Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you're reading this review, then I likely do not need to explain the greatness of the music contained on this disc. I think it's just assumed you know about the Dio era of Black Sabbath, which is what this is all based on. If you're not a Black Sabbath fan, then you should probably stop now, as this disc will not appeal to you. On the other hand, you might find something new you like! ;)

Here's the track listing of what's on the DVD:

1) E5150/After All (The Dead)
2) The Mob Rules
3) Children of the Sea
4) Lady Evil
5) I
6) The Sign of the Southern Cross
7) Voodoo
8) The Devil Cried
9) Computer God
10) Falling off the Edge of the World
11) Shadow of the Wind
12) Die Young
13) Heaven & Hell
14) Lonely is the Word
15) Neon Knights

Again, a seriously awesome collection of tunes - if you don't know them, you will be in for a great treat. I'm not going to go down each track individually here, as that's been done better elsewhere in other reviews. This is a DVD review, so I'm trying to stick to that stuff here. A few indidivual song remarks, though: Ronnie's wail at the start of the track "The Mob Rules" is quite impressive, given his age. I have to admit to being surprised at hearing that. Also, the track "I" was not one of my favorites, but live it's a heck of a lot better and more powerful than the studio recording. The concert portion of the DVD runs one hour and fifty five minutes.

Now, the Rhino press releases are making a big deal that this was filmed in "high definition". This is **NOT** a high def release; it is a standard def DVD release. There is no high def release (in either format) forthcoming (so I'm told from Rhino). Because it was filmed in high def, this does appear to look better than most standard concert DVD's, I think.

There are four main menu selections on the DVD. "Play", "Track Selection", "Extras", and "Setup". The first two should be obvious what they are.

The setup section gives you a choice between 2.0 stereo and 5.1 surround sound.

The extras section on the DVD comprises four parts, each of which are briefly detailed below.

"Radio City" - Shows off the venue itself. We're taken on a tour of the place by a Nicolette (Nicola?) Taylor, Production Stage Manager for RCMH. She does praise the union there, which I'll take a moment to point out is the same union that kept "Ear on the Wall" from appearing on the CD/DVD due to union rules. Runs 4 minutes, 6 seconds.

"Meet the Mob" - Interviews with fans outside the venue. To be kind, it's what you would expect from a thing like this when you talk to random fans. :) Might be cool if you were there, though. Runs 3 minutes, 14 seconds.

"Hail the Gods of Metal" - Background piece of the band, their legacy, the people in the band. Interviews with the guys in the band, as well as some of the stage people, and a couple of the people from the "Meet the Mob" sequence. Has some backstage footage of the band during warmups. Runs 5 minutes, 24 seconds.

"Heaven and Hell Road Movie" - The tour documentary film. The largest and the best of the "extras". How the whole project came together, how the album came together (Dio Years), and how the tour came together, etc, etc, etc. This also has a nice interview with the guy who designed the stage set for the tour. As this was recorded March 31st, there's some stuff here about the Canadian dates. This is a very nice documentary of the events of this came together, and how the tour runs. Has some candid footage of the band doing other interviews, and telling a few stories, including a moment that Tony calls a "Sabbath Tap" one. Good stuff. Runs 19 minutes, 14 seconds.

The "Road Movie" also explains the origin of the "angel" that's been used on the band's artwork for awhile. I won't tell you here, you'll have to go watch it. ;)

Given the quality of the music on this disc, and cheap price, it's an almost "must have purchase" to me. I personally could have done without the "666" motif in the logo and artwork though - seems a bit silly to me, but that's a minor quibble. I saw them in Dallas on this tour, and it was quite powerful. I'd seen them on the Dehumanizer tour 15 years ago, and it was impressive then. It's still impressive now. Grab the DVD, especially if you have a good home theatre system. This will rock it for sure. :)

Joe Siegler - Webmaster
black-sabbath.com
99 comments|106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 28, 2007
Ronnie James Dio DEFINES quality Heavy Metal. He was the perfect fit to join Black Sabbath after Ozzy's departure because Black Sabbath were the pioneers of quality Heavy Metal.

And indeed Black Sabbath during the Dio Years (1979-1982) made some of the best Metal songs ever. In April 2007 the band released a disk chronicling their time together The Dio Years , and launched a tour shortly after. But a few select shows kicked the tour off in March 2007 and Heaven & Hell: Live from Radio City Music Hall is a Class-A DVD recording of the 3/30/2007 performance.

The concert portion of the disk is all show, and Heaven & Hell: Live from Radio City Music Hall is recording that could be held up as an example of how to do a musical DVD correctly. There's no indulgence by some videographer that thinks a viewer wants to see effects like cut to black and white or split screen pop ups. The picture is crystal clear, and most importantly, the video doesn't jump around every 4 seconds, so you really get to see the performance in a way that feels like you have a front row seat to the concert instead of sitting there watching a DVD.

The sound is terrific. If you've got a surround system you're in for a pounding Heavy Metal experience. You get your choice of Dolby 5.1 or Dolby stereo.

