Digital List Price: $8.99
Kindle Price: $6.64

Save $4.35 (40%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass series Book 3) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 979 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$6.64

Length: 576 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Riders by Veronica Rossi
"Riders" By Veronica Rossi
A new fantasy adventure from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Veronica Rossi. Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 10 Up—In the third book of the series, Celaena knows she cannot kill the king and crown prince of Wendlyn, the task given to her by the King of Adarlan, and she knows that the price will be the lives of those she loves. Her only hope is to find Maeve, queen of the Fae, and find out how to undo the power of Adarlan's king. Forced by Maeve to prove her worth, Celaena must train with Rowan, a Fae prince, and learn to harness her magical powers if she has any hope of saving the world. Love, loss, and loyalty collide and Maas has created a believable world and flawed characters; the combination will leave listeners eager for more. Elizabeth Evans conveys Celaena's temperament and mood perfectly and gives life to Maas's large cast of characters. Fans of the past books in the series will not be disappointed with this installment and teen fans of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" and Robert Jordan's "Wheel of Time" series will be captivated as well. VERDICT The latest entry in this engaging series is highly recommended.—Sarah Flood, Breckinridge County Public Library, Hardinsburg, KY

Review

“The pages fly by. Series fans will be relieved to hear that this installment is only the halfway point, and thanks to Maas' adroit plot maneuvers, well-wrought characters, and immersive world building, they'll be positively hooked for the forthcoming volumes.” ―Booklist

“Readers will devour Maas's latest entry. The plot remains fast paced, balancing scenes of intense action with emotionally wrenching interactions between characters . . . A must-purchase.” ―School Library Journal

“Tension snowballs into devastating twists and an absolutely riveting ending . . . Will leave readers ravenous for more.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“An epic fantasy readers will immerse themselves in and never want to leave.” ―Kirkus Reviews on Crown of Midnight

“Series fans will be satisfied not only by the intricate plot, dishy romance, and rich world building but they will be thrilled by the prospect of deepening adventures in the next volume.” ―Booklist on Crown of Midnight

“With assassinations, betrayal, love and magic, this novel has something to match everyone's interests, without feeling cluttered. The action will carry you right to the end, leaving you eager for the next installment.” ―Romantic Times Book Reviews on Crown of Midnight

“A thrilling read.” ―Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Throne of Glass

“A must-read for lovers of epic fantasy and fairy tales.” ―USA Today on Throne of Glass

“A welcome breath of fresh air to the oft-neglected epic fantasy field.” ―Tor.com on Throne of Glass

“Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book!” ―Romantic Times Book Reviews on Throne of Glass


Product Details

  • File Size: 2573 KB
  • Print Length: 576 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens; 1 edition (September 2, 2014)
  • Publication Date: September 2, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00I43Z1J0
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,902 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series. A New York City native, Sarah currently lives in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, with her husband and dog.

Amazon Author Rankbeta 

(What's this?)
#9 in Books > Teens
#9 in Books > Teens

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Heir of Fire is a fantastic expansion on the world-building set-up in the first two books of this series. There's more on magic, on Celaena's past, on the nature of the Fae and on the different kingdoms. This book intertwines three separate storylines to bring all of this to life - each storyline has fascinating character developments and an exciting conclusion, so that I found myself completely invested whenever each chapter changed to the new setting. I was really impressed with how the author brought all the threads together in the end, making this third book a very complex, well-structured fantasy with incredible depth.

The characters were a major reason this book was so awe-inspiring. There are some new ones that just steal your heart (or crush it, as it applies) and I was surprised by how much I was rooting for fierce Manon, prickly Rowan and shrewd Aedion. Manon especially is surprisingly endearing for a character so vicious. Even though, at first, I was much more interested in what Celaena or Chaol and Dorian were up to, Sarah J. Maas really made me care about all of the characters in this book. And Sorsha! Such a sweet, kind, and seemingly ordinary girl who faces many challenges to become a very important part of the story. I was so rooting for her as well. The character writing in this book is just gorgeous.

For most of the book, the plot more develops the potential of each character and the consequences of their actions, than focuses on actual action, although there are many suspenseful moments throughout. The last few chapters however were like fireworks - just great big explosions of I-Can't-Believe-This-is-Happening. Well worth thoroughly getting to know the characters involved and everything at stake to get to the surprises and revelations in the end.
Read more ›
Comment 28 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
4.5 Stars

WHOA, HEIR OF FIRE was a bombshell of a sequel!!! It satisfied on so many levels!! This book took us places the rest of the series never had. It breathed a breath of fresh air into this series, and captured my heart even more then it had before, in which I didn't even know was possible.

Rowan is a new character introduced into HEIR OF FIRE that I LOVED so much!!! He comes into Celaena's life and changes it forever—changes HER forever. At first he wears this tough, fierce, deadly, not to be messed with mask. But then as Celaena starts to melt the ice around Rowan's heart, he begins to shed his hard demeanor and opens his heart to Celaena, and we get to see the softer, more gentle side of Rowan, one that I'm sure he doesn't let many see. He becomes Celaena's lifeline when she's drowning. A shoulder when she needs support. He becomes a friend to Celaena, something she thought she lost with Nehemi, but also found in Rowan.

THE PLOT

~ CELAENA ~

Celaena left Adarlan all but shattered, and more alone then she's ever been. She's lost everything that matters most to her, and is tired, so very tired. So when she makes it to Wendlyn on a mission from the king, to murder those who pose a threat to him, Celaena refuses to continue to be the kings puppet, and is ready to get out of the shadows, and fight back. But first, she needs answers...

As Celaena determines her best course of action to disentangle herself from the kings clutches, she is approached by Rowan; a strong, determined, and equally deadly Fey warrior that is on a mission of his own; to bring Celaena to his Queen at any cost necessary. The very Queen Celaena's mother had been hiding her from, her aunt Maeve, Queen of the Fey.
Read more ›
6 Comments 30 of 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
So, this book too me well over a week to read. It's a big book but that wasn't why. There were two reasons and I'm going to throw them both out there for you. One, I loved Crown of Midnight because of how much romance was in that book. There was so much that my heart couldn't take it and then in this book, it's basically non-existent. It made me sad for the first half of the book because I'm such a Chaol fangirl but after reading the second half of this book and finishing, I don't even care anymore. It was just hard for me to go from all that was in Crown of Midnight to what wasn't in this book. It's me being greedy, is all. The second reason it took me so long to read is because I wanted to savor this book. We're halfway through this series and I don't want to have to wait for the next book. I'm not a very patient person so I wanted to take my time, enjoy every word written in this book, each character and their stories. I wanted to take it all in and not miss a thing.

Before reading this, I kept hearing all these things about Manon but then, I'm introduced to her and I'm wondering what all this hype is over this character. I wasn't impressed in the beginning and I was tempted to skip over her chapters but I couldn't do that because of how much I love this series. It would feel like I've betrayed Celaena somehow and we all know she's not one to piss off. But then . . . BUT THEN it was like How To Train Your Dragon: Bad Ass Style. I was hooked from that point on. I understand the hype y'all, it just took me some time to jump on board. Manon deserves all the talk and then some.

You guys all know how I'm team Chaol, right? If you're not, check out this and consider yourself informed. That being said, my heart breaks for Dorian, it really does.
Read more ›
1 Comment 21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Topic From this Discussion
when will be book 4??? Be the first to reply
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions