Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made General Electric outlet expander
There are alot of cheapo outlet expanders for sale at the 99 cent store but they wear out and don't hold on to the wires plugged in nor do they get a good grip on the outlet they are expanding. General Electric makes a better quality unit with a stronger grip to prevent heat buildup and larger thickness plugs that keep it in the socket.

You do pay a little...
Published on January 17, 2011 by HMMWV

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seems good, but not quite as expected
It gives 3 outlets out of one, and they are fairly well spaced. If you plan to use it for multiple cell-phone chargers or big plugs like that, this may not be big enough. The outlets are not too tight, so it's not really hard to plug things in it. It says it's heavy-duty and it tolerates up to 15 amps, which is kind of standard. Nevertheless, 15 amps is not that much, so...
Published on July 7, 2012 by Eng_undergrad


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made General Electric outlet expander, January 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
There are alot of cheapo outlet expanders for sale at the 99 cent store but they wear out and don't hold on to the wires plugged in nor do they get a good grip on the outlet they are expanding. General Electric makes a better quality unit with a stronger grip to prevent heat buildup and larger thickness plugs that keep it in the socket.

You do pay a little more for the GE product but it will last longer and have a lower chance of creating a fire condition (where a moderate load, say 10A, heats up because the adapter has fallen out of the socket and only touches the contacts at one point - if this happens it is time to toss out the plug expander and buy a new one before conditions ripe for a fire are present. If the outlet is bad then it's time to remove it and buy a commercial quality outlet from the home improvement store (they are about four bucks vs the sixty five cent ones) - what you get for the money is a well designed spring system that grips the plug well and does not buildup heat.

Some people think you need to plug multiple devices in to create a fire hazard - that's not the problem so much as when plugs don't stay in their outlets well or the total wattage is more than the outlet can handle. Most home outlets are rated for 1850 watts, and most devices are rated to max out at 12 amps so as to be less than the outlet's maximum. With poor quality adapters. heat builds up rapidly even with just one adapter.

You could have 4 adapters plugged into each other with small loads like 10 adapters each 10 watts and only have a 100 watt total, but if you plug in 3 1500 watt items, you have a 4500 watt potential load, which far exceeds the outlet's rating if more than 1 is turned on at a time. HOPEFULLY the breaker will blow but they can be slow to trip on minor overloads (like 2000 watts) and that is more than enough to generate alot of heat at the outlet (and potentially a fire).

I have a large (about 25) number of devices plugged into a UPS but it tracks the load total so that if I exceed the 20A outlet rating it will alarm and shut down if the problem is not corrected. Most of my devices are 7-10 watts so its not a problem.

When expanding with adapters just sum up the wattage of the items plugged in - if it exceeds 1800 it's best to split the load across more than one outlet and one circuit (a circuit can span more than one outlet - like my original house wiring which had 2 outlets for "lights" and "plugs" all into one 20A breaker for each.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A small thing, sometimes, helps a lot., May 27, 2010
By 
LEE RHOADS (San Francisco Bay Area, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
It seemed like I was always unplugging one piece of equipment so that I could plug in another. The adapters that I found in stores were light duty. This adapter does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as expected, April 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
I liked the first one I bought so much I bought another. It's truly heavy duty and the individual outlets are well spaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Construction, August 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
This adapter is truly heavy-duty. It has a rubberized finish on the outside, making it easy to grip. The connections are all solid - when you insert a plug, you feel the connection has been made and won't pull out easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, March 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a well made outlet expander. It is actually heavy duty, and the plug connections are far enough apart that you can plug in AC adapters in adjacent slots, unlike most others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, January 28, 2012
By 
Dave Barnes (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
This feels silly. A review for a 3-in-1 electrical outlet.
Well, I have only good news. My house has not burned down yet due to this device.
In fact, I have not detected any problems with it.
I do suspect that the plastic will deteriorate in the future and sometime in the next 100 years my offspring will be suing GE for a replacement. Until then, all is well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, but despite being orange it is for indoor use only, December 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
15A so it gets the job done. UL listed. Was a bit disappointed to find out that it says for indoor use only on the product. You won't find that anywhere in the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
When I bought this, I thought the plug in part was just two slots. That is what I needed. I needed the front part to be three plugs. All my sockets in my house are just two plugs, so I thought getting this would help. Basically, it is useless for me. Otherwise, it doesn't really look like the photo. It is a off white, ugly colour.

The biggest thing I suggest, is they should add a photo of the backside of the plug, so people are more aware. If this is what you're looking for, for a plug, go for it. I would buy it, if it was what I wanted...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice and does what it is supposed to do, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
I understand that the picture makes it hard to see a third prong but considering it's listed as grounded it should be there and if it were not there I wouldn't trust three plugs that need to be grounded going into it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Function as advertised, March 6, 2014
By 
AvgMom2 (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Duty 3-Outlet Power Tap, Lt. Almond 54203 (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a THREE prong adapter. (The picture on the website shows TWO prong, which is misleading.) But since my outlet is for three prong, this one works. I took off one star because the color is not ivory, but strange beige color -- very ugly. Luckily, I'm using it in back of my wall so no one will see it. Other than that, it's as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.