Ronnie sounds great. One of the roadies in the Extras suggested that to hold up so well after all these years he must have "done a deal with the Devil"....Ha! Ya think! Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Vinny Appice are all on this night in late March 2007, and all of the boys clearly committed to each other to give performances that were true to the studio versions.

Talk about a tour to support a CD release, Heaven and Hell has all of the songs on 2007's The Dio Years with the exception of Turn Up The Night, TV Crimes and Ear In The Wall. But don't worry, they replace the missing with a couple of gems. On Heaven and Hell you get:

1) E5150/After All (The Dead)
2) The Mob Rules
3) Children of the Sea
4) Lady Evil
5) I
6) The Sign of the Southern Cross (not on The Dio Years)
7) Voodoo
8) The Devil Cried
9) Computer God (not on The Dio Years)
10) Falling off the Edge of the World
11) Shadow of the Wind
12) Die Young
13) Heaven & Hell
14) Lonely is the Word
15) Neon Knights

And the extras include a mini road documentary, fan clips, and (strangely, but interesting) a guided tour of Radio City Music Hall's stage bowels.

Heaven & Hell: Live from Radio City Music Hall is an absolute must for any fan of the Black Sabbath Dio era.
1414 comments|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2007
listening to the sabbath classics after their original conception more than 2 decades ago i was being the devil's advocate and waiting for the slightest flaw in Dio's voice. my scepticism faltered gradually and blew in my face at the terrific roar opening 'the mob rules'... i 've never heard dio screaming like this in ages. such energy is not even present in the monumental 'live evil'. a live album of the highest recommendation.
bless you, Dio, and bless the almighty sabbath/heaven and hell.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2007
Are you a fan of true heavy metal? Are you a fan of Black Sabbath with the great singer frontman Ronnie James Dio? If you are, buy this historic DVD. THis was the Dio led Sabbath's first show in the USA in 15 years. It was as if they never had separated. Dio's voice at 65+ is still one of the best rock and roll and heavy metal have ever heard. He can still hit the notes,high, low and menacing. This DVD is not only entertaining, but historic. We may never see this powerful lineup again on stage after this current Heaven and Hell tour. My suggestion is buy this DVD and if you get a chance to see them, DO IT!

Butler's bass work is fantastic, Appice is a master on the drums, and Iommi is a true metal god on the guitar. He is the master of heavy metal riffs. From the menacing and plodding After All ( The Dead) to the last track, the great Neon Knights, his talent shows through. One thing I enjoyed was that Dio is a true gentleman, unlike many modern metal singers,he shakes hands with the crowd, introduces the tracks, and gives his thanks and appreciation to the crowd. He related in the "Extras" section of the DVD that the fans are everything, and his and the rest of Sabbath's performance show it. Overall a great DVD.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2007
Having seen the Sabs with Dio in 1981 (Madison Square Garden, NYC) and again on the "Dehumanizer" tour (The Beacon, NYC) I knew what to expect from this line up....total perfection. The years past have only improved this lot! The Radio City show simply kills....to all you young bands out there: "This is how you do a show" ...stunning!! The drums, the bass, the voice, the GUITAR!! Iommi is still top god of rock, Geezer top notch, Vinny is rock solid, pounding away, and what else can we say about our "Troll of Rock n Roll" Ronnie? This was/is the VERY best material of his career, simply classic! I'm actually thrilled there is no "Dio doing Ozzy" material on this disc...it's not necessary at all....then always will come the "comparisions". This show proves (as if we needed proof) the total strength of the Sabs with Dio era. The 1980-1982 period was so creative, wonderful songwriting, expert musicianship, songs that can never grow old. Songs that amazingly got no airplay, which proves once again FM radio has been dead for absoultely years (decades even). I don't know what the reviews saying "no bass" are talking about...your speakers must be out of phase. My 5 channel stereo and sub were KICKING on this, I surprized the police were not around, to be honest. Audio quality is perfection! Video razor sharp on the plasma!! Some nice extras on the disc, too. I would also like to comment about the lighting and stage set: Very "theatre", highly dramatic, and I love that big iron cemetary gate in front of all the amps! This is rock theatre for those in the know. Quality is key in this package. There is no doubt....just buy it and enjoy it. This is the reunion hard rock fans have been dreaming about. I LOVED IT! Looking forward to the Mohegian Sun show next week with ALICE COOPER. Cheers....
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2008
I love most eras of Black Sabbath, although I really can't embrace the Tony Martin era. Ozzy, Dio, Gillan, and Glenn Hughs all brought something great and special to the Black Sabbath table. I was very excited to receive this particular DVD and to watch it as soon as I got home.

I was and am a huge fan of the Heaven and Hell and Mob Rules albums. Ronnie really fit into Sabbath well, as good as or sometimes even better than Ozzy. Ronnie is a better singer, and a much beter lyric writer, if you remember correctly Ronnie wrote all the words for Heaven and Hell, this took a lot of pressure off of Geezer who wrote the majority of the words for the Sabbath classics.

That being said, it was so awesome to see live the music I had enjoyed for years. I never got to see Sabbath with Dio live, I almost caught the Dehumanizer Tour with Testament opening, but circumstances kept me at bay. Now I can enjoy some of the greatest metal ever written and performed.

