Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven's Rage is a Winner
It is a realistic story that needed to be told. But the author turned it into a gripping murder mystery that is complex and totally enthralling. She keeps you guessing from the first page to the very end of this thriller, yet keeps you hanging in suspense through all the manifestations of the victims' lives with a plot that is intricate and well researched. It's an...
Published on June 6, 2010 by Kimberly Scott Robb

versus
48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spousal Abuse Porn
There's nothing to this book besides a description of four abusive relationships. It is billed as a mystery, but the detective characters don't do any detecting besides listening to the abused spouses tell their stories. The ending is an unforced confession from a character who the author never made convincing. Reading this novel left me feeling dirty; I wish I had not...
Published on February 19, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven's Rage is a Winner, June 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Rage (Hardcover)
It is a realistic story that needed to be told. But the author turned it into a gripping murder mystery that is complex and totally enthralling. She keeps you guessing from the first page to the very end of this thriller, yet keeps you hanging in suspense through all the manifestations of the victims' lives with a plot that is intricate and well researched. It's an excellent first-time effort; Brown is a compelling story teller. I look forward to her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spousal Abuse Porn, February 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HEAVEN'S RAGE (Kindle Edition)
There's nothing to this book besides a description of four abusive relationships. It is billed as a mystery, but the detective characters don't do any detecting besides listening to the abused spouses tell their stories. The ending is an unforced confession from a character who the author never made convincing. Reading this novel left me feeling dirty; I wish I had not read it and suggest that you avoid it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finished it the night I got it, May 28, 2010
By 
D. Fong (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Rage (Hardcover)
1st mystery book read this year and loved it. Some parts were predictable and a few plots felt suddenly wrapped up but it kept me interested to finish it in one sitting.

Tiffany Craig Brown has produced a story worth reading. A solid debut novel, the fragility of life, the pain of loss, and the complexities of relationships.

The deeper I entered into the story, the more I grew to care about the ex-wives and ex-girlfriend, the faster I turned the pages.

Loved the plot twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, May 25, 2010
By 
Jane "Jane" (Huntington Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Rage (Hardcover)
Great murder mystery! The human emotion really comes through, I loved the characters and it was a well thought out plot. I was hooked on the very first page and could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment, October 24, 2010
By 
Book Lover (Woodland, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Rage (Paperback)
I have rarely seen a book with such overwhelmingly positive reviews. For that reason, I was shocked by the distain I felt for it after wading through the trials and tribulations of the first ex-wife. The writing was trite, the situations and characters predictable and repetitive, and the "mystery" not that intriguing. I very very rarely take the time to submit a review to amazon. The fact that I did so in this case is an indication of the depth of my dissatisfaction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DISTURBING BUT WELL- WRITTEN, February 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HEAVEN'S RAGE (Kindle Edition)
This is a well thought out who done it mystery.
The story and many characters are well developed.
The child and spousal abuse can be difficult to take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't Read it Fast Enough!!, July 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Rage (Hardcover)
Heaven's Rage will be a blockbuster hit movie!

It's difficult to believe that this is fiction; you just can't make this stuff up. Heaven's Rage continues to haunt a place somewhere deep within me, although it's been several weeks since I've finished the book.

I actually suffered with three of the women whose lives were tortured by their mutual prince charming. I wanted to scream each time it occurred to me that the story's events probably happened. Tiffany Craig Brown's gut-wrenching characature of Dick Tate is vile enough to make readers beg for mercy for the women and children's lives he's terrorized. Ms. Brown amps up their motives page after page as she weaves yet another crazed act into the lives of Dick Tates's victims, providing justication for whatever it takes to escape his dark side. Heaven's Rage is the painful reminder that abused women everywhere will do anything to survive their ugly realities--the rage they endure every day, every night--the hope they manage to find within themselves to face each morning, and the courage it takes to crawl out of a hole so deep that only one desperate enough to save herself and her children, can.

Once this twisted tale was solved (Woah!), I felt equally justified in ignoring my entire life for two successive days to find out how it all spiraled beyond what I could have imagined. Congrats to the author for NAILING a completely unexpected conclusion!

In my opinion, Ms. Brown's most salient characters, Jordan, Meg and Dick, warrant their own expanded story; now that we know what happened, readers like myself need to understand this bizzare and complex relationship at it's core.
Bottom line: I won't be completely satisfied until I read the sequel. 5 stars for getting my attention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Heaven's Rage" - the author's first book, August 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Rage (Hardcover)
Heaven's Rage is a story of love & hope & regret; not once but over & over. It's a story of evil, of someone who thinks only of himself & what he wants, until he's done & then goes forward. The author goes back & forth with the story, hooking you, making you feel like you were there. She fills your mind with every page until you feel the hurt & the rage & the desire for closure or revenge. This is a story that makes you feel like it really happened. It'a a book you don't want to put down until you have finished. It's a book that men & women will both want to read. It's a book you won't want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Insight, September 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Rage (Paperback)
I am drawn to the mysteries of what makes people tick- and this book weaves a good tale of intrigue. There are
so many ways women are abused and this book gets to the core of the most primal variety of abuse. The
psychological web it weaves is compelling as well- it lends to sympathy and interest as to how all of the women
in this book were portrayed. The chapters paint pictures of several very different women with the same weakness
for the primary player in this book. And HE thought he could get away with murder-this is a twist of fate tale well penned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina L., September 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: HEAVEN'S RAGE (Kindle Edition)
Ms Browns writing of this novel was a page turner from the beginning. The emotions that I felt for Richard Tates ex-wives, was one of sadness, anger and fear. This novel is a book that I am sure that many woman will relate to and will hopefully be able to find strength to take a stand against the abuse that happens in their lives. Excellent murder mystery with a twist that made it even more a great read. I can't wait for Ms Tiffany C. brown to write her next novel? I have told many friends that this is a must read! Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Heaven's Rage
Heaven's Rage by Tiffany Craig Brown (Hardcover - May 10, 2010)
$26.95 $25.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.