Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Heath Zenith BL-6138-WH Basic Solutions Wireless Switch and Socket
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 12, 2010
Works very nicely, and a great solution for replacing pull-chain fixtures.

The one issue that you should be aware of before ordering multiples of this is that they come in 5 channels (A-E), and you CANNOT switch them once you have purchased them. The outside of the packaging says what channel it uses. Since mine used all "D" channel, they interfere with each other and will need to be exchanged.
33 comments|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2011
This should be an incredibly simple product that should function as intended. And it does it some aspects of the product. You insert a lightbulb into the socket, a 9-volt battery into the switch, and like magic, it will wireless provide you with a source of light.

While it may do this for some time, it fails incredibly fast as some others have mentioned.

So I looked through their manual and they offer a 5 year warranty. Great! Unfortunately, that is all just talk and they don't uphold it at all.

After a month it failed. So I called their support and they told me was because I had used incandescent bulbs which fried the circuitry.

I told them that is stated nowhere in the manual or the box I received.

I gave them the manual number and they told it was for a different product apparently, which I did not know, and that because of this was unable to follow through the warranty and that they "couldn't verify my claim", despite my best efforts to convince them otherwise.

Honestly, if I was aware of the fact that it did not take incandescent bulbs, why would i admit to using it and then provide an alternate manual? There does not seem to be much logic behind this.

Unbelievable. I guess they know their products would fail because of their horrid quality, and then giving you a "5 year warranty" that they will not uphold to. Stay away from this company and their products.
22 comments|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
This is a great product which inexpensively solves the problem of needing a light switch to turn on a lamp (or light fixture with a pull string). This product saves the cost of wiring a wall switch.
However, it does have limitations:
(1) You must use an incandescent bulb (not a fluorescent or cfl bulb);
(2) the switch cannot be too far away from the lamp, or be blocked by something (including a heavy lamp shade);
(3) if you have multiple wireless switches, they could interfere with each other (see other reviewers comments);
(4) it will not fit all lamps due to the size of the portion that screws into the socket;
(5) there is a slight delay between flipping the switch & the light coming on, because it's wireless. If you quickly flip the switch up & down, on & off, it'll get confused. Just flip it up once to turn the light on, and flip it down once to turn off.
If you understand its limitations, and don't expect it to operate exactly like a wired switch, you'll be happy.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2010
Flipping the switch works inconsistently. To echo another reviewer: the socket piece runs very hot, I was uncomfortable with this. The switch stopped working entirely twice, and I decided it was not worth the trouble and/or risk.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
I'm an electrical contractor and installed for a customer. It quit after two weeks. Replaced battery in transmitter. Lasted for a week. Bought another from a local supplier. Same scenario.
Had to give it one star so I could write the review other wise would have given zero stars.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2012
We have an older house and used this in a room that had a pull-chain style light. Works as stated in the product description and looks great. As with other reviews, if the switch is moved to quickly, it does not turn the light off or on. You need to move the switch slowly.

Other than that, it sure works and looks better than before.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2010
Flipping switch may or may not turn light on or off.
Sometimes the switch flipped does what it is supposed
to and sometimes nothing and sometimes the opposite
of what you expect.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2008
Ordered this wireless switch to use at the top of basement steps to control a basement light about 50 feet away. Installation was a snap, directions clear. Seems to work very well though does not work good with cfl light bulbs.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2012
Works Great! If you need to control a lamp or light this is what you want to buy. Stick the switch anywhere and your done. Battery Life in switch is great and i have not changed it in over a year and light is in the living room and get used daily multiple times. A Must Buy !!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2014
It works like magic the first time I screw the bulb in. After that it doesn't work and I have to rescrew the bulb back in, flip the switch and boom works again. I might as well just remove it and screw and screw the bulb to turn the light on and off.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 27 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.