Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to learn about Heat Transfer.....
Then buy this book, and read it. It is as simple as that.

There is a wide range of books available to students for studying heat transfer in its various contexts. Most people who come to this subject area, such as myself, are engineers, in particular mechanical engineers, and have many options to choose from, namely Mills, Holman, and Incropera and DeWitt. At...
Published on May 27, 2012 by Nicholas Roche

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not detailed
This book isn't detailed enough. Most things are vaguely explained and the example problems cannot be completed fully using the text examples. There are better textbooks to learn heat transfer from.
Published 22 months ago by Alonso


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to learn about Heat Transfer....., May 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
Then buy this book, and read it. It is as simple as that.

There is a wide range of books available to students for studying heat transfer in its various contexts. Most people who come to this subject area, such as myself, are engineers, in particular mechanical engineers, and have many options to choose from, namely Mills, Holman, and Incropera and DeWitt. At the undergraduate level, Incropera and DeWitt is the most popular, and certainly a solid book. However, much like Holman, it relies too much on student's blind acceptance of correlations in reaching many equations, in particular in the area of convection. These books also begin to lack depth when higher level/more advanced phenomena need to be tackled, and a graduate text such as Mills or Nellis and Klein needs to be consulted.

A Heat Transfer Text by Lienhard and Lienhard excels in that it provides terse, easily understandable exposition of nearly all heat transfer phenomena that provides any student with a solid foundation in the material. Further, unlike many books it is equally useful for the beginner or the expert, with many special phenomena being covered that are ignored in introductory texts. Its results are general and then more specific cases are treated as is necessary. As a final coup, it is available online for free, legally (just google it), although the hard copy is dirt cheap and nice to own. It also has a nice section on mass transfer that rivals any other heat transfer text in its treatment of the subject. While it may not have as many example problems as Incropera and Dewitt, this is a small downside and can be ignored relative to its other strengths. As a masters student at MIT, I've seen a lot of texts on Heat Transfer, and can say without question that this is the best one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great HT book finally in Dover edition, March 9, 2011
By 
TK (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
This is the heat transfer book I have always turned to repeatedly whenever I need a refresher on the fundamentals or need guidance to tackle a hard problem. The heat transfer book to learn this subject from. Fantastic it is now a Dover edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Heat Transfer book., January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
I don't believe it is used at schools anymore. However I bought it to supplement a heat transfer course I took. Awesome book. I referred to this one whenever we looked at systems that required heat transfer systems in my mechanical engineering design class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic heat and mass transfer textbook. I won't ..., September 5, 2014
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
A classic heat and mass transfer textbook. I won't give it 5 stars because some sections could be improved, such as regarding boundary layers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent College Level Textbook, June 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
A Heat Transfer Textbook does an excellent job of being just what the title implies. It is full of theory, calculations and excellent explanations of heat transfer phenomena. It covers all the bases and also encourages the reader to think out of the box and be creative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best textbook on heat transfer., August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is definitely the best textbook on heat transfer, and having it in my tablet (Kindle for Android) allows me to study while commuting. I just wish Amazon paid attention to scientific/engineering writing and developed a new standard for showing equations and greek characters. It gets a bit painful to guess the missing letter or zoom the picture to read the equation.

I highly praise Lienhard for this book, but I condemn Amazon for the problems experienced reading it.

I you don't mind the weight, you can also download a free pdf (google for Lienhard) and print it. Much better reading experience, but my backpack is already too damned heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 28, 2014
By 
MMLS (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not detailed, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
This book isn't detailed enough. Most things are vaguely explained and the example problems cannot be completed fully using the text examples. There are better textbooks to learn heat transfer from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid heat transfer textbook, November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
I bought this book for an upper-level undergraduate heat transfer class. It is clear and easy to read. Occasionally a little goofy with its analogies, but a good value. I also have Incoprera, but this is the book I use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A descent, more advanced heat transfer text book, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) (Paperback)
A good heat transfer book suitable for a first graduate course, but could also be used as an undergraduate level heat transfer class for the students who like the subject and want to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Heat Transfer Textbook: Fourth Edition (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering)
$34.95 $22.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.