Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $27.00 (77%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Hell or High Water: A Novel (Nola Céspedes Novels) Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 74 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$7.99

Length: 351 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $4.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

""Sometimes an audiobook narrator must be a juggler, and this book presents such a situation. Roxanne Hernandez deftly handles this evocative and sometimes creepy thriller... The glue that holds the story together is Hernandez's nuanced presentation of reporter Nola Cespedes, whose intriguing and intense personality dominates the novel..."" - AudioFile Magazine
Starred Review. A Best Fiction Book of 2012. ""Castro's first mystery is fierce and intense, with both harrowing depictions of New Orleans after Katrina and psychological mayhem for its troubled heroine, who crawls under your skin and lingers there long after you've finished reading."" - Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. ""Exquisite New Orleans background, intriguing newsroom politics and atmosphere, a flawed but plucky heroine, and skillfully paced suspense makes this a 'stay up way past your bedtime' read."" - Booklist
""Hell or High Water is a great book, not only for introducing me to New Orleans beyond her usual beignet and Bourbon Street confinements, but also for offering a realistic, moving, and deeply human story about trauma, resilience, and recovery. But that's not all: Hell or High Water is an edge-of-the-seat thriller, a page turner with so many twists and hidden clues and sudden light beaming down that I have already reread the whole thing, eager to find the early indicators of the great surprises launched by Castro at all the key points of the book."" - The Huffington Post
""A terrific mystery, but Hell or High Water is more than just a mystery; it's a heartfelt examination of a second America - poor but undaunted - that was swept under the rug but refuses to stay there...I can't wait to see what Joy Castro does next."" - Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author of Mystic River
""In the tradition of P.D. James, Ruth Rendell and Lucha Corpi, Joy Castro shows how mystery can be much more than the unraveling of crimes concealed. An irresistible and compelling novel."" - Lorraine M. Lopez, author of Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories

About the Author

Joy Castro teaches literature at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln. Her 2005 memoir, The Truth Book was elected an ABA Book Sense Notable Book.

READER BIO
Roxanne Hernandez is a 2011 Audie Award Finalist, and a top narrator choice for Young Adult, Adult Drama, and Latin American/Chicano literature. Roxanne is fluent in English, Spanish and Brazilian Portuguese, and loves doing first person point of view.

Product Details

  • File Size: 934 KB
  • Print Length: 351 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books (July 17, 2012)
  • Publication Date: July 17, 2012
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007CJ8E3M
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #551,963 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm not much for writing reviews of fiction; I really prefer to know as little as possible about a book or a movie in advance so I rely on my friends to recommend things. So, I'll be extremely general here in my enthusiasms. I prefer to like protagonists and I loved Nola. I prefer not to see blatant errors of fact and I saw none. I prefer enough complexity, but not too much and characters to caricature. Done and done. Having read this, I'll probably read everything Castro writes and be mildly annoyed that she is not writing faster (along with Hiaasen, Childs, Banks, Palahniuk, Crais, Gaiman, Harkaway, etc.)
Comment 7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Twenty-seven year old Times-Picayune entertainment reporter, Nola Céspedes, wants to write real news articles, not announcements of club meetings. Bylines on feature stories will get Nola where she wants to be: New York. In the Big Apple, she'll write for The New York Times.

Nola certainly has the talent to achieve her dreams. If it weren't for her loud mouth and her uncooperative attitude, she might get there more quickly. Both of these qualities almost blow her chance to prove herself when the paper's editor gives her the assignment of writing an article on the post-Katrina sex registry. Nola barely manages to control her trash talk and accepts the assignment. It's a scary one because she'll be interviewing sex offenders, some of whom will have gone off the grid. But Nola wonders if the story might be connected to the murders of two young women and the recent disappearance of third.

In "Hell or High Water", author Joy Castro has created a lively, interesting character in Nola, who dresses sexy, can drink and one-night-stand her way through life with the best of her fictional, male counterparts, and doesn't always think things through before she acts. She's also good to her mother.

Castro provides a vivid picture of New Orleans after Katrina, the way the small Latino population (Nola's mother is from Cuba) is viewed, and the gap between the haves and have-nots. A lot of information about the status and treatment of sex offenders is included, as well as a look at how convicted sex offenders live after being released from prison.

The solution to the recent murders of young women seems to happen almost by accident, but the surprising ending, and the insights Nola gains about herself and her past are very well done.

Three and a three-fourth stars.
1 Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
The story's newspaper reporter main character, Nola Cespedes, is interestingly put together, and she'd be worth revisiting if this book turned into a series.

The book was blurbed by Dennis Lehane, and while author Joy Castro is working hard to fit into Lehane's grim and dingy style, the plot doesn't live up to it. There's a lot going on, probably too much, and it never feels connected in a way where it honestly ties together.

It's not really a mystery - Cespedes is tracking a story about sex offenders in the post-Katrina years in New Orleans. She's not trying to solve the crime (a pair of kidnappings) herself, so the reader doesn't have clues to try and put together. A bunch of suspicious characters abound, but it's not a who-dun-it. That's not a bad thing, but if you're expecting a mystery you can solve, this isn't it.

My biggest problem is that much of Cespedes reporting interviews come across unrealistically. I've been a reporter, and it's just not as easy to gain trust - especially with criminal subjects - as she presents here. I understand that they needed to serve as exposition, but these interview sections needed more realistic setup. Even if she'd flat-out threatened the people (which would have been believable), that could have worked.

While Cespedes is fully developed, most of the supporting characters are pretty thin. I wouldn't say they are cliched, but their personalities are one-dimensional. They serve exactly the point of the plot that they are meant to, and nothing else.

The wrap-up, while satisfying, is just too neat. Because she isn't giving clues or much foreshadowing, the conclusion comes out of nowhere.

It's an okay book, and it could def. improve with another book or two in a series. As a one-off story, though, it doesn't leave much impact; hopefully Nola Cespedes gets another shot.
4 Comments 8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
My book-club selected this book and the majority of the members really liked it. However, I was unimpressed with this story. The book opens with what appears to be a mystery which turns out to be only tangentially related to the story. The author has clearly done her research which she dumps into the book rather than weaving it into the story. At times it felt as though she just wanted the reader to know the nugget so she was going to include it even though it bore no resemblance to the story. The author also seemed to have an agenda and it was very tiresome to read about her feelings about Katrina, pedophilia, the wealthy, etc.

The main character was very difficult to like. Many of the decisions she made seemed unlikely and unrealistic and seemed purposefully reckless to make the story more interesting. I hated her whining and envy of all the people around her. I found all the characters to be very flat, undeveloped and uni-dimentional.

The story drags on and then suddenly the author tries to wrap things up too quickly towards the end. Everything ends up way too neatly to be realistic. It would have been a much better book if she had gotten rid some of the needless history or descriptions of food and spent some time working on developing a plot or her characters.

If I could have selected 1.5 stars as a choice I would have.
2 Comments 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?