Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast action shooting the Afghan bad guys.
I just got this game a week before Thanksgiving and played it over 3 nights. I'm trying to get this out as soon as possible for anyone thinking about this game for Xmas. I was hoping for a Wii war game something like "Brothers In Arms: Double Time" (which is my favorite Wii War Game) but this game lacks in several areas. There's not much thinking to do. No strategy, just...
Published on November 27, 2011 by Homerite

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CRUDE, FRUSTRATING AND REPETITIVE
This is the first "rail shooter" game that I have played and it will be the last. I found "HEAVY FIRE" to be a rather mindless exercise in continuous shooting. The only control you have over your marine is taking cover, shooting, reloading and throwing grenades. There is no way to save a place other than game directed milestones. I got through the first level without...
Published on August 24, 2012 by Gerald R. Taft


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast action shooting the Afghan bad guys., November 27, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
I just got this game a week before Thanksgiving and played it over 3 nights. I'm trying to get this out as soon as possible for anyone thinking about this game for Xmas. I was hoping for a Wii war game something like "Brothers In Arms: Double Time" (which is my favorite Wii War Game) but this game lacks in several areas. There's not much thinking to do. No strategy, just keep moving and shooting. It is a very fast paced game though and there is never a dull moment. The object is to get points so at the end of two battles you get promoted according to your score. There are two parts to play- Rookie and Veteran. Finish the Rookie game all the way through (about 10 battles) and you go through the same courses as a "Veteran". Why the creators didn't make new battle schemes for the Veteran version doesn't make sense but by now you'll know what to expect. I didn't notice anything different between the two flavors.

The Pros are: Lots of non-stop action. You're always moving forward and it seems that all the enemies have their sights only on you. They're everywhere. The Graphics are pretty good. Not great, but good. There isn't any profanity like the big boy games (Brother in Arms, Call to Duty and Metal of Honor) and there's no blood and guts splattered all over the place. If you want a fairly mild shoot-em-up game for the teenagers then this would be a good starter.

The Cons: The instructions suck! Control explanations are very generic. The worst Remote Control feature is the use of the number "1" button to activate the Grenade, Missiles and Tank Gun. It should have been located on the minus (-) button, which isn't reserved for anything. At least all you need to do to throw a grenade is point and press "1", unlike most Wii action that requires you to flip the remote control forward to throw the grenade. A lot of scenes are in tunnels, buildings, or at night and it's very hard seeing anything that needs to be blasted. Lots of enemies are so small and far away that all you see is the flash of the gun fire. I tried going to "Options" and making my screen lighter but all I could do was flip "on" or "off" the Avatar, whatever that is. I never figured out what Avatar was (did I explain how the instructions suck) and never got the screen lightened. Another thing the instructions don't explain is sometimes you get a big red Explanation Point (!) above the enemies head. This big red "!" is telling you who's putting holes in you and they are about to make you start the battle all over if you don't blast em. If you have lots of bad guys in a group, throw the grenade- that's why they gave you them. You get lots of points too, hint hint.

The game is fast paced and only moves you in one direction: forward. There's no deviating or roaming around. The course is predetermined. No turning, side stepping, going backwards, etc. You will be prompted to duck behind obstacles when fired upon. Don't be stubborn; you'll live longer if you duck for cover and reload. Your object is to go through the battles trying to shot all the bad guys without running out of ammo or depleting your "health". As you progress through the battles you'll see colored icons with more Ammo, Health (blood) or Grenades. Sometimes you go by them before you had a chance to figure out what it was. It's too late if you didn't collect it (shooting it) because you can't turn around or go backwards. I suggest if it glows - shoot it.

Here are some helpful Hints:
1) When you're trying to shoot down a Helicopter you have to shoot all the enemy around you first. Don't shoot at the Helicopter until your Missile stock has reloaded (about 3 - 5 seconds between rounds) and never shoot at it while it's firing rounds at you. You'll lose every time. Shoot a missile at it when the Helicopter is reloading ammo. It takes 2 to 3 missiles to down a Helicopter.
2) Same thing goes when a Pick-up shows up with a gun turret on it. Shoot all the enemy around the pick-up only after the Pick-up has fired its burst of Ammo. While the Pick-up is reloading you have about 5 seconds to shoot the ground troopers. Once the troops are all dead you can blast the truck with a grenade or two bursts of ammo. Duck as the Pick-up is shooting at you.
3) Always keep your ammo full. Even if you've shot 5 out of your 30 round clip, always keep your ammo pack full. Nothing's worst then wishing you had a full clip as the enemy is shooting you and you have no cover to duck behind. Reloading is slow but luckily it's one of the "upgrades" you can get when you have enough points.