Tony 'no fingers' Iommi is still one of the greatest guitar players ever. He can do more with 2 fingers than most can do with four. I am sure he was enjoying himself on stage because the old dusty set list used since the Ozzy reunion has been put back on the shelf and now he is playing songs live that he has not played in many many years. His solos are spot on and he is still the dark overlord riff-master. His guitar sounds as great as it did on the original albums.

What can be said about Geezer Butler? An underrated bass player to be sure. I put him behind only Cliff Burton as greatest bassist of all time. Not only is he enjoying himself as well, but his bass is a perfect compliment to Tony's guitar.

Vinny Appecie can still throw down and beat the skins just as he did wehn he first joined Sabbath (as their second drummer after Bill left). Vinny keeps everything together and like the rest of the band, clearly enjoying himself.

Ronnie James Dio is fronting these legendary musicians and doing them justice, as well as further cementing himself as a metal legend. Sure he dresses weird, but Ronnie would not be Ronnie without his Medieval aura. His voice is just as strong as it always has been, and though he is clearly losing his hair, his pipes still are massive enough to command the audience.

Highlights of the show for me were "I", "Mob Rules" and the great "Neon Knights". The crowd is packed into Radio City Music Hall and the stage set was fantastic. I loved how the amps were behind the iron gates. The whole stage looked like the entrance to a strange sort of castle or catacomb. Whatever it was supposed to be, it looked evil and forboding, just like Sabbath should. I also liked the backdrops. The angels playing cards were always a favorite of mine.

If you have any reservations about buying this, or you do not enjoy it once you seen it, I cannot call you a true Sabbath fan. Ozzy is a huge part of Sabbath, but the Sabbath legacy is even bigger than him. C'mon, he needs a teleprompter to sing Paranoid these days. Dio is still firing on all 8 evil little cylanders.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2007
All pistons were firing the night they shot this show as the band showcases their great songs from the past and present. DIO sounded fabulous and I loved how they warmed up the audience with the moody and powerful After All from Dehumanizer. When DIO unleashes his howl and they rip into Mob Rules the crowd just goes nuts. And why not? This historic band looks and sounds terrific and their stage set and lighting are brilliantly matched to the music. The second half of the show is even better than the first and Iommi just shreds on guitar. Lonely is the Word and Falling Off the Edge of the World were awesome. Geezer and Vinnie are also in fine form and perfectly in synch. We even get treated to an old fashioned drum solo from Vinnie, who still has a few tricks up his sleeve. Hats off to the director and video editor for allowing us to experience this show without cutting the action so fast. Beatifully planned out and put together. I'm 41, but felt like a teenager again jumping up after every song making the sign and howling, "YEAH!"
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2007
Just when I had written Dio off as being old an worn out(Holy Diver Live), He completly blows me away in this DVD (CD). Absolutely Amazing. Tony Iommi is absolutely top notch, Geezer just grinds out the bassline, and Vinnie pounds the skins like a Madman. When this whole "reunion" thing was being tossed around, I was having images of the mismanaged Dehumanizer show. Then I heard "And the Devil Cried"...and I knew this was the real thing. I am the biggest Ozzy fan alive, but this DVD/CD absolutely solidified the Dio years as some of the best Metal music produced. This is a must have for Sabbath fans, and any metal Fan.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 28, 2007
The awesome 'Black Sabbath' lineup of Ronnie James Dio, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, and Vinny Appice was truly and arguably one of the best and most revered in hard rock/metal history, so it was great seeing them reform for this special 'Heaven & Hell' tour! Going back around 25 years when this lineup had it's heyday, it is hard to believe all this time has passed since, but the music still sounds as 'fresh' today as it did back then. I had seen the 'Black & Blue' tour back then, and Dio's voice is just as powerful and impressive now as it was then! Quality, powerful music has a way of standing the test of time as this DVD proves. That said, this show was spectacular in every way! The band looked and sounded great and in top form, and the historic and magnificent venue (Radio City Music Hall in NYC) was top notch acoustically and visually. You can tell a lot of professionalism and high standard work went into the making of this concert DVD, especially given the excellent recording sound quality and the perfect camera shots and editing. This DVD should be the standard of all live DVD rock recordings. A 'must own'!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 30, 2007
At first when I heard about this tour and DVD, I had to check it out for myself. When I spoke to Ronnie James Dio following a club gig, several years back, he told me that he'd NEVER rejoin up with the guys in Black Sabbath again. I guess the moral of the story here is to NEVER say 'never'. This DVD has to be the best music DVD release of 2007, period! No ifs, ands or buts about it. Picture and sound quality is 100% excellent. Tracks here that I can't get enough of are "The Mob Rules", the soothing "Children Of The Sea", "I", the new song "The Devil Cried", "Die Young", "Heaven And Hell" {reproduced exactly the way I remembered it on their actual tour of that album way-back when}, "Lonely Is The Word" and the encore {also of of my all-time favorites} "Neon Knights". Is great to catch Iommi, Butler, Dio and drummer Vinnie Appice onstage together again. Essential.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse