Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will sweep you away to another time
This romantic novella is great for history buffs who want to feel as if they've been transported to another time period.

Set in medieval Wales, a pair of ginger-haired twins find themselves at odds for the first time in their lives as they compete for the same woman, a capable healer who helps their brother and brother-in-law. There's a twist and many setbacks...
Published on May 27, 2012 by Dorothy Johnson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay, but . . .
There were times I found it unbelievably sappy. Furthermore, they basically fell in lust at first sight, and the tidy way that the men just happened to fall in love with one of the twins, even though they did not know that there were two different women, was just not logical. Now if they had gotten to know each other, had long, drawn out conversations, it would have been...
Published on July 20, 2012 by Jessica Prouty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will sweep you away to another time, May 27, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This romantic novella is great for history buffs who want to feel as if they've been transported to another time period.

Set in medieval Wales, a pair of ginger-haired twins find themselves at odds for the first time in their lives as they compete for the same woman, a capable healer who helps their brother and brother-in-law. There's a twist and many setbacks that must be overcome. The prose weaved through the society of the times and had me rooting for a happy ending.

Although it's the third book of a series and gives tantalizing hints to the previous books, this was the first book that I'd read. Yes, I'm never picking up books in the right order. I had no trouble jumping right into the story and thoroughly enjoyed it as a stand-alone book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kind of DOUBLE TROUBLE You''ll Like!, May 31, 2012
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Ok I have to be honest, this was my first novella/medieval book, so I had nothing to compare it to nor did I know what to expect. Let me tell you, it was busting with Pine Valley (ALL MY CHILDREN) style drama! The center of the story is a set of twins, who in modern times would be the Matthew McConaughey/David Beckham types, that would bring a room to a screeching halt when they enter. Unfortunately, I'd already started reading the book, when I realized it was the third installment of a series. Even so, there were enough details and specifics that I was able to understand and enjoy every line of the plot. I know it's backwards, but I now have the first and second installment on my "to read" wish list. Great story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic and addictive., May 21, 2012
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
As a history buff, I found this story to be an authentic medieval experience. It is clear that Markland did extensive research to get it right. The plot has many twists which I don't want to spoil here and that will make you want to read the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twin red-headed medieval warriors...how's that for unique?, June 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Rhun and Rhydderch are twins and warriors in twelfth century Wales. When their brother, Rhys, is injured in a fall, they bring him to a bonesetter who can heal his injured leg. To their surprise, the bonesetter is a beautiful young woman named Glain. Both brothers are attracted to Glain, and a competitive tension builds between them. But not to worry: the brothers aren't the only twins around. It turns out Glain has a twin sister, Isolda.

The girls decide to play a little game, and they keep Isolda's existence a secret. When Isolda encounters the brothers, she allows them to believe she's actually Glain. While Rhun's attraction is to the real Glain, Rhydderch is actually drawn to Isolda, and the brothers continue to mistakenly believe they are competing for one woman. The brothers soon discover the trick, and they decide to have a little fun of their own.

I thought the story would continue as a light-hearted romp, so I was surprised when about halfway through, a tragedy puts one of the character's life in danger.

I enjoyed the mix of playfulness, and drama, and the characters were well-depicted for a novella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay, but . . ., July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
There were times I found it unbelievably sappy. Furthermore, they basically fell in lust at first sight, and the tidy way that the men just happened to fall in love with one of the twins, even though they did not know that there were two different women, was just not logical. Now if they had gotten to know each other, had long, drawn out conversations, it would have been more believable, but they all only lusted after each other.

The script for the characters I found a bit unimaginative, and at times a conversation was almost copied word for word, such as when the male twins were playing a prank on the female twins, and when the older brother of the male twins was convincing the female twins, separately, to marry his brothers. Other times, the words were sometimes completely sappy, when the couples spoke to each other.

Also, in the beginning, when the men met one of the women before the other showed up, both men were in lust for Glain. It wasn't until Isolda showed up that there was a distinction between which twin would fall in love with Glain. It started out as "Oh no, two men and one woman?" and turned into "Oh brother, and they know each other by which one quickens their loins?". That last one was so weird, and illogical, that I just had to laugh a little. Try to figure out who is which either by sight or smell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing Double!, June 2, 2012
By 
Loves Reading (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Two sets of twins come together in this hot medieval romance. Twin sons of a Welsh prince, Rhun and Rhydderch, are well known for their striking red hair, good looks, and warrior's skills. When an accident befalls their brother and brother-in-law, they end up in a small Welsh village looking for a bonesetter. Glain is attracted to both brothers and they to her. With the help of her twin, Isolda, she leads the brothers on a merry dance. Sadness and heartbreak befall them, but in the end they all find their happy ending. Full of wonderful details of the period that bring the story to life, and with a cast of likeable characters, this is a delightful short romance. At times fun, at times sad, but ultimately satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story- I loved it!, May 20, 2012
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Ann Markland is an incredible writer who writes great books- and this novella is just as great. The blurb says it all "They shared everything, but could they share a woman? Juicy medieval romance." And the story grabs the reader, and keep you enthralled until you reach the end. I loved this book- a must read for all:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great story!, June 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This story was a pleasant surprise. I loved the characters and will go back for the first two books. Amazon lists it as 86 pages I think but this author packed a lot in those few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughter and Lament are very close indeed, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This story is full of laughter and Lament. Love and anger, tricks and passion. When two sets of twins get together there is plenty of surprises, twists and turns that will keep you glued to the book. I highly recommend this book to you. I hope you find it as wonderful as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome series, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Winds of the Heavens (Sons of Rhodri Medieval Romance Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I loved all the books in this series. One of my favorite things about them is all the history included. Great love stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.