dead. Grant will risk his life to keep the woman he once hated but now loves safe.

Luz Maria's return (see FADE THE HEAT) is a solid romantic suspense thriller with the emphasis more on the changing relationship between the cop and the activist than on who is stalking her. Readers will know who the culprit is early on by simple elimination as there are few if any other potential competitors. Still this is a well written fun damsel in distress thriller because of Grant's attitude towards the woman he must protect.

Harriet Klausner
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2006
Ignore the Publisher's Weekly review. Sometimes they are totally wrong, and this is one of those times. I read this book during the original writing stage because I'm one of Colleen Thompson's critique partners. There's an advantage in that -- you get to read things before others do -- but there's a disadvantage, too, because you have to wait between chapters. And when a book is as exciting as this one is, waiting is no fun. Because I loved the characters in FADE THE HEAT, I knew I would love Luz Marie. The surprise was how much I loved Grant. As another reviewer said, his conflicted feelings were so real and so unusually complex, that the romance had unexpected depth and emotional intensity. Thompson does so many things well -- her settings are vivid, her details are crisp, her plots are exactingly perceived, her characters are likable and interesting and realistically portrayed -- but it's Thompson's mature writing that I find the most enthralling. I consider myself extremely fortunate to be her critique partner and hope she continues writing exciting romantic suspense for many years to come. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
This book is one of my favorites..... just loved it!!! A must read. Mrs.Thompson is a great story teller and the characters are all great... a rollercoaster ride well worth the time. If u love thrillers and a good love story then you will not be disappointed! Thank you C.Thompson keep employees coming,,,,, Beth.N
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2006
Luz Maria Montoya has worked tirelessly the past three years as the Voice of Poverty spokesperson for those not in a position to speak for themselves. Regretting her heart's foolish indiscretions with an ex-boyfriend that threatened those she loved and caused her the greatest loss of her young life, she sought redemption by serving others. In doing so, she has ruffled politicians, business leaders, and prominent sports figures and drawn the ire of unbalanced supporters and fans along the way. So an occasional threat letter is no big deal to her. But when a hooded assailant jumps her in a parking lot, wraps his hands around her neck and almost squeezes the life from her, she has to face the reality of the unrest she has created.

Homicide detective Grant Holcombe harbors a personal vendetta against the outspoken woman. When Internal Affairs investigated Grant's partner two years before and found him guilty of the allegations Luz Maria had brought to light, Zeman killed himself, leaving a grieving widow and two young daughters. Grant's remorse at not being able to help his partner has fueled his anger at Luz Maria.

Now he's been called upon to investigate her assault. Grant knows he shouldn't be involved in her case, but when continued threats turn to a vicious related murder, and her vulnerability edges through her brave front, his attraction to this exceptional woman grows and he will risk everything to protect her. But isn't his love for Luz Maria the utmost betrayal of sweet Sherry Zeman, her two girls, and the memory of their dead father?

The heavy blanket of heat and humidity that envelops Houston, Texas, in August permeates this fast-paced thriller, a roller-coaster ride of action and frightening surprises. And much like the corrupted light of the vapor lamps that muted the eerie parking lot where Luz Maria was first attacked, the path traveled by Luz Maria and Grant to safety is fraught with blind curves and dead ends. Entwined with this scary suspense erupts a sizzling love affair between Luz and Grant as hot as heat lightning in a dark summer sky.

Colleen Thompson once again delivers a fabulous page-tuner filled with excitement and intrigue. Start with FADE THE HEAT, its predecessor, and finish with HEAT LIGHTNING, a great read with a hero we can all love and a heroine who makes us proud.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2013
I lucked out and got this one on a Kindle special. It's a great read, and I'll be happy to pay full price for more from this author. If you like "light" mysteries, you'll love this. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
A good editor could have fixed the plot issues. Not very successful combination of murder mystery and romance plot. Just when you begin to,like the characters, they stretch plausibility to not working at all. Worst of the offenses, the murderer reveal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
For one thing I have not finished it. It is a slow read for me because I have a bad rotor cuff and need surgery (in January). I don't like to give a rating until I have finished the book. You can ask later if you like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2012
I was a little worried about this book when I first started reading it because the heroine is a character from Fade the Heat, but once again, I got sucked in easily and drawn into another amazing book by Colleen Thompson. My recommendation is to save this book until you think you're having a bad day. Luz Maria knows about bad days:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
This is a great book! You definitely need to read "Fade the Heat" before this one so that you understand all that's going on.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2006
Social activist, Luz Maria Montoya, barely survives an attempted homicide. Homicide detective Grant Holcombe, has his reasons for hating Luz, but now he's sent to investigate her assault. When things heat up between them, are either of them ready to deal with the ramifications?

Thompson tells a gripping thriller, but underneath is a tender story of two people falling in love against all odds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$0.99
$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.