Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13
5 star
92%
4 star
8%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$12.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 28, 2013
Doreen Rappaport gives readers a clear sense of Helen Keller's life, from the illness that left her blind and deaf as a child, to her years with Annie, and then her accomplishments as an adult. Throughout it, Rappaport highlights Keller's own inspiring words in large, bold print. Young readers will be inspired not only by how Helen overcame her own disabilities, but how she used her voice to speak up for justice and equality for all.

I especially love the resources that Rappaport has pulled together on her website. Make sure you check them out for more information.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
Doreen Rappaport paints a portrait of Helen Keller, pairing prose narrative with quotes from Helen Keller, herself. Painterly illustrations bring the text and Helen to life. This beautiful picture book for older readers will be loved by children ages 5-8.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
We purchased this book on a recommendation and were not let down. Our children loved listening to the story of Helen Keller. It was moving and provided a very nice introduction to sensitize our children to the vision-impaired. Beautiful book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
Great book. I love the format and illustrations. My students enjoy reading it. It's a must for classroom use. Thank you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
This book is illustrated nicely. We have not used it in our class yet so we are not sure how it will be received. As teachers, we feel it is a great book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2015
We checked this book out at the library and it sparked our 5 yo girl's imagination and now she wants to know more about Helen Keller. I think it is also helping her learn empathy for others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2014
The most beautiful book written about Helen Keller for children!!! Very sensitive, very well versed, and consistently aware of the times she lived in. A very moving children's book that is very helpful to show how thankful we are for Helen Keller and the person who helped her so much in her life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 18, 2015
This beautifully written and illustrated book brings to life for children the amazing story of Helen Keller, a lady who, through illness at a young age, lost the ability to see, speak and hear. Seeing Helen's frustrations when she couldn't make herself understood helps to cement in the mind what exactly she went through. It was only when Anne Sullivan came to the home and started working with Helen that breakthroughs were made and it is truly amazing all that Helen (and Anne) accomplished in their lifetimes.

Anne was Helen's constant companion until her death when Helen was fifty-six. Helen, herself, lived to eighty-seven. At the end of the book there is more information provided in the author's and illustrator's notes plus there is an 'Important Dates" timeline which is handy.

Truly delightful and a story that shows children that you truly can accomplish a lot with the life you have been given.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
Helen’s Big World is an absolutely stunning picture book biography in both narrative and illustrations. Doreen Rapparort so beautifully captured Helen Keller’s struggles with both quotes and interesting facts. While Matt Tavare's art added an addition layer of warmth and feeling.

“We do not think with eyes and ears, and our capacity for thought is not measured by five senses. - Helen Keller
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
I volunteer occasionally to do activities in health care and memory care, and I read it to them. They loved it, and it generated to much conversation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse