Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jan Brett...Wonderful, as Always
Poor Henny, all she really wants is to be a mother hen and have a bunch of baby chicks, just like her friend Goosey-Goosey. But that is not to be. For every morning, the Tomten comes and takes her newly laid egg for his breakfast. Enter Hedgie, the hedgehog with a clever idea and a few tricks up his proverbial sleeve. Early each morning, before the rooster crows and...
Published on December 3, 2000 by Roz Levine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for kids
This was a gift, it had great art and would be a perfect book for a child. I got it for my 88 year old Mom, who is really into Hedges, I think it will be passed on to her Great Grand Ones,
Published 17 months ago by shecar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jan Brett...Wonderful, as Always, December 3, 2000
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
Poor Henny, all she really wants is to be a mother hen and have a bunch of baby chicks, just like her friend Goosey-Goosey. But that is not to be. For every morning, the Tomten comes and takes her newly laid egg for his breakfast. Enter Hedgie, the hedgehog with a clever idea and a few tricks up his proverbial sleeve. Early each morning, before the rooster crows and wakes the Tomten up, Hedgie takes Henny's egg and substitutes something else for it...first an acorn, then a strawberry, a mushroom and then a potato. And each day, the Tomten is left hungry. He becomes so angry that he threatens to eat Henny if she does not leave him an egg for breakfast the next day. Henny is scared and frantic, but Hedgie still has one last surprise left for that mean Tomten and an even bigger surprise for Henny.....Jan Brett, has written a simple, witty Scandinavian folk tale, starring her wonderful and always endearing, Hedgie. Her text is only outdone by her detailed, expressive artwork, complete with signature needlepoint border and clues, stiched in, of what's to come. Young children will be entranced as they listen to this humorous tale while following the illustrations and guessing at the story plot. Hedgie's Surprise makes a terrific gift and is a great addition to all home libraries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and Clever!, September 9, 2000
By 
Jule Kijek (Redford, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
Every morning Henny has her egg stolen by a porrige hating tomten. He steals the egg and cooks it up for his breakfast. Henny puts up with this until one day when she sees Goosey-Goosey swimming with her newly hatched goslings in the pond. Henny longs for a batch of chicks of her own! She begins to weep. Our hero Hedgie hears her crying and offers to help. The next day Hedgie substitutes an acorn for the egg in Henny's nest. The tomten finds it and cooks it up for his breakfast but it does not fill him up. The following days a strawberry, mushroom and then a potato are left for the tomten. They do not fill him up and the tomten threatens to eat Henny if she does not leave him an egg the next day! Hedgie comes up with the perfect plan to rid Henny of the Tomten! The next day the tomten gets the surprise of his life when he comes for the egg! He runs off and learns to enjoy porrige once again! This story is a winner from start to finnish. Jan Brett's beautiful pictures bring this story to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful read!, February 4, 2004
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
Henny lays her egg every morning only to have the Tomken eat it for breakfast because he was tired of porridge. Then one day, Henny saw a goose walking with her goslings ~~ that awoken a deep desire in Henny's heart. How she wanted to have little peeps of her own! One day, Hedgie noticed Henny's depression and listened to her friend. Then Hedgie promised to help Henny.
What a clever little story ~~ with Hedgie finding different food for the Tromken to eat! When he threatens to eat Henny if she doesn't lay any more eggs, Hedgie comes up with a not-so-pleasant surprise! And everyone even the Tomken is happy.
The pictures are wonderfully detailed and the story is beautiful. My favorite design of this book is the quilt look of Brett's designs. It's cozy and homey ~~ perfect reading for children of all ages! It is also inspirational as well ~~ her art simply makes you smile.
2-4-04
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love Jan Brett, April 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
Her illustrations are so detailed and the stories so good that kids don't even realize they are getting stories about character, sacrifice, thoughtfulness, greed, sorrow, and friendship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story and illustrations, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
Jan Brett is one of my favorite children's story authors and illustrators. Her Scandinavian-inspired illustrations are beautiful, and intricately detailed. It's a very sweet story, although I am wondering if it will make my toddler less inclined to eat eggs for breakfast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hedgie's Surprise", December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Paperback)
Jan Brett's books, stories and wonderful art work are always superb! The children loved the book. What made it even better was the fact that some of the youngsters had personal contact with a hedgehog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hedgie's Surprise, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
Just love the author. The illustrator is great! Bought this for the grandchild that I don't even have yet! I did buy several other books by this author as well. As far as the the seller goes, GREAT, no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Story of Friendship, September 14, 2014
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
Jan Brett has a gift for sweet, captivating stories and absolutely gorgeous illustrations. She is definitely one of our family's favorite author/illustrators. My husband and I have been reading these stories to our 5 and 7 year old boys for a couple years. They are stories we return to at least once a year. Her books are warm, inviting, and make you want to snuggle up under a blanket with a cup of tea or cocoa.

Henny the chicken sees Goosy-Goosy's goslings and yearns for some chicks of her own. But a mischievious young Tomten has been stealing her eggs every morning without asking permission. Hedgie quietly observes the plight of his friend and gently offers to help. Hedgie gathers alternative things for the Tomten to eat, all the while hiding Henny's eggs, but the Tomten never gets full. He finally tells Henny that if she doesn't provide him with some eggs, he will eat her!

After the Tomten gives this ultimatum, Hedgie must take drastic action to help his friend Henny. In the end, the Tomten learns he can no longer steal from Henny, and Henny's problem is resolved with the kind help of her friend Hedgie.

Jan Brett's stories are perfect for light day time reading, or just before bedtime. Her stories are a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chickens, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
If you like Charles santore's illustrations you will really enjoy this book . You want to hurry and turn each page and see what he does with the next page and also if you like chickens you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hedgie rocks!, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hedgie's Surprise (Hardcover)
I love that we can find a great selection of Ms. Brett's books with you! Hedgie is an adorable and wise hedgehog who uses his clever ways to outsmart others.... Thanks for the fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hedgie's Surprise
Hedgie's Surprise by Jan Brett (Hardcover - September 11, 2000)
$16.99 $12.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.