Remember, you are the only one getting shot at that matters. Unlike other war games I play, in this one your Marine buddies are everywhere. Sometimes they are already staged in the battle shooting the Afghans, sometimes they're around you. Bodies are everywhere. The Marines even pop up around a corner and surprise you, which I in turn get a nasty message from some head honcho telling me to "Watch your Fire!" cuz I just shot a Marine. I promptly get 50 points taken from my score and the Marine falls dead. Obviously that's very bad.

I paid $20 bucks for this game. At that price it's worth it. Brother in Arms, Call to Duty and Metal of Honor may have more features (for $30 more) but for $20 you can't go wrong with this one. It's a change of pace from the others and no foul language. For the price it's a very good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
damn good game for 2 players or 1 it's almost like playing a hunting game however it is fun also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys/men love it!, November 29, 2011
By 
Kevin A. Madden (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
A good friend recommended this, and site unseen I sent it to my brother-in-law and nephew.

Huge hit, though mom wanted it for the record that theirs is a loving home with kids who understand that fantasy violence is different than real violence.

So now that we have THAT out of the way...

...the 9 year old boy LOVED it, and said it's the best WII game he's ever played. "It's totally realistic." When asked his favorite part, he said when he shot that guy in the eye. His dad reports that the boy, "... likes it even more than his Xbox Halo game."

Yeah. So I'm quoting my brother in law. So shoot me. (but using fake bullets, puleaze)

The big kid, at age 43, is a true fan: loves the graphics, and the fast action.

I suspect the 6 year old girl will have time with it too, and look forward to being killed by her around the holidays.

km
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CRUDE, FRUSTRATING AND REPETITIVE, August 24, 2012
By 
Gerald R. Taft (Anchorage, Alaska USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
This is the first "rail shooter" game that I have played and it will be the last. I found "HEAVY FIRE" to be a rather mindless exercise in continuous shooting. The only control you have over your marine is taking cover, shooting, reloading and throwing grenades. There is no way to save a place other than game directed milestones. I got through the first level without becoming too frustrated but had to give up after five days of being stuck on the second scenario of part 2. The controls are poorly thought out and not easy to use. After playing the Call of Duty, 007 and other first person shooters I am spoiled to more sophisticated action, better graphics, more realistic game objectives or story. This one goes back on the shelf with rather unpleasant memories. Save your money and time for better quality games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check your fire! Check your fire!, February 10, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
Heavy Fire: Afghanistan is pretty good, but it's nothing special, really. This 20 dollar game is certainly better than the two 5 dollar Wiiware games that preceded it, although it's definitely not four times better as you might expect.

What I like most about the Heavy Fire series is that these games are simple enough that almost anyone can play them. You just point your Wiimote at the screen, press B to fire, and shake the remote or tap A to reload. That's all you need to know to win at these games. I have some family members who really enjoy Heavy Fire because it's an army game that's easier than Call of Duty. If you have some friends or family members that sound like that, you could probably get some good use out of this game.

The graphics in this Wii version range from awful to pretty decent. The opening level (particularly the mountain) is the worst of the worst, but some of the later levels don't look so bad. The music is good, and some of it even verges on being catchy. There are several grammatical errors in the storytelling, but Engrish and Nintendo go hand in hand, right?

Despite what the packaging says, there are twelve levels that you can play on two different difficulties: Rookie and Veteran modes. As you might expect, Rookie is kind of a cakewalk. Although I haven't finished the Veteran campaign yet, I can safely say there's a lasting challenge here for perfectionists.

Given that the game itself is pretty ok (though it can get a little repetitive after about two hours of constant play), and that casual gamers can pick it up so easily, Heavy Fire: Afghanistan really does have a decent bit to offer. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes shooters on rails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING, January 23, 2014
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
This is THE WORST Wii game I have ever played....I know the Wii has aweful graphics to begin with but this takes the cake!!!! I think the people at Nintendo just gave up!!! Very Repetitive gameplay,,Terrible controls...Dull as all get out...Crap storyline...DO NOT waste a single cent on this game!!!! They put a rookie mode on this and a Veteran mode in this game and they are the same exact levels and there is no challenge whatsoever on this game...This has got to be the biggest joke ever!!!

Anyone on here that states this is fun or a good game is either an advertiser for Wii or a Bot!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lousy Game, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
Lousy graphics, lousy game play, especially when during 2 players. Do not buy this game unless you have extra money but do not know where to spend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME GAME, December 25, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
Awesome game. Did not think that a preteen could play it but they were able to. Would definitly play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Heavy Fire Series, March 12, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
My husband and I started with Wii Ware's Heavy Fire games and as soon as we found out there was a third disc to the series, we were excited to find the game here on Amazon for under $20. This is a fun game and has combined some great features from the original two games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii (Video Game)
This came in time for Xmas and was in good shape and my Grandson loved it. Great packing good timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii
Heavy Fire: Afghanistan Wii by Mastiff (Nintendo Wii)
$14.99 $14.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.