Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great simple stir fry book.
I own Helen Chen's larger cookbook, "Helen Chen's Chinese Home Cooking" and consider it one of the best Chinese cook books a person could have. Many of the recipes in it have been favorites of mine, and some of the easier ones are duplicated in this slender new volume of stir fries. For the beginning cook, this book may be less daunting. From it, I've now cooked...
Published on April 25, 2009 by Peter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simples, but with one major flaw
Great, easy recipes inside. But it has one major flaw with the two recipes I've tried thus far(chicken with brocolli/bamboo shoots & pork with asaparagus) - the recipes call for waaay too much sauce/liquid. In the end, the vegetables end up soggy because of it. IMO, cutting the hoisin/soy sauce portions by half would solve the problem.
Published on March 8, 2012 by Jrock82


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great simple stir fry book., April 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
I own Helen Chen's larger cookbook, "Helen Chen's Chinese Home Cooking" and consider it one of the best Chinese cook books a person could have. Many of the recipes in it have been favorites of mine, and some of the easier ones are duplicated in this slender new volume of stir fries. For the beginning cook, this book may be less daunting. From it, I've now cooked "Garlicky Green Beans"-quite tasty, "Shrimp in Tomato Sauce"-delicious, "Kung Pao Chicken"-yummy and fiery, and ""Kan Shao Green Beans"- stellar. Obviously, I am looking forward to woking my way through the remainder of its pages. I own many other books on Chinese food and cooking, but I can think of few of them as uncomplicated as this which manage to produce such deep, rich, tasty sauces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both fabulously easy and fabulously interesting, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
This is one of the best Chinese cookbooks I have and I have at least thirty. It's simple fare but not boring. The instructions are very clear and easy to follow. Very creative meals. Chen really knows how to put a cookbook together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The dishes taste like the restaurant's, December 17, 2009
By 
Erika T. (Torrance, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
The chicken with snow peas and the broccoli beef turn out excellent. I own another chinese cookbook and I was always disappointed at the results. The recipes on this cookbook are simple, but very tasty. There is no need to prepare a cornstarch paste in advance. I just need to get a few other ingredients to be able to try the other recipes. I look forward to doing that. My husband and I already think the book was worth buying. The only problem I see is that the book lacks pictures of all the recipes. I'd like to see what the dishes look like so that I can compare them to mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy is right - very well written, August 2, 2010
By 
J. Swartz (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
You can't go wrong with these recipes - these mostly-cantonese dishes are superb, with accurate full page color photos and clear instructions with ingredients you can find at any asian market. I don't fancy the sweetness of Chinese/American dishes and have improved the recipes by adding less sugar (especially in recipes that already have hoisin or dark soy sauces), but either way the dishes have worked out great. Her attention to generating just the right amount of sauce / gravy for the dishes adds a restaurant touch and improves their display, something that other cookbooks often don't get right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simples, but with one major flaw, March 8, 2012
By 
Jrock82 (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
Great, easy recipes inside. But it has one major flaw with the two recipes I've tried thus far(chicken with brocolli/bamboo shoots & pork with asaparagus) - the recipes call for waaay too much sauce/liquid. In the end, the vegetables end up soggy because of it. IMO, cutting the hoisin/soy sauce portions by half would solve the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic wok cookbook, February 2, 2011
By 
Buciumeana (Roseville, MN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
Nothing fancy in this book, but the ingredients are easily obtainable and there are several recipes I'd make again. I do prefer my old Jean Yueh cookbook, which is out of print (1979).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, great recipes., August 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
I've made nine recipes from this book, a first for me and my family. Every recipe has been enjoyed at our table. My family's only complaint---they like more sauce--so I double the ingredients for the sauce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy chinese stir-fries, January 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift to my grand daughter, she is enjoying it very much as is her Mother. They have used it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just ok., April 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
I love to cook oriental food. I have several cookbooks and often find new recipes on the internet. I had high hopes for this book. The author's Chinese background and the many illustrations made me think this might be a new favorite. Unfortunately, the recipes lack flavor and are very similar- meat, soy sauce, ginger, garlic and cooking wine. I have made 5-6 of the recipes so far and not one of them stood out as outstanding. My family thought they were "ok" but none made the "have to make again" list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT SO EASY, INTERESTING READ, November 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries (Hardcover)
I have rarely seen a cook book I didn't like to read and this one is no exception.

These recipes seem very authenic but not adaptable to my lifestyle. I like stir-fry because it is fast and delicious and I just see what is in the fridge and start chopping. I am not familiar with some of the ingredients and would have to make a shopping trip to cook most of the recipes.

I would like to try some of these dishes in a nice resturant. Lazy? Little bit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries
Helen's Asian Kitchen: Easy Chinese Stir-Fries by Helen Chen (Hardcover - March 27, 2009)
$17.95 $14.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.